We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good”
Review of Green Olive Cafe

Green Olive Cafe
Ranked #4 of 41 Restaurants in Sunnyside
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Sunnyside, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Was pretty good when they first opened about 2 years ago. Then the owner figured out that they could produce better ingredients than they were getting from the food service trucks. So they threw away their can opener and make almost everything from scratch. Much better now. Looks like a small coffee shop but has adequate seating and the menu has something for everyone, and the food is top notch.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    16
    6
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Small and pricey”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

No elbow room, very average menu, not the place to go. It is close to a nice motel and probably surviving do to that. Better off to venture down the highway to Bon Vinos.

Helpful?
Thank tommyfoutball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington state
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant convenient location”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed at the best western hotel right next to this restaurant. We decided to walk over since it was so close, we weren't expecting anything much, but we were pleasantly surprised at this place. The atmosphere was nice, the food excellent. We had a fantastic waitress. We only chose this place because it was next to the hotel and we didn't feel like doing any driving. After wine tasting all day, the pasta dishes really hit the spot. They had some fun music, stuff from the 30's and 40's and we were with an 87 year old who was naming off the tunes as fast as we could using "shazam" phone app. We would and will definitely eat here again when in the Sunnyside area.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mydogmac78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Owners need to learn how to run a restaurant”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

My friend and I were staying at the hotel close by and felt that the atmosphere of this restaurant looked inviting. Unfortunately, the only good thing, turned out to be the lasagna and warm bread. The shrimp salad that I ordered was horrible. Expecting actual shrimp, I was very unhappy to see the salad littered with what appeared to be the contents of a recently opened can of tiny bait. Upon ordering a glass of Pinot Gris I was informed by the older owner that my wine selection "wouldn't be available until the next time those grapes were picked . . . in the spring". Really, spring? and I had just enjoyed a glass of the same at another location with lunch earlier in the day. To really top off the meal, even though we were the only people there (sitting outside), the owners thought that it was courteous/business savvy, to have their yound grand children out on the patio playing around with them while we were attempting to eat & have a conversation. To sum it up, the waitress was trying her best and did well, but the owners clearly don't have a clue as to how a restaurant is supposed to be run. The menu is bland (how many spaghetti dishes do you need) and could easily be spruced-up, but right now, they have a Very Long Way to Go.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JuneOlympia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyside, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Awesome! Great food!”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

This place is awesome! Great food and wonderful customer service, I would recommend to everyone!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank hhill79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Green Olive Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing