We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's fine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Tacoma
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I wasn't expecting much and therefore I felt the room was fine. The check-in people were nice and efficient. The room was fairly clean (except for a very long hair in the bathtub). The beds were comfortable and we slept well. The breakfast was packed and the gals were trying to keep up but with only one microwave in the back they had some unhappy people who were waiting for bacon and scrambled eggs.

It's not luxurious, but it was fine.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 432 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed here for an extended period while on assignment in the area. The staff members were always very welcoming when I'd come in, sent me off with a "good morning, have a nice day" and the Wednesday reception for military is very much appreciated by those service members staying there. The only downside was the noise from vehicles out on S. Hosmer. While they were stopped for a light at 84th, many would rev their engines, regardless of the time of day or night. That was motorcycles, cars and anything else that had an engine that could be revved. You get used to it after a while. Convenient location for anything in the Ft. Lewis/McChord AFB/Tacoma area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beej1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I must say I have never been to a hotel like this.... The staff are AMAZING! I have stayed at several other hotels in the Tacoma area....and then.....I found Red Lion Tacoma. (BIG SMILE)
They actually made me feel like family. The rooms are clean the pool is huge and the staff go over and above to make sure you have everything you need. They now also have full hot breakfast, also a plus as I am on the road so many days a month.
The one thing that actually made a big impact on me was the fact that the managers actually come out of their office and get to know the guests staying at the Hotel (They are in the lobby having dinner and playing board and card games with the guests) Ryan and Brandie you are amazing! I will forever love the Red Lion Tacoma! Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Britney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have been staying at the Red Lion Tacoma every year for the last 4 years and every stay has been great. The facility keeps improving, the staff is always friendly and helpful, the location is great to the Fort and to Tacoma and it is not a bad drive into Seattle from there either. The beds are very comfortable, the linens are good, cleaning is not an issue, the amenities are excellent and the location, well, it's South Tacoma but the building is secure and I never once felt uneasy walking to restaurants or in the parking lot. It is the best place to stay North of the Fort and South of Seattle.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, I have never heard any disturbing outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MilitaryHouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Great stay here, friendly staff. Cool manager Ryan. What else, good parking. Good waffles breakfast. Free wifi. I like the free amenities, occasional get together, military friendly. Right off the free way, close to mall, shops, restaurants.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I wholeheartedly recommend the Red Lion Tacoma. We were recently allowed to choose our accommodations in Tacoma and went on walkthroughs through several local Tacoma hotels. The decision to go with the Red Lion Tacoma was unanimous!

The other hotels in the same vicinity are closely clumped together and we were concerned about the safety of our vehicles. The location is great since there is easy access to I-5N and I-5S. Plus, there is a pool and hot tub!

The manager and staff have provided “STELLAR” service and, in every case, have above and beyond in accommodating our stay. The rooms are very clean and well organized. Have a pet? No problem! Rooms are available that allow pets.

The Manager’s Reception every Wednesday is excellent and highly recommended from pulled pork sandwiches to BBQ short ribs. On other days, there is a Subway across the street that is open late at night. Sports Authority, Olive Garden, and other restaurants/stores are within a 5 min drive.

For the price and location, I gladly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This budget hotel is like other chains terms of product but not as good. Compared to a Fairfield or a Hampton, the few bucks saved was not worth it. The bed was soft and the sheets crummy and the breakfast was cold only except for the waffle iron. Service was fine but I think that I will stick with the other chains offering this category of accommodations.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tacoma hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#12 of 28 in Tacoma
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Tacoma - Seattle
4.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tacoma Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma
5.0 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#2 of 28 in Tacoma
3,371 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Tacoma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Tacoma

Address: 8402 S Hosmer St, Tacoma, WA 98444-1831 (Formerly Sherwood Travelodge)
Location: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Price Range: $87 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Tacoma 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Red Lion Hotel, Tacoma Washington's favorite hotel. Conveniently located at the south end of Tacoma, our renovated, non-smoking hotel features a beautiful granite entry, 119 guest rooms and amenities like complimentary wi-fi, extended continental breakfast and complimentary parking. Additional hotel amenities include our complimentary business center and guest laundry facilities. Our guestrooms are designed with your comfort in mind and feature with a warm rich color palate. Guestroom amenities include plush Sealy pillowtop beds, complimentary wi-fi, EcoFresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), television with Showtime® and satellite channels, coffee makers, hairdryers, large mini refrigerators, microwaves, irons and ironing boards. Many of our guestrooms offer breathtaking views of Mt. Rainier. At the end of the day, work out in our fitness center or relax in our indoor swimming pool and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Tacoma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Tacoma Hotel Tacoma
Tacoma Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing