We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay at the Shilo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2006

We stayed at the Shilo Inn while visiting PLU. It is a short drive to the University.
The Shilo Inn was very clean and the staff friendly.
The breakfast was acceptable. We have had better, and worse. It would have been nice to have had tables in the lobby where you could sit and eat, rather than sitting on the couch and chairs holding your food or having to go back to the room.
The hotel decor and rooom seemed kind of dark. However, the bed was very comfortable and the room surprisingly quiet.
Don't go across the street to Elmers. After crossing the busy street in the middle of a long block, the food was bad and so was the service. There is a shopping mall close by to the north with other spots to dine that would be better. Or, try the Chineese buffett further south on Hosmer. It was outstanding and not like any others we have tired.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank santiamtwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 243 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2006

Ron at the Shilo Inn in Tacoma WA went above and beyond in assisting my husband and I with web check in for the US Airways. His thoughtfulness saved us a lot of time and lessened our angst with an early morning flight. Thanks Ron, Shilo Inn is blessed to have such a wonderful employee that gives extrordinary service with a pleasant smile.

2  Thank sallyn466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Wenatchee Washington
15
Reviewed February 15, 2006

My business requires me to visit Tacoma every three months for meetings. I have always stayed at the Tacoma Shilo for the last 7-8 years. I could have stayed at hotels closer, newer or a number of other reasons but what brings me back is the hotel staff. I can walk in any day of the week and they recognize me. One employee in particular needs to be recognized for her cheerfulness and can do personality and that is Jeanette. She makes the stay worth while and I look forward to my trips to the Shilo.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Pullman, Washington
11
Reviewed January 25, 2006

I stayed based on the reviews and was quite disappointed. When I asked the front desk if I could speak with 'Lori' they responded rudely that she wasn't there anymore. I don't know who she is but apparently the place isn't what it was. Rude front desk, room not clean, and a wreched continental breakfast.

Stayed: November 2005
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Prescott, Arizona
14
Reviewed September 11, 2005

I have written a review once before-experienced Seaside Shilo inn-negative-HAD to stay @ Shilo Inn Tacoma and because of staff I am now sold on the place after saying never again would I step foot in a Shilo Inn.
In August my dear friend became suddenly ill, I had to make flight/hotel /car rental reservations and get up there from AZ ASAP Understandably I was quite upset-lightbulb moment-I called Lori Johnson @ Tacoma Shilo Inn-she took care of EVERYTHING for me-really helped in a difficult situation-during my stay-my friend did pass away and Lori Johnson bent over backwards to see to any and all of our needs. My family and friend's relatives will always stay with Shilo Inn, Tacoma-I can not thank her enough for her help and comfort-after our terrible Seaside incident I thought all Shilo Inns would be of same poor service/quality/non caring to resolve problems-no way-Tacoma Shilo Inn and Ms. Johnson are EXCELLENT-ask for her when you call for reservations-you will be very well taken care of I assure you. Thank you for having her employed there.
Debbie Douglas

Stayed: August 2005
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Snohomish, WA
16
Reviewed July 20, 2005

THANK YOU!! We stayed overnight at Tacoma Shilo Inn during our road trip. It was a convienent, comfortable, and an affordable stop on our way overnight with the family. THANK YOU!! Will definately come again.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2005

Stayed here because of the reviews and wish we hadn't. Room didn't seem very clean, bedding had hair all over, and wasn't stocked up with supplies. We were right behind the elevator and had to keep the fan on all night to drown out the noise. Hotel room could use some fresh paint and ceiling repair in bathroom. Very disapointed in the cont. breakfast. Wasn't fresh and the attendant was more interested in clipping coupons from the paper than restocking the items. Also no place to sit and eat, had to balance items on your lap in the lobby. Had to cross a very busy 4 lane street to get to the closest resturant for dinner. Over priced for what you get.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tacoma hotels
6.0 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
4.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tacoma Seattle
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#12 of 27 in Tacoma
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel
4.3 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#2 of 27 in Tacoma
3,391 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Tacoma - Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma

Address: 7414 S Hosmer St, Tacoma, WA 98408-1246
Location: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Tacoma
Price Range: $104 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Tacoma Hotel Tacoma
Tacoma Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing