We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Tacoma
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
South Pasadena, California
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Its a Good Hotel”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed one night at Red Lion Hotel Tacoma on our way from Port Angeles to The Dalles on Hwy 410 and US 97.

The Check-in and Check-out was so prompt and the Front Desk staff was very friendly, nice and hospitable.

The room was very clean, comfortable and well kept. Linen, towel etc exceptionally clean.

The hotel has easy parking and it was conveniently located near Fwy I 5. There were several decent eateries around.

The B/F was not bad and the area was well kept.

We enjoyed our stay and will come back again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asoka B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    84
    71
    58
    104
See reviews for
157
85
30
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Hi, I stayed at this hotel three nights. I was planning to visit the park "Wild Waves" so I found this hotel centrally located.

The hotel has nice features, great pool and jacuzzi. They also have breakfast buffet in the morning. Only pitfall was that the room where they had the breakfast was pretty small and had only few tables.

No matter what time I went, it always seemed crowded and it was hard to get close to the food. The hotel does not have a restaurant at this moment, so not sure how the room service works (or not). However, there are lots of restaurant in the 1 mile radius to all taste and budgets.

The price was reasonable for the accommodation. The staff was pleasant and helpful when I needed help.

I find the Red Lions a good chain of hotel... they're very consistent with good service and reasonable price.

Room Tip: Hotels.com or sign up at their website and you may also get points.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We recently stayed in this hotel before moving out of state. It was clean and nicely appointed. There was somewhat of an odd smell in the hallway, but that was my only complaint. The staff was professional and the hotel was quiet. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seattleite61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2011

I always stay with the red lions. This one offers very good rate for me.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

This was a good spot to stay when traveling through Tacoma. Right on the interstate (but I didn't notice the noise), so it's handy. Several reviewers mentioned a bar, I think that is now closed.

The room was very clean and the lady at the front desk was extremely helpful. The laundry facilities were quite nice. The breakfast was about what you'd expect of a continental breakfast.

Our only complaint was the curtains; they had two layers and only the first layer would close all the way. This created a nice visual effect, but didn't block out the very bright lamp from the parking lot.

Room Tip: Watch out for parking lot light
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RHman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2011

This hotel is a good value at $69 with a few issues.the fire alarm went off at 4:00am. The alarm went on and on for 45 min. We heard the fireman telling the manager that this would continue until repairs were made to the hotel system. The hotel also claim to have a fitness area. It has 3 cardio machines in a open area. I tried to workout and all 3 machines were broken. Everything else at the hotel is great. Just needs alittle TLC.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbk3700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2010

This hotel was a bargain at $64/night when booked through the hotel's website. The rooms were clean and quite sufficient. The pool and hot tub were nice (indoors) -- although guests have to walk outside about 10 feet to get to the entrance. Parking, in-room Internet, basic continental breakfast, pool/fitness room, business center were included with no extra fees.

The staff were wonderful. The overnight front desk woman set up breakfast early for us; we were down in the lobby at 4:30am due to jet lag. She took pity on me. Always pleasant and professional. And they bake cookies fresh in the evenings. :)

The rooms were clean and quite adequate. Bath & Body Works toiletries were provided. Good thermostat control; plenty of white noise from the blower.

Ask for a room with a view of Mt Rainier; it's incredible! The clouds do sometimes limit the view, though.

The lobby/entrance appears to have been recently remodeled. The hotel's casino/restaurant was closed a couple years ago; there are some areas of hall carpeting that were worn, likely from the former heavy use. There's a Denny's within walking distance, as well as two coffee huts that are so popular in the Seattle/Tacoma area. There are tons of eateries within convenient driving distance, as well as a Target and good size mall. Convenient, very close to the I-5 freeway entrance.

The pizza place across the street is delicious; much better than the neon lighting would suggest.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thewidricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tacoma hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#11 of 28 in Tacoma
60 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Tacoma - Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Tacoma Near McChord AFB
5.0 mi away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#3 of 28 in Tacoma
3,329 reviews
4.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tacoma Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Tacoma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Tacoma

Property: Red Lion Hotel Tacoma
Address: 8402 S Hosmer St, Tacoma, WA 98444-1831 (Formerly Sherwood Travelodge)
Location: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Tacoma 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Red Lion Hotel, Tacoma Washington's favorite hotel. Conveniently located at the south end of Tacoma, our renovated, non-smoking hotel features a beautiful granite entry, 119 guest rooms and amenities like complimentary wi-fi, extended continental breakfast and complimentary parking. Additional hotel amenities include our complimentary business center and guest laundry facilities. Our guestrooms are designed with your comfort in mind and feature with a warm rich color palate. Guestroom amenities include plush Sealy pillowtop beds, complimentary wi-fi, EcoFresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), television with Showtime® and satellite channels, coffee makers, hairdryers, large mini refrigerators, microwaves, irons and ironing boards. Many of our guestrooms offer breathtaking views of Mt. Rainier. At the end of the day, work out in our fitness center or relax in our indoor swimming pool and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Tacoma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Tacoma Hotel Tacoma
Tacoma Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing