We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"BATTERY BOB"”

LeMay Museum at Marymount
Ranked #4 of 84 things to do in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I love this place!!! For all you people wanting to see the historical side of cars and see LOTS of them this is the BEST place to do just that! They like showing the cars in their natural state...aka they're not all in the most pristine shape, but for the amount of cars you get to see and the experience makes for a great memory! There are a lot of classic and collector cars...not so many hot rods, lambos or porsches...no snobs. The kids I brought loved the place...especially the TRUCK room and the Drako the Dragon-ster! The Tucker they have is a hot commodity all in its own. The docents are actually VERY knowledgeable! All the docents are volunteers and help keep the cars clean and positioned well for display. There are motorcycles, an airplane, real full sized train and train cars! This place will always be open and is separate from the new museum in DT Tacoma. Battery Bob is very humorous volunteer...he keeps the cars running! You're in for a real treat!!! Have fun and be sure NOT TO TOUCH THE CARS!!! I came close a couple of times :) Enjoy the experience!

2  Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"military school"
in 8 reviews
"guided tour"
in 9 reviews
"lemay family"
in 10 reviews
"boys school"
in 3 reviews
"great place for all ages"
in 2 reviews
"original condition"
in 2 reviews
"knowledgeable guide"
in 2 reviews
"classic cars"
in 9 reviews
"bought a groupon"
in 3 reviews
"groupon deal"
in 2 reviews
"car lovers"
in 7 reviews
"wonderful history"
in 2 reviews
"car guy"
in 4 reviews
"incredible collection"
in 3 reviews
"personal collection"
in 2 reviews
"cool stuff"
in 3 reviews
"wide variety"
in 4 reviews
Filter

150 - 154 of 157 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2012

Lots of old cars and trucks from every era. Check to see when it is open as new spot opens in June 2012.

Thank Buzzsaw22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemaymarymount, Manager at LeMay Museum at Marymount, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Our location at Marymount will continue to be open even after the LeMay - America's Car Museum opens in June 2012. We are open 6 days/week, year-round - Tuesday through Sunday. Come and see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

For the most part the autos are poorly displayed, many in multitiered racks that only allows you to only see the front ends of the autos. In other places the cars are set nose to tail in long rather boring rows. Very little information is presented about the vehicles, the museum relies on tour guide docents who are nice, but in the case of my tour, not particularly knowledgeable. Very few of the cars had the hoods open or were displayed to present the unique attributes of the car.

For the most part the vehicles are un-restored, and many are in pretty rough condition.

2  Thank Spokaneman1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemaymarymount, Manager at LeMay Museum at Marymount, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

The LeMay Collection at Marymount is noted for its LARGE collection - it's in the Guinness Book of World Records, to give you some idea of the size. We advise guests ahead of time that two of the buildings they will see are displayed warehouse-style, and space is a premium for our collection. We could display the vehicles differently, but that would significantly reduce the number of vehicles on view, which would mean that the public wouldn't get to see them, and we don't like to disappoint visitors! Many visitors travel from around the world to visit our collection and see as many cars as possible. We pride ourselves on showing a variety of vehicles to please every visitor. Our collection includes one-of-a-kind rarities, many well-restored vehicles, as well as good condition and low mileage "originals", and everyday "drivers"; and, yes, even some project cars. Come and see for yourself! Our volunteer tour guides are knowledgeable and enthusiastic - they come here because they love the collection, and we know that you will love it, too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

I'm not that into cars so the LONG tour was a bit much for me. You can't stroll around on your own. The tour guide was personable and the cars were interesting but it was a good 90 minutes and we probably could have done it in 30 minutes on our own.

2  Thank setter3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2011

The grounds are beautiful. Has a great history. Used to be a military school from 1923 until the 70's. It was bought by the LeMay's in the 1980's. They also have tours of the old school, and chapel once a month. The tours of the old school and the "awesome" car museum are led by knowledgeable volunteers. The last Sat. of August is their big car show. Fun for all the family and car buffs. It is now called the LeMay Family Collection, so that it won't be confused with the new car museum going up near the Tacoma Dome. A worthwhile afternoon if you love cars.

4  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LeMay Museum at Marymount also viewed

 

Been to LeMay Museum at Marymount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing