We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this Hotel!!!!!!!!”
Review of Hotel Murano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Murano
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We have stayed at the hotel once before and absolutely love it. The art work as you enter and on each floor is absolutely beautiful. Be sure to take the each floor tour and check it out. Rooms are very nice and modern, beds comfortable. Front desk is very friendly and helpful. There was a senior prom going on while we were there and I was afraid we might hear noise from that, but nothing. You must use your key in the elevators to get to your floor or any floor (so you can view the artwork), so that is a nice plus for security. They offer self or valet parking, there is a bar in the lobby which is very nice. There is a spa (did not have time to partake), very nice resturant called Bite we did not get a chance to check that out, but did hear from our waitress at the Matador it is very good, will have to check it out next time we are there. Aveda products in the bathrooms as well as terry cloth bathrobes. Safe in closet. We had a view on the 18th floor of the Tacoma Dome and the waterfront. This hotel is located just a block from the convention center and there are several resturants within walking distance.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room on an upper floor with a view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deeharleygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,351)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Murano
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,929 - 2,935 of 3,351 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2012

we went to the van halen/kool & the gang concert at the tacoma dome on my husband's birthday and wanted the night to be super special, so we decided to stay overnight in tacoma and not worry about parking or traffic or driving home after the concert. what a find this hotel is! it has specials for locals which is a fantastic deal, location is wonderful, right next to light rail, food was delicious, eye candy everywhere (glass art), furnishings in the room were unique, great view, staff was very inviting and friendly...cant say enough! now i gotta find another excuse to stay in tacoma again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edithrusso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

The Hotel Murano is centrally located, the staff is friendly and the decor/artwork is fabulous. The rooms are very comfortable, however, the sheets and towels need upgrading.

Room Tip: We requested a room with a view and were very pleased. Fantastic night view of the city and water.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annylb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Excellent stay - just up the street from the Tacoma Convention Center. Glass theme throughout the hotel was fascinating. The food at Bites was excellent - very well prepared and presented...and very, very tasty. From the moment we arrived, the staff was helpful and informative.

Room Tip: The view of Puget Sound is excellent for room on the top floors.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeInMtVernon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This would have been a great place to stay in terms of everything except the nightmare of getting holds taken off my card after the fact.It still has not happened after repeated calls and going in person to my bank repeatedly. The controllers of this hotel have no respect for their customers time and just say what ever including blaming your bank for their lack of releasing holds on your card to get you off the phone.I have waisted enough time on this issue.

Room Tip: Don't use this hotel.
Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank travelwriter1usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan K, General Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Thank you for your feedback and for bringing the service inconvenience surrounding your debit -credit card to our attention.

As a standard procedure during check in; the hotel automatically places an authorization hold on any credit or debit card, provided as a payment guarantee, for the projected room rate and taxes for the entire stay along with an additional $50.00 per day for any additional incidentals that may be incurred. Any unused amount of the pre-authorization is returned and released back to your card after you check out. This or a similar policy is for the most part what is in effect at most hotels and resorts throughout our region.

I am aware of your concerns in that they were brought to my attention yesterday by our accounting clerk who had been attempting to assist you. The pending balance of $23.45 that was in question was being held by your bank, not us. It seems that all banks have their own policies and timelines in releasing pre-authorized funds, however, we have found that 48 hours is most typical.

Please accept my apologies if this was not appropriately communicated to you during the check in process and for the inconvenience that this has caused for you.

It is important that we are made aware of both positive and negative feedback as this helps us in the on-going training of our associates, and I truly appreciate you sharing your experience with us.

If I can be of any further assistance to you with regards to future reservations, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Best Regards,


Stan Kott | General Manager | Hotel Murano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I wanted to take a special friend to Seattle and needed to stop in Tacoma. The Murano was highly rated so I gave it a try. It was an amazing place, with great rooms, service, food and a glass collection worthy of a museum.

Room Tip: The rooms were very quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taoofken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Wonderful decor.....visually stimulates ALL of your senses! The staff is the most attentive I've dealt with anywhere!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mschlesinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tacoma hotels
2.2 mi away
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Tacoma Downtown
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tacoma Seattle
5.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#12 of 28 in Tacoma
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Murano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murano

Address: 1320 Broadway Plaza, Tacoma, WA 98402-3411 (Formerly Sheraton Tacoma Hotel)
Location: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tacoma
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tacoma
Price Range: $132 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Murano 4.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Murano, a boutique downtown Tacoma hotel located adjacent to the Tacoma Convention Center and steps from the city’s best museums and restaurants. Tacoma is the epicenter of the American glass art movement and, honoring that heritage, Hotel Murano pairs luxurious guestrooms and well-appointed event space with a museum worthy collection of glass art from around the globe. Hotel Murano is conveniently located in the heart of Tacoma attractions, including Chambers Bay, site of the 2015 US Open and just minutes from downtown Seattle. With a world-class art collection, delicious cuisine at Bite and craft cocktails at our Lobby Bar, and a full-service spa and salon, Hotel Murano is the perfect place to wake up inspired. As one of Tacoma’s finest pet friendly hotels, Hotel Murano invites guests and man’s best friend to take on Tacoma while enjoying our boutique accommodations, timeless service and modern style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Murano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murano Hotel Tacoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing