We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Villa Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 11 Tacoma B&B and Inns
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely B & B”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This location is in a beautiful neighborhood, has an interesting history and helpful, charming hosts. Having never been to Tacoma, I visited with a friend who'd driven by the Villa & had heard great things. The rooms are spacious (some with wood floors, some carpeted) and ours had a gas fireplace. Breakfasts are delightful, inventive & delicious. Toni & Martin have very good recommendations for local restaurants. I typically don't gravitate to B & B's, but I was definitley impressed with the Villa.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StacyH4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
26
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had a wonderful, relaxing and elegant experience at the Villa. The venue is lovely, located in a beautiful neighborhood. The rooms are beautifully decorated, large and comfortable with many amenities. The hospitality is unbeatable. Toni and Martin are wonderful proprieters. They went out of their way to accommodate the needs of our bride and groom on short notice. We enjoyed interesting, delicious and lovingly prepared breakfasts while preparing for a special family wedding event. Toni and Martin helped us to feel right at home and The Villa provided the perfect spot for the rehearsal dinner, wedding reception and after-wedding relaxation time. We enjoyed every part of this stay which was our first experience in the Tacoma-Seattle area. We highly recommend The Villa Bed and Breakfast. Thank you Toni and Martin!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I recently stayed at the Villa for the weekend on the end of a business trip. What a great house. The beauty of the manor and the charm of the furnishings coupled with the hospitality of Toni and Martin - what a great experience. I would recommend it highly. Be hungry for breakfast, Toni likes to feed you.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband and I were one our last day of vacation and needed a room in Tacoma for the evening. I found this delightful B&B in downtown Tacoma in a wonderful neighborhood with charming homes. We had a glass of wine with the owners and were delighted to meet another young couple who had just gotten married. The house is amazing - built in the 1920's you feel like you are walking back in time - the food was great and the owners are very nice and helpful with ideas of things to do the area. If you love older homes and history this is such a wonderfully cozy home with history and character. And we so enjoyed talking with the owners and admiring the neighborhood - even met some very nice folks who were having a sale around the corner and found some delightful finds. If you are in Tacoma and want a great experience I would recommend the Vista - they new owners are so happy to assist you and you can tell they love their home and are so open to sharing. It was a fun experience! Thanks Toni and Marc - hope to come back on the train and spend more time in Tacoma soon!

Room Tip: All the rooms were great - if you are looking for a special room the one what I found to be amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carthur799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Toni & Martin are the NEW owners of the Villa and have done an amazing job of getting the place back to it's glory and running properly. These new owners are charming and simply make you feel like you've come home. The rooms are enormous and beautifully decorated with all the comforts of home including free wifi. They have a wine hour in the evening and I even played the baby grand piano in the sitting room. The breakfast was delicious and very generous. Sitting around the large dining room table with the other guests and sharing stories with Toni & Martin was a perfect start to my day. Thank you. Debbie of Folsom, CA

Room Tip: I stayed in the Caserta room on the main level. Large windows and jacuzzi tub. There is no AC at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheHuntress52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We are a family of five, the kids are ages 16, 3, and 8 months. We stayed in the Cimbrione room which has a sitting room seperate from the bedroom and a private balcony. The accomadations worked great and the owners were very understanding regarding the chaos that three children bring. I am breastfeeding, which is difficult while traveling, but they had a refrigerator right outside our door for my milk and Toni kept my ice packs that I needed for the next day in the freezer for me. Breakfast was amazing, Martin even made my three year old a special breakfast with extra fruit. Thank you for great service and an amazing, comfortable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenauth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Toni and Matt, the hosts and owners of the Villa are working on a secret in Tacoma. After booking with this B&B, we really weren't sure what to expect other than to learn about the city of Tacoma and hopefully charge our batteries before heading into Seattle.
Here is what you should know...great hosts, excellent breakfast, fascinating neighbourhood, nice room, great decks, and a need for a little clean up. It is obvious that the hosts want to make their new enterprise a success, and with time this will be the eventual outcome.
As for Tacoma, this is a town that is trying to establish an identity. There is an honest effort to throw off the stereotypes that have historically dogged the area, and although you drive through some less than desirable areas of town to get to your accommodations, don't let that scare you off.

Room Tip: The Napoli room is between two other larger rooms and is smaller but still quite comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DHTCALGARY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tacoma hotels
1.0 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
1.2 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#3 of 28 in Tacoma
3,283 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Tacoma Downtown
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel
2.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tacoma Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Villa Bed & Breakfast
Address: 705 N 5th St, Tacoma, WA 98403-2318
Location: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Tacoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Villa Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The intimacy of a B&B, the elegance of a mansion, the amenities of a boutique hotel, the warmth of family--all this and more in an Italian Villa magically transported to Tacoma, WA. Great for romance, business travel or vacations. Featuring gas fireplaces, spa tubs, views of the Olympic Mountain Range and the Puget Sound. Complimentary snacks, bottled water, and of course wonderful breakfasts. Close to restaurants and tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Villa Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing