We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sand dollars”

Point Defiance Park
Ranked #1 of 77 things to do in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic park offering more than 700 acres of woodland trails, gardens and waterfront views, along with a zoo and aquarium.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
153 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Sand dollars”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a special place, there were areas at low tide where you couldn't dare walk due to the high numbers of sand dollars in the water, live beautiful, the setting was gorgeous and we stayed in the campground as well, highly recommend it and we loved the trail from the campground down to the beach, a bit of a hike but lovely

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank KnottyMeadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    640
    172
    14
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Loved the living history museum at Fort Nasqual”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Definitely worth a visit. Learned a lot from the general store owner and the blacksmith was amazing!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mamakali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
335 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Family place or romantic place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

This park has everything from a very nice zoo that has a very very very kid friendly section . T is a nice park for a romantic picnic also . This park has it all .you can easily spend all day in the park .

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Views to dream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Point Defiance Park houses a zoo, a park and views that are among the best in the world. IT's a short drive from Seattle and housed in Tacoma. Visit year round.

Helpful?
Thank Krishna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hike by the water...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I had planned on hiking near Rainier on a recent trip to the Seattle area but I found myself reluctant to do so as the weather was pretty crappy during my trip. I did end up taking a few mile trek down the boardwalk at Point Defiance and then a good section of the beach before hiking back through the woods. It was a very pretty little area and well worth the trip out from Seattle. I was able to capture some very nice photos as this is a good setting to capture beach/sound/woodland photos. It is fairly picturesque.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dustan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Point Defiance Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing