We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Martin’s Gorge Tours

Martin and Christine are awesome guides who can help you have whatever kind of experience you’re... read more

Reviewed September 14, 2019
Brian T
Mt St Helens Tour

Martin's tour of Mt St Helens was very professional, safe, and delightful. Everyone had a great... read more

Reviewed September 9, 2019
Greg H
Read all 44 reviews
  
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveler rating
40
2
0
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
40
2
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private tour wine tour great guide van wineries portland interests vista highlights beauty
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We booked Martin for our wedding shuttle. We paid him a lot of money and have all our our agreed upon terms in writing. He tried to bail out on us three hours earlier than agreed upon and when we challenged him on it, he proceeded to corner the bride and groom and complain about having to stay. His rudeness and lack of professionalism was astonishing. We finally just had him drop off us at home two hours earlier than agreed upon because we were so uncomfortable with him. Martin and his company were the biggest disappointment on our wedding day.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Elyssa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
24martinh, Owner at Martin's Gorge Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

From 3pm - midnight on Saturday 8/31/19 Christine, Spencer & myself (Martin) went out of our way to accommodate “high maintenance” customers, with special requests, and even agreed to their demand for discount pricing!

To set the record straight, we were continuously challenged by their lack of planning & foresight, but still managed to move more guests than they had estimated by enlisting additional vehicles & drivers, on demand, at the conclusion of the reception. When the bride & groom suggested that we transport several intoxicated wedding guests to a local bar, I expressed hesitancy (their interpretation of “rude & unprofessional”). They offered to pay extra money, which I refused to accept, but still accommodated their wishes. As it turned out, they chose to finish the evening “early” (at mid-night) by their own choosing, when the nightclub was winding down.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2019

Martin and Christine are awesome guides who can help you have whatever kind of experience you’re looking for. They are very knowledgeable. Whether it was history, hiking, places to go... they can answer any question one might have and will surprise you with interesting facts. The hikes that my group did were challenging and absolutely beautiful... I felt that Martin & Christine were genuinely concerned that we were all having a good time which is a testament to the kind of people they are. They pointed out great spots for pictures and helped take pictures and even took some of their own that they shared with us.

I can’t recommend them enough and I don’t think you can find nicer guides.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2019

Martin's tour of Mt St Helens was very professional, safe, and delightful. Everyone had a great time. It was a very professional group of attorneys from all over the United States. We were very impressed. Thank you for your willingness to always be attentive and accommodating to our every need.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
24martinh, Owner at Martin's Gorge Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Greg,

Thank you for your favorable review of our service! We also greatly appreciate your effort, communication and assistance with the planning and execution of our tour on Mt St Helens. It’s always a pleasure to work with clients who are as pleasant, cooperative, understanding, and fun as you and your group have been.

Until our next adventure, we wish you all the best!
Martin & Christine

PS - thanks again for the signed copy of your book...I read it the same week, and happily added it to my personal library ❤️

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2019

We booked a small private tour for mom's 75th Birthday. Christene was our guide and helped us plan a very memorable day. She was a perfect host and guide! Even as the day got later than expected, she was patient and attentive. We appreciated the snacks and waters during the drive between wineries. We plan to book again in the future!!!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Darkdivine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christinesV5360XK, Guest Relations Manager at Martin's Gorge Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2019

Thank you so much. I too had a great time and enjoyed your company. I am glad you had a memorable experience. See you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2019

We had a fantastic experience touring the Columbia River Gorge with Christine! She and Martin were very responsive to our inquiries and worked with us to put together a custom tour that hit all the highlights we wanted to see. Christine was very knowledgeable about the history of the area and was a great guide as we saw amazing waterfalls and went on several easy hikes so we could see each area in a little more detail. I much preferred this approach rather than some of the bigger tours where you only spend 15 minutes at each stop. We ended the day with a stop for a late lunch and wine-tasting. I highly recommend this small, local business!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank indiansjdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christinesV5360XK, Tour Guide at Martin's Gorge Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2019

Thank you so much for the kind words We love showcasing our “home” . We are so pleased you enjoyed your experience. Please come again, there is still so much to see and experience . Christine & Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews