We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Matador

The Matador
Ranked #8 of 741 Restaurants in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Bar, Spanish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Matador Restaurants offer fresh Tex-Mex cuisine & premium tequilas in an inviting, social atmosphere — visit us in Seattle, Tacoma, Redmond, Portland, & Boise.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Enjoyed dinner there for the first time. Recommend to us by friends from Kent, WA.
Will be returning.
Good service and the food was good. We had a Fajita dish. The onions could have
been grilled a bit longer but overall the dish was yummy. Nice presentation.
Will try something different next time.

The bar serves an excellent Sangria.

Chips and salsa lived up to their reputation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joreviews2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    78
    26
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
108 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent happy hour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

The early serving starts at four and you should get there... at four because it fills up. Two happy hour items (you really need to add the steak to the already excellent nachos) and two beers are quite filling for two and it won't break the bank at all for the start to a date night. The service has always been good, and sit indoors on bright sunny days unless you like the direct light sitting outside.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beernu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome... But it is a bar...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

The Matador has some of my favorite food in town, at amazing prices. Most entrees are in the $10-15 range. The enchiladas with their spicy habanero sauce are amazing and the nachos are huge. I have never been even slightly disappointed by food I've ordered here.

The only caveat is that it is a bar, no minors allowed, and the service you would in a bar. It can get very crowded and loud on friday/saturday nights but that is part of the atmosphere. Tip: sit at the fireside seating.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bakerbomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

During a work trip my group decided on trying the Matador. We were very disappointed with this restaurant. I found a top shelf margarita on the menu for $8.00 and asked for it to be with patron. After recieving the bill I was very concerned with the charge for my drink to be $13.00. Seems I was charged for a shot of patron and then up charged for the drink. I asked waitress as to why I would not have been charged the 8.00 and then upcharged to patron and not the other way around especially when you see a top shelf on the menu for 8.00. Food was very greasy and service not that great. Would not recommend this restaurant to anyone that is traveling in Tacoma area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kristi e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rude help”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Went this week with a bunch of friends, the waitress was so rude and the place was so hot we left after a few minutes. We were a group of women celebrating an upcoming wedding and were ready to have some margaritas but we decided to spend our hard earned money elsewhere.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Matador also viewed

 

Been to The Matador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing