We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was good but a little procey for portion sizes!”

East & West Cafe Proctor
Ranked #79 of 760 Restaurants in Tacoma
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Lakebay, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Food was good but a little procey for portion sizes!”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

There were 4 of us ast dinner. The service was very good. We had potstickers to start-very good. We had:
1: ) Jumbalya-Not very hot but tasty-A little pricey
2.) Fried Rice-Good portion size
3.) Vegetables & tofu-Good vegetables-Tofu not as spicy as I ordered
Good atmosphere and location. I came home hungry and thought our bill was too high for what we had received.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MAUREENH47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    19
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roy, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food at a great price!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I recently ate at this restaurant with a friend and couldn't believe the quality for the price. The food was so great I brought my husband back a few weeks later. We've had the Vietnamese Sweet Potato Curry and Golden Cashew. Dee-lish! It was so hard to choose. The most expensive menu item is under $20, and most of the menu is $12-$13. The restaurant is small, maybe 10-15 tables, but it's not noisy. This is definitely a highlight in the Proctor District. Bon Appetit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and huge portions”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Nice little spot in Proctor with great food and service. The menu offers MANY choices all of which sound wonderful and the wait staff is very friendly and attentive. A great place to relax and enjoy a good meal with friends and family.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HCM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Very good asian fusion cuisine. Dishes are Thai, Vietnamese, and Korean inspired, with a little local ingredient influence for some of the specials. This place has the best Panang Curry I have found in this area. The Basil Delight is heavenly and they make a great Korean Bulgogi for a cold winter night. Other dishes we liked: Green curry and Ginger Pork. For the health conscious, they serve a whole grain red rice.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sailor98406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Try the Saigon Crepe....”
Reviewed August 31, 2011

This is our “go to” restaurant for a good meal in the neighborhood. They focus on fresh, local ingredients and NO MSG! We love the Saigon Crepe, which is listed as an appetizer, but it is meal-sized: a crispy crepe of rice flour and coconut milk filled with prawns, chicken and a variety of vegetables. It comes with lettuce and mint on the side and a sweet-sour dressing. Delicious! Our other favorite is the Panang Curry, which is rich and creamy and served with crispy green beans and mushrooms on the side.
A nice alternative to Jasmine rice is the red rice, a tastier alternative to brown rice in my book. Service is friendly and attentive, but they can get swamped at the dinner hour, so better to go earlier or later if you don’t want to wait.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Azadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East & West Cafe Proctor also viewed

 

Been to East & West Cafe Proctor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing