We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Artwork throughout!”
Review of Hotel Murano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Murano
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
Klamath Falls, OR
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Artwork throughout!”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

From the very start, the valet service was wonderful.....walking into the lobby was like walking into an art gallery! We called ahead and asked for an early check in.....and they were able to make it happen! We were there for my great granddaughter's pageant.....it was very busy but all the staff was very helpful and cheerful. We ate in the restaurant and everything we had was delicious and plenty of it. It is in a good location with shops and restaurants within walking distance. Our room was clean and comfortable.....the view amazing! (we were on the 14th floor) If I had to say anything on the negative side....it would be there were 3 elevators, but seemed only one or two were working and they were very slow. I would recommend staying there and hope to stay again another time.....!

Room Tip: Room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan K, General Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Joan,

Thank you for the great review!

Aside from our elevator challenges, it seems as if you had an enjoyable visit and I appreciate you recommending us.

I do hope you'll have another opportunity to stay with us in the future.

Stan Kott, General Manager

stan.kott@murano.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,907
    800
    352
    152
    72
See reviews for
515
880
193
1,369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

This unique property is visually stunning, from the exterior with it's giant soaring slab of blue/green glass, to it's multi-level lobby with even more handblown glass to every floor featuring a different international glass artist. The views of Mt. Ranier to the southeast are stunning too, especially from the high floors. The rooms are cool and trendy with all of the right amenities for a business traveler or tourist, the beds are very comfortable, and the staff all super friendly.

One very small nit...the AC thermostat unit in my room wasn't functioning properly and when I finally called down to the desk to ask for engineering to come up, it was too late in the evening (the engineers had gone home). Unfortunately, the front desk staff didn't inform me of this until my second call 45 minutes later. The very nice young man from security couldn't fix it, but offered to move me to another room if I wanted.

The next morning, I let the manager know what had happened, because I genuinely felt she would want to know (not because I wanted anything - I really didn't!). She was genuinely apologetic and offered me a later checkout. Quite unexpectedly, I received an email later in the day saying that she had "comped" my room because I didn't have a perfect experience at Hotel Murano! Wow! Now, that's what I call an outstanding commitment to guest service. Thank you Hotel Murano, well done.

For convenience to downtown Tacoma, total visual coolness and outstanding guest service ,you simply cannot do better than the Hotel Murano!

Room Tip: Hi floor facing Mt. Ranier
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDTripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan K, General Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Wow... thank you for your kind remarks and thorough overview of your experience with us.

I certainly appreciate your feedback regarding how our staff and management handled your unfortunate experience with the AC unit and I am quite pleased that they made an impression on you.

It is so important to us to receive feedback as to how we are doing and I sincerely appreciate the time that you took to write in to Tripadvisor.

Your descriptions of our service, artwork, guest rooms, and views are wonderful... and I hope that you can join us again soon.

Best regards,

Stan Kott, General Manager

stan.kott@murano.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooper City
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Great hotel, the beds were wonderful. The staff was excellent especially the valets. Wonderful location in the heart of downtown Tacoma. Within walking distance to everything. The restaurant had delicious food with reasonable prices. Beautiful artwork throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyCooperCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan K, General Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Nancy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us some feedback.

We do have a great team here (everywhere) and I appreciate you singling out our Valets who continuously work very hard to take care of everyone.

I am glad that you had an enjoyable visit and I do hope you'll come back to see us again real soon.

Best regards,

Stan Kott, General Manager

stan.kott@murano.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
253 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Although I have not stayed at this hotel, I have had the fortune of visiting and dining at its FANTASTIC RESTAURANT (BITE), and I was so impressed by the interior that I HAD to submit this review. From the moment you enter the hotel lobby, I promise you will be in AWE of the beautiful interior and modern design. While I live here in Tacoma, I'm actually considering booking a night or two at the hotel just for the experience. And, I the restaurant is just an ADDED BONUS!

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Thurman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan K, General Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Thurman,

Thank you for the AWESOME feedback and compliments on your experience.

We are indeed quite proud of our restaurant and culinary style of our Executive Chef, Matt Stickle, and his team and I will certainly share your comments with him.

We will look forward to hearing from you again once you've had a chance to also enjoy a night or two in one of our fabulous guest rooms.

Thanks again!

Stan Kott, General Manager

stan.kott@murano.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very well located near major roadways. Staff is very courteous and helpful. Room service was efficient and the food was good. Lisa in room service was especially helpful in getting an item on the evening menu that wasn't available at the time we were ordering. That's customer service! Overall the hotel is very comfortable and clean. We must agree with previous comments about poor elevator design, you may wait longer than usual for one. All things considered, we would certainly recommend this hotel for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ffrayrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan K, General Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for the nice review.

I appreciate your kind remarks regarding our staff and I will be sure to share your comments about Lisa with her as well.

I apologize for the inconveniences that you endured regarding our elevators. Fortunately, that problem will be behind us soon as the full modernization project is almost complete.

Thanks for saying that you'd recommends us to others, and I do hope you'll be able to visit us again soon.

Sincerely,

Stan Kott, General Manager

stan.kott@murano.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We made our reservation online a few days before our stay and took advantage of the Staycation package which included parking, internet connection and two $20 certificates to the in house restaurant, BITE. On checking in the first question asked was "When did you make this reservation?" The clerk had a little trouble locating the record and fortunately I had printed the confirmation e-mail. Neither of the room keys (cards) worked when we arrived at our door. When we used the phone in the hall the desk told us we "would be put on a list". Fortunately we bumped into someone from the hotel engineering department who tested the cards, agreed they were defective and got a new set which did work. The bellman never came.

We were given a room with a King bed, a desk and one chair which is about all that could have fit. The room was located on the back side of the elevator shaft so we could hear the faint rumble of the elevators. This was not enough to disturb our sleep.

During our stay there was a beauty pageant for children from grade school age up to high school age. Some of the hotel staff told us that this group had booked about 90% of the available lodging space and filled the conference rooms and hallways. Despite a few very high strung parents the girls were fun to watch. The shear numbers created a lot of pressure on the hotel resources. Hallways were sometimes jammed with kids and parents trying to get to their next event, use public restrooms, or worst of all waiting for an elevator. Two of the three elevators were working so during high traffic times one could wait 15 minutes. Once on the elevator it would frequently stop at floors where no one was waiting, slowing the trip that much more.

The hot water in the bathroom was scalding hot and hard to regulate.

For the positives- The building is decorated borrowing from the themes of the nearby Museum of Glass. Novel and attractive. Most of the staff were helpful and pleasant. Beds were comfortable. The food in BITE was good. Internet connection by hotel standards was fairly fast. The location was convenient to Dale Chihuly's Museum of Glass, and the Washington State Museum. There is a free trolly system a block away which gives one good access to much of downtown Tacoma.

Room Tip: Make sure there is no capacity filling convention or similar event going on during your dates. Avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReadingMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan K, General Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful and comprehensive review of your experience with us.

Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences surrounding our elevators, and also for your faulty key cards.

We were indeed challenged this past weekend while hosting an annual pageant while having one of our primary elevators unavoidably out of service as part of a modernization project that had been anticipated to be completed by early July.

I truly appreciate your kind remarks regarding our staff, our beds, internet, and our restaurant. I am glad to see that you had some time to explore our surrounding area and that it appears that your overall experience was positive.

While it does not help with your experience, I am happy to note that our modernization project is nearing completion, and I am certain that if you were to provide us with another opportunity to be of service to you, you would find the experience to be more in line with your expectations.

Again, I apologize for a less than perfect experience.

Sincerely,


Stan Kott, General Manager

stan.kott@murano.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
133 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

What a unique boutique hotel! Beautiful art on each floor. Staff is pleasant and helpful. Our room was great! We had a view of Mt Ranier, the full moon, the museums, and more! We were in walking distance to restaurants like the Pacific Grill (very good!). Computers in the Business Room (to get your boarding passes) did not work, but the Front Desk receptionist helped resolved that. Self-parking was a bit annoying -- there's only one-way in/out from each level and, from what I could tell, only two levels; where there is no entrance/exit to the building or elevator on the second level. Parking was difficult to find -- maybe couldn't be helped because of the "National American Miss" contest. Three elevators were not enough for this particular weekend, but the staff tried their best to assist everyone going up and down. They did a great job, as did the Bites restaurant and Lounge in the Lobby area. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan K, General Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Lucy,

Thank you for your thoughtful review.

I am glad that you and your family had an enjoyable visit and that you had the opportunity to do a bit of exploring around our neighborhood.

I am sorry about your frustration related to parking, we do have over 350 slips spread out over three levels and the lowest level does connect directly with a hotel entrance for convenience when self-parking. It was indeed an extremely busy weekend, and I agree that parking was a challenge.

I appreciate your many kind remarks relating to our staff and will enjoy sharing your feedback with them.

I do hope you will be able to stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Stan Kott, General Manager

stan.kott@murano.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tacoma hotels
2.2 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Tacoma Downtown
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tacoma Seattle
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Murano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murano

Property: Hotel Murano
Address: 1320 Broadway Plaza, Tacoma, WA 98402-3411 (Formerly Sheraton Tacoma Hotel)
Location: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tacoma
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tacoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Murano 4.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Murano, a boutique downtown Tacoma hotel located adjacent to the Tacoma Convention Center and steps from the city’s best museums and restaurants. Tacoma is the epicenter of the American glass art movement and, honoring that heritage, Hotel Murano pairs luxurious guestrooms and well-appointed event space with a museum worthy collection of glass art from around the globe. Hotel Murano is conveniently located in the heart of Tacoma attractions, including Chambers Bay, site of the 2015 US Open and just minutes from downtown Seattle. With a world-class art collection, delicious cuisine at Bite and craft cocktails at our Lobby Bar, and a full-service spa and salon, Hotel Murano is the perfect place to wake up inspired. As one of Tacoma’s finest pet friendly hotels, Hotel Murano invites guests and man’s best friend to take on Tacoma while enjoying our boutique accommodations, timeless service and modern style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Murano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murano Hotel Tacoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing