We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad Not Great, Its ok.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Tacoma
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Tacoma
Reviewed May 26, 2012

The hotel itself is decent. The staff is friendly which makes up for a lot. It's in an so so area. You will have to drive a little to get to anything "commercial" (think malls, Wal Mart, Applebee's, etc.) but it's not noisy either considering it is right next to I-5 so that's good. I've stayed here on two different occasions and both times the towels smell funny. A couple of restaurants and a Dennys within walking distance. You could do worse at another hotel.

Overall, not bad.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank F5993GMericd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 440 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2012

I was able to save my business half the price of a hotel room down the street at the Hampton Inn and have been pleased overall with the value offered by this hotel during 3 separate stays over the last 8 months. I had a great view of Mt.Rainier from my room (when the mountain wasn't in the clouds). The rooms were a good size, clean, though a little worn. The breakfast is adequate, the staff friendly, and the pool and hot tub
an unexpected pleasure. Rooms are reasonably sound proof, though the highway noise does penetrate sometimes from the windows. The only odd thing is half the hotel seems to be shut down from grander previous incarnation, but this doesn't interfere with operations.

Room Tip: ask for a 2nd or 3rd floor room on the Mt. Rainier side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lindahVermont_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

power failed when blow drying our hair, the breakfast ran out of coffee both days and ran out of spoons milk exc. the rooms smelled like mold and were falling apart all the way down to the faucet fallling off the wall I will never stay here again

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank freeride_426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL_Tacoma, Front Office Manager at Red Lion Hotel Tacoma, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

Hello,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to inform us that our service didn’t meet your expectations. I apologize for not taking better care of you during your stay.

It is the goal of Red Lion Hotel Tacoma, to ensure our Guests have a pleasant stay.
Management has also taken the necessary steps and measure to assure this does not happen again.

Please feel free to contact me at 253) 548-1212 or email me at afaifai@redliontacoma.com as I would like to follow up with you directly regarding your stay.

Thank you very much for your feed back and have a good day.

Sincerely,

Andrea M. Faifai
Front Operations Manager
Red Lion Hotel Tacoma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

My family was in town for State High School Bowling Championships. The team and all family members who were able to go stayed here. This is what made my decision to stay.. By booking online and paying for the first night allowed me to obtain a great rate for the complete stay. The hotel was very clean, employees were awesome and quick to respond to any request. The pool was a nice bonus. The Wi-fi was also good. Had a fabulous time while I was there and having a great place to rest our head at night helped. The rooms were in fabulous shape. I look forward to another stay at this hotel...

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

A large room, with a beautiful view of Mt. Ranier, helpful staff, and a wonderful breakfast. A great weekend getaway and a convenient location. All this at a budget price. Wonderful.

Room Tip: Room 208 excekkebt vuew if Mt. Ranier
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angels81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Aside from the big man w lots of kids and many waffles to make, it was a treat to stay here. I do, however, give the breakfast buffet a thumbs up. Our room was clean, spacious, and nice. The staff was friendly(the entire staff) and helpful. My boyfriend used his senior discount and the check in/out process went like clockwork. The hotel is close to the Glass museum, which we highly recommend, and the aquarium is a few miles close. It's not a bad are for sight seeing either. I really love the number of pillows provided(a chic thing) and I forgot to ask what make and model their beds are. OMG, cumfy, he and I both slept awesome. I do advise asking for a room not next to the elevator. It didn't bother us but it may for people who have sensitive hearing. It was a deep hum, not loud. Overall...A-

Room Tip: Get to the waffle maker prior to the opening of breakfast and if noises bother you, get a room away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

out of expectation. good staff, pool, Jacuzzi. convenient location. one block to a large nice city park.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderfree22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tacoma hotels
4.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tacoma Seattle
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#12 of 27 in Tacoma
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Tacoma - Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#2 of 27 in Tacoma
3,391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma
0.7 mi away
Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Tacoma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Tacoma

Address: 8402 S Hosmer St, Tacoma, WA 98444-1831 (Formerly Sherwood Travelodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Tacoma
Price Range: $82 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Tacoma 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Red Lion Hotel, Tacoma Washington's favorite hotel. Conveniently located at the south end of Tacoma, our renovated, non-smoking hotel features a beautiful granite entry, 119 guest rooms and amenities like complimentary wi-fi, and complimentary parking. Additional hotel amenities include our complimentary business center and guest laundry facilities. Our guestrooms are designed with your comfort in mind and feature with a warm rich color palate. Guestroom amenities include plush Sealy pillowtop beds, complimentary wi-fi, EcoFresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), television with Showtime® and satellite channels, coffee makers, hairdryers, large mini refrigerators, microwaves, irons and ironing boards. Many of our guestrooms offer breathtaking views of Mt. Rainier. At the end of the day, work out in our fitness center or relax in our indoor swimming pool and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Tacoma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Tacoma Hotel Tacoma
Tacoma Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing