We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view and great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Harbor Lights

Harbor Lights
Ranked #18 of 746 Restaurants in Tacoma
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hutchinson, Kansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great view and great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Walking distance from our hotel, Silver Cloud Inn, and great view of the Bay during dinner. Great food, friendly staff. Highly recommend.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank saltqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    75
    34
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
TACOMA WA.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Old School Tacoma dinning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

One of Tacoma's water front standard bearers for seafood Harbor Lights may be a little crowded and noisey during the dinner hours but the food holds it's own,stout drinks as well.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TacomaWa_Webby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Wow we drove around Tacoma looking for a decent restaurant and finally, after alot of searching and wanting to be on the waterfront we came to Harbour Lights. What a blessing to have found this restaurant. I had Lingcod and my husband had salmon. Both were excellent. Definitely would recommend this restaurant. Just fantastic.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank June Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Salmon Ever..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I have been to this restaurant a few times a year when i come out to Tacoma. I have never been disappointed with their salmon. Even tho they have changed hands, the inside of the restaurant has been updated (no more button-tucked red leather boothes), the place still served delicious salmon dishes. Sept 11th, 2013 we arrived to see the new updates of the older restaurant that i remember. They have an amazing salmon-topped salad that has beet shavings and caramelized onions, cranberries and nuts in the salad along with a fresh piece of salmon.. - MORE than enough and DIVINE!! My companion had a shrimp salad (tiny salad shrimp with a few other sauces in the dish - also VERY GOOD! - We ate in the bar and had a fabbo view as well, so that was a great afternoon. We went to Harbor Lights 5 days later, and ate a 4-course dinner, yet again, delicious. My companion had the clam chowder - a clear broth we were told that had been a restaurant favorite for 50 years. He loved it.. a caesar salad, a main course of roasted sea prawns, with a savory roasted red pepper over light fluffy rice with pistachios and cranberries and sweet peas. I had the shrimp cocktail with caesar salad, and a main course of fresh salmon with the same amazing rice and sweet peas.. They have a "jar pie" - a disassembled pie with loose graham crackers in the bottom of a 2 oz mason jar with coconut cream and whipped cream with toasted coconut on top.. perfect few bites for one person! .. They did serve a basket of fresh hot bread.. Great service, a view of the sound and a seagull with perfect manners outside our picture window... I have always loved this restaurant. Altho the ambiance has left for the cold feeling of glass and metal, their chefs have always known how to make a beautiful dinner. LOVED it!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sue12181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wasn't Broken, Fixed It Anyway”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was just about the last of Tacoma's original old-school waterfront restaurants. A good place enhanced by traditions. Several years ago the Anthony's chain bought it from the original, long-time family owners. And for a while it all stayed intact - Harbor Lights owned by Anthony's. This year, Anthony's decided to "update". Now it feels more like an Anthony's with a Harbor Lights sign on top. If you are a first time guest, or you really like the Anthony's chain, you'll no doubt like this just fine (the spectacular view is unchanged). If you're returning expecting the character of the old Harbor Lights, well, not so much.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wedgewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harbor Lights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing