We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite Suites, Beautiful Scenery”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thornewood Castle Inn and Gardens
Ranked #1 of 11 Tacoma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful hospitality and delicious breakfast. This has been a beautiful start to a lifelong honeymoon. We watched a gorgeous sunset and ate breakfast on the patio overlooking the secret garden. Dreamy! We’ll be back next year for our 1-year anniversary. Thank you again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glassonion003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 234 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2012

Two days ago, we entered Thornewood and it’s enchantment. As I slept, I had magnificent dreams of years gone past. Thornewood has a great history and unending warmth, romance and charm. These two days were a respite for both Doug and I. As we leave today we go back to the real world, now we have a place to hide and enjoy romantic times together.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

The restrictions put on my daughters wedding were terrible. They would not let anyone into the Castle until 4PM. The wedding was at 4:30 and it was pouring down rain. They met me at the door and wanted an $800. Damage deposit and informed us that unless everyone was out of the gates by 10:00Pm they would charge me $800. I had made all of other payments on time.
I stayed in the Lake House and was informed if I lost the remote to the gate they would charge me $500. The castle is beautiful but the whole evening I was concerned about getting everyone out on time. Not a very bride friendly place. The bridesmaids all commented that they would never have their wedding there. They also charged $500 to have a rehearsal there on top of the fees for the Castle. They put a real damper on the evening.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank hanegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornewood-Castle, Manager at Thornewood Castle Inn and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

Please allow me to clarify a few points mentioned in this review. We are a rental only facility and we were not the wedding planners or caterers for this event. Like most facilities we are rented for a specific period of time. The time period is chosen by the customer. On this particular occasion, the client rented the facility from 4:00 PM until 10:00 PM. Apparently they planned the wedding ceremony to start at 4:30 PM, which only allows them 30 minutes to set up the entire ceremony, reception, catering, and do all of this while guests would be arriving. We require a security deposit, which is standard practice for many facility rentals. For our customers’ convenience and satisfaction, we have not required the deposit to be paid in advance. Instead, as a courtesy, we have accepted payment on the day of the event and in almost all cases it is returned it at the end of the event. Normally our customers are appreciative of this. The security deposit is clearly stated in our contract and applies to all of our customers. This customer was well informed about our product and policies both verbally and in writing. We delivered our facility when promised and it was beautiful according to this bride and her mother. We understand a wedding is one of the most important days in an individual's life and we will always do everything possible to make sure the event runs as smoothly as possible. Our customer’s satisfaction is our greatest reward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Let me start by saying that the castle and gardens were breathtakingly beautiful and I challenge you to find a more incredible setting. We stayed for 2 nights and there were weddings on the grounds both days. As B&B guests we were given access to the castle interior, the gardens and the lakefront. There was only one other room rented on our first night and the very friendly woman on staff took us on a personal tour of all of the empty rooms, unlocking each one and telling us stories of her time spent working at Thornewood. The owners, Deanna and Wayne Robinson, could not have been more acoommodating. We were treated like guests in their home and they tirelessly answered all of our questions, and as we were there celebrating our birthdays they even gave us a lovely gift! As for the breakfast, one of us is vegan and the other vegetarian - they were very careful to provide delicious and appropriate meals for both of us, served with a garnish of tiny flowers. Lovely. I could go on and on but I won't - suffice to say that the room was clean and beautifully furnished and ours was equipped with a little kitchenette that was perfect for our stay. The only downside I saw was that the carpet on the main staircase is worn and could use some TLC, but that did not in any way diminish our enjoyment of this wonderful weekend.

Room Tip: Be sure to view carefully online - not all rooms have kitchenettes and some have the bath in the hal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woodacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

There is no place quite like this for its grandeur, comfort and accessibility. Perfect to get together with friends coming from different directions. We all enjoyed staying with you and I hope we do it again. I liked the low profile style of hosting: our rooms were generously stocked and well prepared to anticipate a range of needs, so we had no reason to call for anything. Similarly, breakfast was a huge offering of a variety of foods, certainly something for most everyone's preferences. Only needing to ascend two flights to our rooms would discourage us, but the art surrounding the awesome staircase, and some thoughtfully placed chairs cheered us onward and upwards. And Errol says Hellooooo!!

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
3  Thank agingwithattitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

I feel intimidated trying to match some of the earlier reviewers. Suffice it to say the castle is as close as most of us will get to staying in Hearst Castle (if you've been there in California, you know what I mean) The owners have a huge passion for decor, for history, for a warm personal visitor experience.

This is the nicest place you will ever stay. If you have stayed anywhere nicer, you have so much money that you have people you have hired to read these reviews for you and you're not even seeing this.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheBlitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

This truly IS a castle! How often can you take your wife for a romantic weekend getaway at a place like this? It is breathtaking! The setting that surrounds this bed and breakfast is so amazing, it must be seen to be believed. It sits on a beautiful lake surrounded by dozens of some of the tallest trees I have ever seen. The rooms are ornate and contain untold fortunes in antiques. My wife and I loved the food almost as much as the setting, and we are planning monthly getaways to enjoy this beautiful place. It is a must see.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ranier55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tacoma hotels
9.8 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#2 of 27 in Tacoma
3,416 reviews
10.9 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
10.3 mi away
Geiger Victorian Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
The Villa Bed & Breakfast
9.4 mi away
The Secret Garden Bed and Breakfast
9.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornewood Castle Inn and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornewood Castle Inn and Gardens

Address: 8601 N Thorne Ln SW, Tacoma, WA 98498-2129
Location: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Tacoma
Price Range: $175 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thornewood Castle Inn and Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome home! This historic private residence nestled in Lakewood, just south of Tacoma, is the house that love built and we want to share it with you. This 400 year old Gothic-English Tudor Manor was transported from Whales over 100 years ago and has been become a perfect getaway for those looking to star in their own fairy tale. This family run Castle is perfect for your intimate romantic celebration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thornewood Castle Inn and Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornewood Castle Inn And Gardens Hotel Tacoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing