We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey food that is just okay”
Review of Agate Pass Cafe

Agate Pass Cafe
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Suquamish
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $33
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Pricey food that is just okay”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We celebrated a birthday here with a dinner for two. Nothing outstanding, just average. I had the oyster risotto which was tasty, but too salty. My partner had a ribeye with rosemary fries, she said it was okay. Sad for the price that the food was not better. We are uncertain if we would return to this restaurant. Although they did serve a non-alcoholic ginger beer that was very good, made in Australia.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Winter_Grrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    22
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious Brunch Menu”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a wonderful little restaurant in Suquamish. Reservations are a good idea.
Delicious brunch menu and the dinners are excellent. Don't miss this little gem!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank archerSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Rude and rushed”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We made reservations for a holiday evening for six people. When we arrived and seated we were told the kitchen was closing and we would need to hurry and get our orders in immediately. Why did they make the reservation, then?! The waitress was rude and unhelpful. The three appetizers arrived. The bone marrow came with only two small pieces of toast, the edamame was shelled, cold, and tasteless. The blini was soggy with and over abundance of cream cheese and two prices having no salmon. The dinners arrived immediately after, with the waitress irritated that we had not finished. Steaks were cooked well done and were not trimmed, the scallops were swimming in oil leaving the polenta inedible. The fish was cold. Water glasses were left unfilled. The waitress never returned except to bring the check, BEFORE dessert was served. Even though two other tables remained as well, the kitchen started cleaning, filling the small restaurant with the overpowering stench of cleaning spray and the staff put the surrounding chairs on tables. Of course, there was an automatic gratuity of 20% added, normally a minimal tip for a hardworking crew but this group did nothing but count their tips on the counter and clear their throats while glaring at the diners. Clearly, the staff had no attention of providing a lovely meal but rather wanted a quick tip and an early start to the holiday. We were in and out in less than an hour and a half, saddled with a +$400 tab. I have no idea why we weren't told to set the reservation earlier (7:30). I guess they simply wanted a quick tip. I was embarrassed to have taken our out of town guests there, on what was supposed to be the beginning of a lovely visit. There are too many new options for fine dining experiences on Bainbridge Island now. Don't waste your time or money on such rudeness. A clear, and pricey, letdown.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pippin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always a treat!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This little restaurant, flanked by two bars and a pizza place, surprises newcomers with imaginative seasonal offerings that never fail to please. (Plus a couple of year-round entrees for people like my husband who aren't interested in imaginative!) Last visit, I had pork belly braised in cider over polenta, accompanied by arugula. It was scrumptious. Starters and desserts are also excellent. The staff is warm and helpful, the chef will make substitutions if desired and the wine list is good, too. They take reservations only for groups of 5 or more.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Candace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, WA
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The Best Bainbridge Island (almost) Eatery”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Time and again, Agate Pass Cafe dazzles with its food, its hospitality, its atmosphere, its charm. Located just off the island across the Agate Pass bridge in Suquamish, it earns inclusion in the very best that Bainbridge Island now has to offer to diners, whether for its intriguing nightly specials or its non-traditional Sunday brunch that converts even those who usually avoid that excuse for dining excess. The Northwest-accented wine list is ever-changing but always superb. We keep coming back to Agate Pass, which is top-notch, reliable and welcoming. It's no wonder that we consider it among our very favorite restaurants in Seattle and beyond.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Agate Pass Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Agate Pass Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing