We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Walk with a view”

Point Defiance Park
Ranked #1 of 79 things to do in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic park offering more than 700 acres of woodland trails, gardens and waterfront views, along with a zoo and aquarium.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Walk with a view”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This park has something for everyone. One can walk along the water, ride bikes through this extensive park, picnic at one of the many table with views of the sound or visit the Zoo and Aquarium.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sultan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    658
    176
    15
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love this park!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is a great day place to spend a day!! On a sunny summer day there is hardly a better place to spend the day in Tacoma. There are tons of trails, a rocky beach, ferry terminal, amazing flowers, wonderful gardens, and places to picnic.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Waterlily2544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Zoo !”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I had not been to this zoo for years and was pleasantly surprised by how nicely it had been kept up and all of the new animal enclosures. The aquarium area is very nice. The property that this zoo sets on is some of the most beautiful I have seen ! Kudos to the original planners of the city of Tacoma for keeping such a great place intact !

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Irene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralston, Nebraska
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A must See When In Tacoma”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Point Defiance is the Pacific Northwest. Terrific gardens, zoo and aquarium. From picnics to a stroll in the woods, a great place to spend the day, any time of the year.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NebraskaTraveler185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cyutstud
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Park with beach, zoo, fort, and dog park”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This park is one of my favorite places in Tacoma. The zoo is nice. There is a nice beach that is popular on weekends during the summer. I really like the off leash dog park. They have a fenced in "small dog" area, however, I have never seen a dog in there. The main "off leash" part is nice with wood shaving covering much of the ground (avoiding mud!) There are nice trails my little dog loves to run down. The area is quite large and not completely fenced in, so if your dog is a runner and/or doesn't listen well, I might be afraid he/she would get lost. I enjoy the park when I am alone or with friends.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank cyutstud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Point Defiance Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing