We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the extra drive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sumner
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sumner
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Worth the extra drive”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We were up for sports and stayed at the hotel as we like the chain. Rooms were clean, staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was ready to go and well stocked. Keurig coffee maker in lobby was a nice touch. Pool was great for the kids. No places to eat close by, but it was nice and quiet.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank PNWMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    50
    12
    4
    10
See reviews for
35
28
12
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Villa Hills, KY
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Like many other reviewers, I think this is one of the best hotels I have stayed at and I travel quite frequently. The staff is great, the room is clean, the bed is comfortable, and service is excellent. I have stayed here quite a few times at different times during the year, and never has this hotel been even close to full. This leads me to doubt some of the reviews about the place being overbooked. It is kind of secluded from everything which further leads me to doubt the place was overbooked. Anyway, if you are ever in the Auburn/federal Way/Sumner area for business this is definitely the place to stay.

Room Tip: There is a railroad track that runs behind the building. I have never stayed on that side of the bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knoll911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yakima
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

My wife and I had such good luck at the Wenatchee Holiday inn that we decided to give the Sumner one a try as we wanted to go to Nordstorms and the Super Mall to shop. This is a new hotel and was very clean. The breakfast was great, eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, biskets and gravy, several juices and coffee plus a variety of Krug coffees. We used the pool and hot tub and had a very relaxing time. Will stay again..

Room Tip: any room, off the main floor .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

If you don't mind the location, it's located in an industrial park, but very close to many shopping and eating places! This is a great hotel! The rooms are nice and clean and the staff is awesome! We just got back from a two-week stay there and were really impressed!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mckinar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

I stay at a lot of Holiday Inn Express hotels because there is a great minimum level of comfort, cleanliness and service. This rather new hotel does not disappoint in that respect. It was just what I expected. My only issue with this property was the location. It's almost in Auburn, and nowhere near the downtown Sumner area. Since all of our activity was to be in Puyallup (very close to downtown Sumner), we thought a Sumner location would be convenient. However, it was so far from Puyallup that it proved to be very inconvenient. We had to make sure that we remembered everything in the morning, because we weren't driving 30 plus minutes to get back to the hotel. It's also not near anything else, so be prepared to drive for dinner, entertainment, etc.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Back in this hotel for 4 nights and we feel so at home. I like the breakfast and the pool and so do my grandkids! Very comfortable beds, plenty of parking, well maintained, freeway close but best of all is the wonderful staff. Everyone! Is so welcoming and friendly. We f,eel at home here and will go back every time we are up visiting our grandsons and their parents.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the freeway side. It's quieter than the RR side!.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrStuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

This is the second time I've stayed at this particular hotel. Both times have been very nice! The rate is great and the beds are wonderful! The fact that you get such cleanliness for this price is refreshing! The staff was all very nice and professional. I love the free breakfast in the morning, too. Gets your day off on the right foot!

Though the location is nice being right off the freeway, there is basically NOTHING in the area of Sumner that it's at. There is a fairly good supplied gas station across the street, but other than that you're on your own. A few exits down there is a super mall, but we didn't find that until we were on our way home. There is also a Subway somewhat close, but they close at 8:30pm at night so if you get in a little later, you only have gas station food as a dinner option.

The last thing is there are train tracks nearby so you hear the trains every once in awhile, but they do supply earplugs if that bothers you.

Room Tip: Make sure you bring food with you or know where there to eat before you get all cuddled up in your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TKColeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sumner
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Puyallup
4.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Auburn
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Mountain View Auburn Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sumner Motor Inn
Sumner Motor Inn
#2 of 2 in Sumner
64 reviews
5.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Plaza Hotel & Conference Center
4.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tacoma Puyallup
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sumner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sumner

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sumner
Address: 2500 136th Avenue Ct E, Sumner, WA 98390-9210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Sumner
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sumner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sumner 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a new Sumner/Puyallup, Washington hotel!The new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sumner/Puyallup, conveniently located near downtown Sumner, is just a short drive from Tacoma & Seattle. The Seattle Tacoma Int'l Airport is less than 20 miles away.Leisure travelers can enjoy a comfortable stay at our Sumner/Puyallup hotel which is minutes from restaurants, shopping & local attractions. Wild Wave Theme Park, Troutlodge, Northwest Trek, Point Defiance Zoo & the Aquarium are all near our hotel in Sumner & are great for family outings. Adults can spend an evening at the Emerald Queen Casino or watch the races at Emerald Downs Racetrack. For those who want to shop, Auburn Super Mall is nearby.With convenient access to Mission Foods, Medallion Foods, Sumner Industrial Park & Interstate Distribution, our hotel is ideal for business travelers who plan to attend meetings in the area. Pierce College, McChord Air Force Base & Fort Lewis Army Base are all near our Sumner hotel, as well. A 24-hour business center, & free, high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel, will help you stay connected as you do business on the road.During your stay at our Sumner/Puyallup hotel, take time to enjoy the fabulous amenities. You can relax in the heated, indoor pool & whirlpool or work-out in the fitness center. Enjoy, a free Express Start hot breakfast bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sumner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Sumner
Holiday Inn Express Sumner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing