We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have been a 4, except for the price”
Review of Museum of Glass

Museum of Glass
Ranked #4 of 80 things to do in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An international center for contemporary art with a sustained focus on glass.
Queretaro, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Would have been a 4, except for the price”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The new Australian exhibit was just opening, which was good. The glass is gorgeous, as is the Bridge of Glass over the freeway. That said, the exhibit was good, but it was really just that and the hot shop to watch. There were a lot of school kids on field trips which made me have a twitch watching them run around all that glass, and they had taken over the hot shop and demo room.

The cafe is good and has great sandwiches, salads and soups. Just didn't feel it was worth the price of admission.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    547
    277
    134
    42
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Chihuly Bridge of Glass and more!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We visited the Studio and Museum and thoroughly enjoyed watching the glassblowers, attending the movie in the museum, strolling about to enjoy the glorious glass exhibits and viewing the piece de resistance: the magnificent Chihuly Bridge of Glass spanning the 500-foot I-705 overpass linking the Museum and downtown Tacoma. So much to see! We took lots of photos which turned out so beautifully that we framed them. It was a truly marvelous adventure! Oh...and do not forget to visit the Museum Shop which is filled with very affordable treasures.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ElisePortlandOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington, United States
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The glass is gorgeous, the open workshop is so interesting to watch and the gift shop is a really good one. Be sure to take the "walk of glass" over the freeway. It is amazing! A ceiling and a wall of beautiful glass. Plan to spend at least a couple of hours there.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Tacoma Hot Spot worth a visit”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

After visiting the Chiully Garden and Gallery in Seattle we wanted to see the Glass Museum. Unfortunately they were installing a new Australian exhibit so we only got to see one exhibit and glass blowing - a bit of a disappointment and very little to see for the admission price. We did enjoy the collection of glass designs created from school children's drawings. We loved the glass blowing and the artless way the artists performed their tasks so seamlessly. The glass ceiling on the bridge was awesome and the exhibits embedded in the wall on the bridge. The entire area is an interesting spot with several historical and museum sites at the water's edge.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FancyNancyBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not for little kids but a great place to visit on a date or with older kids”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Lots of glass that you can't touch. Several people standing around making sure you do it right. However, the glass work are amazing and well worth the visit. I like to sit in the glass works viewing area and watch them create, though it gets really hot in there, as well as watch the videos they have in the theatre. I will return. Well worth your time if you are in Tacoma area.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dani333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Museum of Glass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing