We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have gone back numerous times since”

Point Defiance Park
Ranked #1 of 79 things to do in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic park offering more than 700 acres of woodland trails, gardens and waterfront views, along with a zoo and aquarium.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Have gone back numerous times since”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

It was on a first date that I first went to the park. It has a couple gardens, including a Japanese one with loads of ducks & a pagoda. Owens beach is gorgeous, with views of Gig Harbor, Vashon & Mt Rainier on a clear day. I even saw a seal swimming once. 5 mile drive is lovely. And there's more hiking trails than you could image in the middle of a city. Definitely a place to go to again & again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank wandrlust13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    654
    175
    15
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
Level Contributor
168 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Gorgeous park!”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We walked some of the trails through the park and the forest is just stunning! Everything is so green and there is a lot of lichen on the trees. The trails we did were not difficult and one lead us to the waterfront. We were able to enjoy the trails and have the luxury of nice clean restrooms at the trail head. We saw many people walking their dogs on the trails which was nice.

The park is enormous so there is a lot to see and do, mostly for free. Excellent spot for picnics and kids. Highly recommend!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Embrace_Life_Now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Zoo and zoo lights”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We went as a family 3 children two were 7 one was 5 ,we all enjoyed the zoo and the animals ,we returned the same day for zoo lights and what a wonderful job they did we were really impressed
The children all rode on the carousel well worth the dollar a piece
Lots of fun with playgrounds also

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Caseywasbig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Gorgeous views”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The Point Defiance park area is simply stunning. Included in the grounds is a beautiful rose garden, a pagoda house/garden, a beach area next to the sound, and the zoo/aquarium. The views from the pagoda area over the Puget Sound are simply amazing. It is the best way to take in the Washington landscape. During winter, they put up some wonderful lights through the 5-mile drive trail and also in the zoo. If you are going to Seattle, take a day trip here. You won't be sorry.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
188 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best park around”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I love to walk the park as well as put my kayak in at Owens Beach. So many trails to explore - so little time

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TacomaTraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Point Defiance Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing