We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice modern styled hotel”
Review of Hotel Murano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Murano
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
Yakima, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A nice modern styled hotel”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

This made for a nice business stay. The room while on the small side was nicely done. The bed was comfortable and the bath products were great. Check in and check out was quick and easy. No lines either time. Also, there is self parking adjacent to the hotel for $15 a day. Each floor has its own artist designed theme. The furnishings in the room were modern and minimal in design and everything worked. The bath has a vessel sink and a glass countertop and marble floor and shower. The water pressure was great for showers. The room appeared to be pretty clean overall, nothing stood out as glaringly ignored by housekeeping. However, I noticed that the metal stand on which the glass top of the vanity in the bathroom sat, along the front edge where you would stand in front, had a layer of lint and/or gunk built up, so it is something that housekeeping must miss frequenly in cleaning. A couple nit picking things, the ice bucket plastic liner was smaller than the ice bucket so it kept wanting to slide out and there was no refrigerator in the room. There was however a coffee pot and a selection of hot drinks. You could hear noise from other guests at times, either in baths or through walls or floors. Overall, really no big complaints with this hotel or the room itself. It made for a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: There don't apppear to be a lot of rooms on each floor so any of them are a short walk from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBinYak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan K, Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We're glad you had an enjoyable stay with us! Above all else, we want our guests to feel taken care of, so it sounds like we hit the mark.

Thanks for complimenting our furnishings — we work hard to create a modern vibe, while still wanting our guests to feel at home!

I'll definitely take note of your concerns regarding the areas of your room that still needed cleaning. Our guests should always feel clean and comfortable.

I appreciate your feedback and hope you'll stay with us again whenever you're back in Tacoma!

Take care,
Stan Kott, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,923
    813
    353
    154
    74
See reviews for
530
888
193
1,377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Efficient individually decorated rooms (and floors) that are quiet too! The glass art work is a treasure and it is located throughout the hotel. The hotel is located near the art and history museums and theatre district so you can walk to them easily. Related to location, I took the bus from SeaTac and used the Link and was at the door of Hotel Murano in 50 minutes for $3.50. The hotel restaurant (the Bite) is very good and there are plenty of wonderful dining options in walking distance as well. Tacoma has a different feel from Seattle, well worth the experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GFP32999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan K, Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thanks for letting us know how we're doing! We're so glad you're impressed with our modern yet comfortable hotel.

I appreciate you giving BITE a try — sounds like you had a wonderful time. We'd love for you to stay with us again soon!

Take care,
Stan Kott, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here for my boyfriend's birthday on May 31st, after a fabulous round of golf at Chambers Bay golf course. The room was spacious and minimal but very comfortable. The hotel lobby is very cool, and we ate at the chic in house restaurant Bites for the birthday dinner, followed by some cocktails at the lobby bar. Walked to the glass museum and the Chihuly bridge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan K, Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thanks for this glowing endorsement, Kay! We love helping our guests celebrate special occasions, and it sounds like your boyfriend had a wonderful birthday.

Come back and see us next time you're in Tacoma!

Take care,
Stan Kott, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Wyoming, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Hotel Murano. The hotel is within walking distance to the convention center, some nice restaurants, and museums. I stayed on the 15th floor. There was interesting art and information on each floor, right in front of the elevator doors. A cute little artisan boutique just off the lobby. The hotel was quiet. I set the air conditioner to 60 degrees at night, but it never got that low, probably only around 68 degrees and stopped. It was quiet cycling on/off and didn't wake me up. The windows opened so that was nice (had to wear ear plugs so the traffic wouldn't keep me awake). No fridge in the room. Nice closet. Beds were okay, on the hard side. One thing I really liked was that the beds had more than one option for warmth- a thin blanket (what I like), and a thick comforter. The staff was very friendly. I didn't try the restaurant or bar, but they looked nice. There was live music (a Jazz trio) playing in the bar area. I got free internet because of the group I was with, but it looked like they usually charge a fee for it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BowTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan K, Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thanks for letting us know how we're doing! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and our unique glass art collection.

I'm sorry to hear that your A/C wasn't working properly—did you let someone on staff know? We would have been happy to accommodate you!

In addition to the Mini-Bar that is within all guest rooms, we also have additional mini-fridges upon request. Feel free to call down to the front desk in the future.

Next time you need a getaway, we'd love to have you back here. I really appreciate this helpful feedback!

Take care,
Stan Kott, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed at the Murano for a business meeting. The art in the hotel is amazing. The beds are comfortable and the people who work at this hotel are great. The other members of my group also loved this hotel. When in Tacoma I would definately come back here. Such a great overall value. Food and drinks at this hotel are very reasonable (even room service) It's a new favorite :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan K, Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We're glad our art was a nice distraction from all those business meetings, Danielle! We're so glad you enjoyed yourself.


Thanks again,
Stan Kott, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snoqualmie, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I spent the night there in early Oct 13' for a concert at the Tacoma Dome. Great location, with the transit line 1/2 block outside the hotel, and a couple of bars open late around it in case of the munchies when you get back. The interiors were as advertised, very classy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tyeoh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan K, Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Classy is always what we're going for!

Thanks for spreading the word about us. We're so glad you and your wife enjoyed your stay.

Next time you're back in Tacoma, our door is always open!

Cheers,
Stan Kott, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Glass museum neighborhood hotel that is modern clean and has great views. Wonderful theming around glass artist with fine work spread throughout the hotel. Fav place to stay when we visit our Tacoma friends

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shaquila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan K, Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We're honored to be your go-to hotel in Tacoma, Shaquila! I'm so glad you took advantage of our glass art—that's something we find to be particularly special to our guests.

Whenever you miss our view, come back and see us. We'll have a room ready for you!

Warm regards,
Stan Kott, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tacoma hotels
2.2 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Tacoma Downtown
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tacoma Seattle
4.3 mi away
Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Murano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murano

Property: Hotel Murano
Address: 1320 Broadway Plaza, Tacoma, WA 98402-3411 (Formerly Sheraton Tacoma Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tacoma
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tacoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Murano 4.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Murano, a boutique downtown Tacoma hotel located adjacent to the Tacoma Convention Center and steps from the city’s best museums and restaurants. Tacoma is the epicenter of the American glass art movement and, honoring that heritage, Hotel Murano pairs luxurious guestrooms and well-appointed event space with a museum worthy collection of glass art from around the globe. Hotel Murano is conveniently located in the heart of Tacoma attractions, including Chambers Bay, site of the 2015 US Open and just minutes from downtown Seattle. With a world-class art collection, delicious cuisine at Bite and craft cocktails at our Lobby Bar, and a full-service spa and salon, Hotel Murano is the perfect place to wake up inspired. As one of Tacoma’s finest pet friendly hotels, Hotel Murano invites guests and man’s best friend to take on Tacoma while enjoying our boutique accommodations, timeless service and modern style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Murano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murano Hotel Tacoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing