We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic couples, stay clear”
Review of Skamania Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Skamania Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Stevenson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Romantic couples, stay clear”
Reviewed May 5, 2006

My wife and I came for the week-end, to celebrate our anniversary. We were impressed by the location, and the staff was very friendly (typical of Oregon); but the high price did not get us the romantic getaway that we had planned. It seemed to us that there were just too many rooms in proportion to the indoor public spaces and to the capacity of the kitchen to serve meals (and other dining options are miles away). The lounge and the pool area was dominated by noisy children during most of out stay. On Friday night the dining room was seafood buffet (only!) and we chose to take our meal in the bar/grill. On Saturday night the wait for a table was 45 minutes - so we did room service, figuring that would be quicker than driving into Stevenson.
There was also a professional conference gathering going on, and I suppose that is more in line with this place's business model, and why they were resorting to "buffets" to try and get everyone fed.
Our room was nice enough, but only only at the level of a good motel. And puttingi in "honor" baskets with potato chips, candy bars, teddy bears and $4 bottled water - that's just tacky, and needs to stop. At $200 a night, it should be complimentary, or it should not be in my face.
Breakfast was fine, but ridiculously expensive. $13 plus for another "buffet," or seriously overpriced menu items. I might still have enjoyed the meal, but for the loud, obnoxious table of pierced and tatooed "alternate lifestyle" folks at a nearby table. One can't expect hotel staff to actually ask guests to behave themselves, can they? Could they?
Anyway, I suppose if you need a place to turn your kids loose while the hubby gets in a round of golf, this could work for you. But don't expect peace, quiet or an intimate setting.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,106
    643
    346
    117
    55
See reviews for
498
1,066
38
417
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2006

My fiance and I went to Skamania Lodge for a weekend getaway. It was not what we expected. It felt more like an older ski lodge than anything else. There were plenty of families with children running around everywhere. The children that were in the room above us enjoyed jumping around in their room at all hours. This is not a romantic getaway destination...

Rooms:
I was overall most disappointed in how overpriced it was. For almost $300 a night, our view was only okay- and the furniture and room decor were horrible. The bathroom was small and motel-like. We have a deluxe river view room with a fireplace and small living room. About the only positive thing I can say about the room was that it was spacious. In the two nights we stayed, we never had room service either. I saw them up and down the halls but somehow we got missed all day Sat.

Spa/ Pool:
The spa was small (two rooms for massage and one for manicure/pedicures) and in the same area as the pool and hot tubs (one indoor and one outdoor). So, there were children running through the spa area. Obviously this didn't make for a quiet spa environment. The elevator machine room was only door doors away from the massage rooms.

Food:
We ate in the dining room for breakfast and the River Rocks bar/grill. The bar/grill food and service was good. The dining room was okay. We had a nice view of the golf course. The breakfast was good but again seemed a little overpriced for what it was.

If you are used to five star hotels, this is not the place for you. It would be better recommended for families who didn't care about romance. We were very disappointed with the facilities. Overall, I would say this is most similar to a 2 stay facility.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Toni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln City, Oregon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2006

My husband was excited to treat me to a romantic get-a-way (we have oceanfront hotels - so it is hard for him to find something to WOW me) and had heard good things at Skamania Lodge. But what he found was - even though he had spent alot of time arranging special things, ie roses & champagne, to be in the room - their guest services totally dropped the ball. Also He had reserved a suite with river view and they put us in a room with a view of the back parking lot. They did move us the second night into a view room - but it only had a murphy bed??? And when they were told about the no roses, etc - they apologized and said they would get them in the room right away - if he could get me out (I didn't know anything was arranged) so he took me to the lounge for a glass of wine. When we came back an hour+ later - still not done!

We did enjoy the dining and lounge facilities as well as the spa for massages.

So as a hotel stay not bad - BUT definitely NOT the hotel if you are looking for a romantic or pampering get-a-way for something special like anniversary, birthday, or honeymoon.

Helpful?
7 Thank OnTheBeach2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Occidental, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2006

My family of 4 met my mom and her husband at Skamania for the Christmas holidays. The lodge was just as nice as we'd remembered from staying a couple of nights 8 years ago. Now with 2 kids, we really took advantage of the library, complete with board games for all ages; the kid activity room, with ping pong, fooz ball, playstation, crafts, and kid movies; and the pool plus 4 hot tubs. When it wasn't raining we hiked a bit on the snowy trails, played on the playground, and shot some hoops. The Christmas decorations were amazing -- roaring fire, Christmas quilts, 37-foot tree just in the lobby. There were smaller trees all over the lodge, free piano entertainment and a concert. The lounge is also cozy with a fireplace. For rooms, I'd pay the extra for the river view, which is fabulous and expansive. We looked at a forest view with 2 beds, a river view with 2 beds, and a king with fireplace. The deluxe king was bigger, but maybe not worth the extra fee. We also peeked in an open suite, which looked terrific.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShawnConna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 10, 2005

We just returned from golf & spa packages at Skamania Lodge. What an amazing first class experience. Recent reviews on your web site suggested that since the change in ownership the Lodge was not up to par. Not so! We had a visit to Skamania in May and found nothing had changed since then; every thing was to our liking! From couteous , prompt efficient check in (even though ours was a tad complicated) to their incredible buffet, everything was outstanding. Their staff was personable and attentive, the rooms charmingly decorated, very clean and well appointed, and nice and roomy with spectacular views. The Golf School was great value and the Spa delightful! The meals were superb with a great selection, well priced and well prepared. The staff were very knowledgeable, gave great hiking and shopping recommendations. We will defiintely be back!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 31, 2005

We've stayed at the Skamania Lodge a few times before and were pleased. But, we won't be back again. Due to their new management: you no longer have a complimentary breakfast, you must pay. The complimentary Starbuck's coffee was watered down, they add an almost 10% "Lodge Fee" to your bill at the end of your stay (they said it was for trail and grounds maintenance), $4 bottles of water placed at your nightstand (tacky), and we were charged for honor bar items we never used. Loyal guests are now nickeled and dimed, which is too bad, it is a pretty place. The Columbia Gorge Hotel is a better bet for your money, you feel like a honored guest.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stevenson
17.1 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
17.2 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
19.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
6.0 mi away
Carson Hot Springs Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skamania Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skamania Lodge

Property: Skamania Lodge
Address: 1131 Skamania Lodge Dr, Stevenson, WA 98648-6186
Location: United States > Washington > Stevenson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Stevenson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Skamania Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Skamania Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skamania Hotel Stevenson
Skamania Resort Stevenson
Skamania Lodge Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing