We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2009

We stayed here on the last night of our vacation due to it's proximity to SeaTac (about 30 mins away). while still being scenic. We had booked a regular room but were pleasantly surprised when we opened up our room door and saw that we had been upgraded to one of the jacuzzi suites with fireplace, wet bar, and view of the Bay. Wow! The location was convenient as we could walk to the little Old Town area along the water for dinner. Otherwise we relaxed in the room and made use of the jacuzzi. The free breakfast was more than sufficient with waffles, yogurt, cereal, etc. Service was excellent and free parking was a bonus. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonoma501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    144
    39
    13
    6
See reviews for
170
243
25
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
171 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2009

Yes, the rooms and view are excellent, and I can sleep through train noise. Staff was helpful on the whole, although not attentive to stock outs of what should have been easy items to keep on the breakfast buffet -- hot water, bananas, yoghurt. There are several breakfast choices but fewer healthy ones than I would have preferred, and, as mentioned, the healthy stuff disappeared, leaving sweet rolls for late comers.

The parking, while free, is really a drawback. The spaces are very narrow and awkward, as there is not enough room to back up and maneuver into them. Arriving in the evening is a risky operation, as the remaining spaces are empty because no one can figure out how to angle the car to get it into them.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronOlson, Aaron Olson, General Manager at Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront, responded to this review, November 5, 2009
Thank you very much for the feedback. I am glad to hear that you felt the breakfast offerings from our Complimentary Breakfast met your expectations but am truly sorry that these items were not replenished sufficiently during your visit. An additional staff member is assigned at all times to assist with breakfast service. Please accept my sincere apologies that this was not executed well during your stay. In regards to parking, the hotel does have enough space to accomodate every guest, but on the rare occasions where there is unsually high vehicle traffic we do have alternate parking arrangments on site. This occurs perhaps four days out of each year and our front desk staff is standing by ready to assist with convenient parking directly in front of our hotel.

Thanks again for choosing Silver Cloud and thank you for the valuable feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

The hotel is situated jutting out into Commencement Bay. Beautiful views of the water and hills. Sunset was stunning, and could be viewed from a jacuzzi tub. The room was very comfortable. Breakfast was a little blah, but that's the worst that can be said about this lovely inn with an accommodating friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tostrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2009

Of course you could stay in a chain hotel in Tacoma and be "fine," or for just about the same money, you could stay at the Silver Cloud on Ruston Way - a unique family-owned property with good service, and good, clean rooms. As you can see from the reviews and photos, the hotel is built on a pier over the water. It's a neat treat, especially if you get an room on the far end. Staff were very friendly and helpful. In fact, when we first went into our room we discovered a wailing baby in the room two doors down. Wailing went on for quite a while, so we asked the front desk if they could move us - and they did, no problem. Upgraded us to a junior suite on the end overlooking the water! Wide-screen HDTV's, nice! Small but nice thing - bathroom amenities are by AVEDA, good stuff. Local paper at your door every morning and hot make-your-own waffles in the lobby for breakfast. 8 minutes to the 5 freeway. Small nits: beds could have been firmer. Parking anything larger than a mid-sized car is a challenge.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDTripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2009

Stayed two nights here for business. Check in was a breeze, and they even gave me an early check in at 1100am, which was great.

Rooms are nice, good water view, beds a little hard , but that is preference. Plasma on the wall with multiple movie channels, free coffee maker, etc. Bathrooms nice size and clean.

Free WiFi and free breakfast which had, juices, cereal, waffles, bagels, toast, pastries, fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, coffee....definitely nice way to start the day.

Only problem was the train. I guess the power went out, which cause the power on the train signal to go out, Rules are if the signal does not work, then the train horn has to be used....

THIS LED TO THREE SOLID DAYS and ALL NIGHT of train horns because of the broken signal in front of the hotel. Multiple wakeups every night, big bummer....

Other than that, good hotel...

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justinssvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, Ca
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2009

We stayed at Silver Cloud Inn on the waterfront in Tacoma. This hotel was AWESOME!!!
The room had a great view of the bay. It was soooo relaxing and quiet. The staff was very nice. We have stayed at other hotels in downtown Tacoma but so busy and noisey. This was a great weekend getaway.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2008

Stayed four nights while visiting our daughter at University of Puget Sound. The four of us stayed in a double queen overlooking the bay. Even with 12 and 16 year old boys my wife and I did not feel cramped. All rooms overlook the bay with windows that open. The view is spectacular. Some rooms on the east side are separated from the water by the parking lot. The inn had brand new carpet in the common areas and everything seemed recently painted. The rooms are well laid out with comfortable beds and 42" LG flat screens.
The front desk was very pleasant and helpful. Parking is readily available and free. A nice breakfast with cereal,fruit,muffins,great coffee,waffles and juice is also free. The inn is walking distance to several bars and restaurants. The Spar is a great beer bar just up the street.
Back to the Silver Cloud I felt it was an excellent value and very well run. Trains do go by but for us they were much more of an amusement than an annoyance. The inn seems to be extensively sound proofed and we never heard a noise from the neighboring rooms. The place was fully occupied but we never had to wait in a line for check in,check out or for breakfast. A complimentary washer and dryer are located on each floor. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MickLongBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tacoma hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#3 of 28 in Tacoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,137 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Tacoma Downtown
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma
6.0 mi away
Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront

Property: Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
Address: 2317 N. Ruston Way, Tacoma, WA 98402-5303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tacoma
#2 Business Hotel in Tacoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Tacoma's Old Town community is the Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma Waterfront, Tacoma's only waterfront hotel. Our hotel is conveniently located just two miles north of downtown Tacoma's amazing museum district, and is only 10 minutes from Tacoma Dome & Convention Center. All the hotel guestrooms have waterfront views with 55" flat screen TVs and include complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access, microwaves, and refrigerators. A complimentary Silver Cloud Breakfast is provided in addition to our fitness and business centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma Hotel Tacoma
Silver Cloud Hotel Tacoma
Silver Cloud Tacoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing