We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service is Terrible what happened to this place. Looks like same employees but the service has gone down hill.”

The Buttered Biscuit
Ranked #3 of 54 Restaurants in Sumner
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
“Service is Terrible what happened to this place. Looks like same employees but the service has gone down hill.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I went to the buttered biscuit yesterday. The service has really gone down hill. I haven't been in a few months but it seems a lot has changed and the service was terrible. The food is still good. But the place was dirty and I don't know if I'd go back. If the service is like this.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen-Lew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    55
    24
    24
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Huge portions, great home style food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Although a small out of the way place with bench seating, over by the railroad tracks, this place is a must visit. If they don't have it on the menu, they will do their best to accomodate you. The food is unlike any place you have been - it is like your gourmet country grandma is in the back kitchen cooking up gigantic plates of food for you. They have really good inexpensive specials most days, too. Don't let the funky appearance fool you - this food is good!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ckwindsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonney Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Food - Little Noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

My mother and I visited The Buttered Biscuit around 10:30 on a Saturday morning. The parking lot was full and I was afraid we would have a wait. Fortunately, upon entering there was no line - we were greeted within two minutes and asked if we would mind sitting upstairs. With no protest by us we were led upstairs and seated immediately. There was a large party centered in the room which produced a noisy climate but did not hamper our experience, too much. We ordered the bacon-bacon waffle to split. The meal came with gramma eggs (scrambled eggs with ham & cheese), waffle and bacon strips. The waitress was kind enough to seperate the meal and bring it on two plates. The food arrived hot and was tasty. The bacon was crispy and had good flavor. The only part of the meal I was not happy with was the water (which is free - so really can't complain). The water, served in mason jars, had a very odd taste - not sure if it was chemical or what. I thought it might be because of the mason jar but a straw did not help. Our check for the breakfast plus a coffee came to around $14.00. For two people I would say it was a fair value. Would I recommend The Buttered Biscuit - yes, as long as you are not looking for a quite relaxed dining experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fletch182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“unique sumner home cookin' spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

I am about once a month at this Sumner establishment and reccomend it for anyone in town as a spot worth checking out. Food always good and from scratch. Portions are huge with a doggie bag in everyones's hand heading out. Breakfast is the most talked about meal of the day, but they do a fine job with all 3. They cook it all day as well. $5 specials are a steal at night.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eatout1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumner, Washington
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“D I R T Y”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

This restaurant is beyond DIRTY. From the garbage can outside the building to the disgusting bathrooms.I found rat feces on the ledge in the bathroom.that was the end of my experience. When you first walk in you are greeted by the staff and put on a list. No big deal except the person doing the list is a little scatter brained and a little rude. We waited about 15 minutes and was led to our table. from there someone brought us water with stuff floating around in it. next we opened our silverware it was dirty so we needed new silverware. After that I started to look around the restaurant and noticed the carpet looked like it hadn't been vaccumed in a week. I wanted to run for the door but my family was starving. the food was good the cornbread everyone raves about was ok but would of been better if it was warm. As we went up to pay we met the owner. That explained everything she was dirty food and stains all over her shirt, her hair was stringy and hanging everywhere she seemed very nice but if she is what represents this restaurant. WOW Dont go here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Buttered Biscuit also viewed

 

Been to The Buttered Biscuit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing