We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Clean and great price and staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Tacoma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn Tacoma
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Clean and great price and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I have been staying here while working for the last 5 weeks and this is a very clean motel in a questionable neighborhood. But it is close to Winco and several restaurants and the Mall. Also Wapato park for a safe and beautiful area to walk/run. The breakfast is fine...fresh waffles and cereals including oatmeal. Bagels and other breads, I tend to eat healthy so I haven't tried the sausage or eggs or donuts. But there is fresh fruit and yogurt everyday. And fresh cookies at night! And the staff, especially Marcia, are very helpful. The exercise room is disappointing but useful...I can drive 3 miles to go to Golds gym. The pool is fine and clean. As I stated, this is a very clean motel and very helpful, friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M-K-BOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmTacoma, General Manager at Comfort Inn Tacoma, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
On behalf of The Comfort Inn Tacoma we thank you for your kind comments.
We strive for excellence by providing a clean and safe environment and a friendly and welcoming hotel staff.
We look forward to your next visit.
Have a wonderful day.
Sincerely,
Charles Hagedorn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    36
    22
    19
    19
See reviews for
34
33
7
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
des moines iowa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

have stayed here several times over the last few years. it seems to be dated now. everything is the same as the 1st time we were here. the bed was fine. but the rooms need a facelift. exercise equip still the same. this is a great location and would be fine with a little overhaul

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coolrman33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmTacoma, General Manager at Comfort Inn Tacoma, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention.
We value your business and certainly want to know if we are meeting your expectations.

The hotel is in the planning stages of some product renovation.
Having hotel rooms which reflect a new, fresh and decorative look is what we are striving to accomplish.

We hope you will continue to stay with us in the future and be a witness to the positive changes to our beautiful hotel.
Please feel free to contact me at your convenience.

Have a great day.
Sincerely,

Charles E. Hagedorn
General ManagerComfort Inn- Tacoma, WA
8620 S Hosmer St Tacoma, WA 98444
P\ 253-538-7998 F\ 253-538-6981
gm.wa087@choicehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We enjoyed the nice clean room, comfy pillows, good price, The morning desk clerk was awesome and couldn't be friendlier or do enough for us. He had breakfast ready 1 hr ahead of time for early morning checkouts. restaurants close by.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmTacoma, General Manager at Comfort Inn Tacoma, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Wow! Thank you for the great review! We know we'll be able to serve you yet again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kurt R. Turrell, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We found the hotel in Tacoma and have stayed at Comfort Inn's on several occasions in the past. Although I found the hotel satisfactory, the front counter girl was not friendly and seemed more interested in getting back to her computer game. When we left for dinner, she said have a good evening without looking up and making eye contact. How sincere was that?. Would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Nothing to add
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dderouin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmTacoma, General Manager at Comfort Inn Tacoma, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
First, thank you for your hotel review. As the new GM, I do read all hotel reviews and attempt to respond.

I am wondering if you might perhaps try us again? I have made changes in Guest Service Agents so that we have satisfied guests.

I accept responsibility for our hotel staff and I hope you will return for a free night stay.

Sincerely,

Kurt R. Turrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed at this property a year ago and gave a positive review. This time not positive the rooms we not as clean though not real bad. The breakfast was ok for the first two days the morning girl did a good job. The other three days it was late. One day I went to get juice no nozzles on the machine and juice went everywhere. The new morning girl was more interested in talking to the front desk girl than the keeping items stocked up. One morning they were out of breakfast meat.
Last year I had said the internet was slow they had posted that it was up graded. This year is so slow forget about you inbox that is if you can stay or even connect. I talked to the front desk about the problems I could tell she had this conversation way to many times. There a other hotel within a block or two this one is getting dated, service has been down graded and just not worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmTacoma, General Manager at Comfort Inn Tacoma, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
My name is Kurt Turrell and I am the new General Manager of the Comfort Inn Tacoma. I am disheartened to hear of your stay with us, to say the least. It appears as though I will not be able to persuade you to try us again, for a free night stay. Even so, I extend that invitation to you.

I would love the opportunity to earn back your business.

Once again, I am sorry that back in September we were definitely up to par.

Sincerely,

Kurt R. Turrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tacoma hotels

Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

We were on a 10 day road trip and used this hotel for three nights as a central sleeping point. It served it's purpose. All we did was sleep there. It was a average stay with an average continental breakfast. One reason for staying there is because they have a washer so that we could wash some of our clothes without taking a whole lot of clothes. Well, we got back really late on the night to do laundry, and the washer was out of order. We had to go across the street to the all night laundromat to wash the clothes, however we could dry them at the hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CJnLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmTacoma, General Manager at Comfort Inn Tacoma, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. This is the kind of feedback that makes a hotel strive to do much better.

This hotel is under new management and strides have been made in improvement.

I truly hope you will stay with us again so that we can earn an above average rating from you.

Respectfully,

Kurt R. Turrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukono, Uganda
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Our room was clean enough, but a little sparsely furnished with a table that does not quite work for the two chairs at it, and the corner taken up by the fridge with microwave on it, and the old fashioned huge TV set hanging over the edge of the dresser so you bumped it each time.

Breakfast was the normal processed egg round 'slices' with sausage and dried bagels, but what was truly disappointing was that they could not keep decent coffee brewing - it was totally out one morning, and the next was so weak that you saw directly to the bottom of the cup. The "hot" water was colder than what came out of the tap.

The service in evening was great, in the morning was grumpy.

This gets high points for being close to the freeway, and was quiet enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgmTacoma, General Manager at Comfort Inn Tacoma, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Greetings from the Comfort Inn,

This hotel is under new management and these issues have been addressed. My name is Kurt Turrell and I am the new General Manager of the hotel. It is my pleasure to invite you back again. Please call on me to work our your next stay.

Sincerely,

Kurt R. Turrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tacoma
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 28 in Tacoma
3.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma
12.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Federal Way
Comfort Inn Federal Way
#3 of 12 in Federal Way
4.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
10.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Federal Way
18.4 mi away
Sleep Inn SeaTac Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Tacoma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Tacoma

Property: Comfort Inn Tacoma
Address: 8620 S Hosmer St, Tacoma, WA 98444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Tacoma 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Tacoma The Comfort Inn® Tacoma hotel will get you rested and ready for anything. We're conveniently located near the Tacoma Mall and just minutes away from Pacific Lutheran University. You’ll find plenty of other local sites, activities and attractions to explore near our smoke-free leisure hotel in Tacoma, some of which include Ruston Way Park, Museum of Glass and: Tacoma Dome Puyallup Fair and Events Center Wild Waves Theme Park Greater Tacoma Convention and TRD Center Point Defiance Park & Zoo We cater to both vacationing tourists and business travelers alike with complimentary services and amenities such as: Free WiFi Business center Free weekday newspaper 24-hour guest laundry facilities Copy, print and fax machines Get going with a great breakfast. Start your morning in Tacoma with our free hot breakfast offering everything from eggs, waffles and meat to healthy options like yogurt and fresh fruit. All of our clean, comfortable, well-appointed guest rooms feature coffee makers and hair dryers, along with premium bedding and more. Select rooms come with desks, microwaves and refrigerators.   Deposits and Fees Cash guest will be required to pay a deposit of up to $250.00 at check-in ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Comfort Inn Tacoma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tacoma Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing