We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We loved everything about this hotel! We stayed in a Jacuzzi room and were able to relax in the Jacuzzi and enjoy the view of Puget Sound. The staff was very friendly, courteous, and helpful. The breakfasts were delicious and a variety of items were served. The hotel is within walking distance of several good restaurants. There were always people out walking and jogging on the wide sidewalk on Ruston. The pier by the hotel was frequented by locals who were crabbing. There was definitely a community atmosphere. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancylh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    157
    41
    15
    9
See reviews for
188
266
28
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a wonderful mid-price place to stay while visiting Tacoma. The hotel appears to be reaching out into the Puget Sound offering spectacular views from every room! We stayed three nights and moved to a room from the street side of the hotel closer to the water for nights 2 & 3.

This may not have been the best idea. While the train whistle (greatly reduced from earlier days) may be just a little less noticeable and the water view maybe just a little bit better - the rooms closer to Ruston are larger, and obviously, less in demand. Our second room smelled a bit of teenager feet (and most know this smell is difficult to destroy and impossible to mask)! We dinged one star for that.

Ruston is perfect for strolling, jogging and hunting down good eats all while appreciating the breeze off the Puget Sound and eliciting squeals of delight when Mount Rainier decides to "come out" on those rare, but oh so perfect sunny days, in the Pacific Northwest.

Room Tip: Not a bad idea to take one of the rooms closer to Ruston. The train whistle takes a little getting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly_Golightly_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

The good points - this property is about as close as one can be "on the water". It is basically on its own pier. All the rooms have a water view but the rooms at the end facing the sound have a complete water view. The best rooms seem to be at the far end of the hotel. (They have big opening windows with full water view and at least one we saw has a fireplace). Our room was first floor off the lobby - opposite the kitchen (?) and noisy from 6-8 am during breakfast buffet hours. Our friends on the 2nd floor - with the fireplace, had a similar problem with noise which came from the hotel's laundry room. This property location though is perfect ... On a long straight waterfront stretch of jogging path/ park. Only a couple miles from Defiance Point Park - an absolute must visit for hikes, scenery, picnics, and their incredible gardens.
Also within walking distance from several waterfront restaurants and bars. I would be particular about the room location, but would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aboutmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The Silver Cloud Inn in Tacoma was nice and watery and also walking distance to some good restaurants. The downside -- it's across the street from tracks filled with mile-long trains that chug past at all hours -- doesn't detract too much. The walking-distance "olde town" and driving-distance Proctor Street section -- shops, cafes and a famers market -- were fun. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILeader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This review is part of our 1st time 18 day trip to Alaska taken in july 2013. The weather was exceptional and we recommend everybody makes this pilgrimage to a place where you are traveling in art. On our 1st night we stayed at the Silver Cloud Inn in Tacoma WA. Our ocean view room was spacious and clean with a whirlpool tub out in the room (which we didn't need). The included buffet breakfast was very good, and the inn is very close to many waterfront restaurants. The only minus we noted was that a public pier surrounds the hotel but we experienced no problems. Overall we would highly recommend this hotel and give it a solid A

Room Tip: unless you need the whirlpool tub, opt out for a little more floor space
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Our stay at Silver Cloud was really nice and quiet. The breakfast was nice and the lobby and eating areas provided enough room for everyone to sit. Our room was large and comfortable and, most importantly - clean. The staff seemed eager to help and gave us a good recommendation for dinner. The inn is right on the water and the surrounding area is very nice for an evening walk or morning run.

Room Tip: We requested a room on the uppermost floor and were very happy with the view and the quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
512 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the Silver Cloud Inn over the 4th of July to enjoy the air show and fireworks display over the Tacoma waterfront, and to avoid fighting the crowds and the driving/parking hassle. The staff were incredibly well-organized and helpful, our Jacuzzi room was perfect for us, and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We absolutely loved that they reserved the pier in front of the hotel specifically for hotel guests - what a great way to enjoy the evening!

Room Tip: Book early - the hotel fills up fast over the 4th, and a 2-night stay is generally required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noworries2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tacoma hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#3 of 28 in Tacoma
3,329 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Tacoma Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tacoma Seattle
6.0 mi away
Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront

Property: Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
Address: 2317 N. Ruston Way, Tacoma, WA 98402-5303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tacoma
#2 Business Hotel in Tacoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Tacoma's Old Town community is the Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma Waterfront, Tacoma's only waterfront hotel. Our hotel is conveniently located just two miles north of downtown Tacoma's amazing museum district, and is only 10 minutes from Tacoma Dome & Convention Center. All the hotel guestrooms have waterfront views with 55" flat screen TVs and include complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access, microwaves, and refrigerators. A complimentary Silver Cloud Breakfast is provided in addition to our fitness and business centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JackRabbit Systems, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma Hotel Tacoma
Silver Cloud Hotel Tacoma
Silver Cloud Tacoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing