We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Skamania Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Skamania Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Stevenson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Belfair, Washington
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Overall experience was great. We enjoyed the lounge, the restaurant, the pool and hot tub, the fitness center, the game room, our guest room, the staff, the ambiance, the decor. Everything was great and in accordance with the rates. You get what you pay for. Very comfortable beds. Get a River view room and watch the beautiful sunrise in the morning. We will definately come back next time we're traveling in the Gorge.

Room Tip: Get a River view room and watch the beautiful sunrise in the morning.
See more room tips
Green Features: There are many environmentally friendly practices and guest opportunities on site.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyaB6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,093
    632
    340
    115
    53
See reviews for
495
1,054
38
402
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed here while I attended a conference in March. While there's not much to do for little ones, it was comfortable and relaxing. Food was great.

Cons: our room was the FURTHEST possible from the conference area where I was spending most of my time. Wifi, though included, was really spotty in your room (and when you're confined to staying in there, and or working during your conference, it is important). We also asked for a late checkout due to the end time of my conference, but the desk would only extend to 12 pm... Making it extremely difficult for my husband to care for our 5-month-old son for the remainder of my course (4 pm). I understand that they couldn't extend the check out for all participants of the course, but I thought that it was in bad taste after three-nights-stay they couldn't even allow a day use. Too bad, it was almost a five-star review!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skamania, General Manager at Skamania Lodge, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Jen K

Thank you for the review! We always enjoy hearing from our guests. Guest comfort and convenience are always our highest priority, we happily accommodate any guests preferences so please do not hesitate to request your guest room be near the conference center on your next visit. As technology continues to expand and become such an integral part of everyday life we find ourselves constantly upgrading our Wifi bandwidth and data port access points. Thank you for the feedback however, we will take another look at our systems. We sure wish we could accommodate every late checkout request. Unfortunately, there are days were ensuring we deliver on the 4pm check in time needs to take priority. We do however always extend day use of the entire facility when we are unable to extend the checkout time. We hope that your family found the Gorge Room or pool area relaxing while you attended the remainder of your conference. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Ken Daugherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Our family stayed at this lodge March 26 and 27, 2014. We booked a suite (Room 492) as we have a large family.

Our suite was very impressive. It actually looked like a brand new room! Not even a fingerprint was left on a mirror. Everything smelled good. The king-size bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on, and we have stayed in many, many hotels over the years. Downstairs, the fireplace in the main room was so cozy, as were the many beautiful chairs to relax in. The view is amazing. The food was great!

We were here for my husband's conference, and Jean was our server during our banquet. She really knew her job well, and was so quick and so nice!!! We complimented her on the wonderful job she was doing, and she told us that it was her very first day! WOW!

All of the staff at this lodge were so friendly, smiling, knew their job, and acted like they loved being there. Justin at the front desk reminded us so much of our nephew back home. He went above and beyond to help us with activities, coupons for the nearby museum, places to eat, etc. We just happened to see him at the local grocery store after work one evening, and he was just as nice and friendly there! Very impressive! The manager, Doug, (he was here from San Diego, CA) had the best customer service that we have ever seen in a hotel manager. He, too, really knew his stuff!! Other hotel managers should take lessons from him. Your whole team did everything physically possible to make our stay perfect.

Room Tip: Our room was spacious. The king size bed was heavenly. The suite came with a blow dryer, microwave...
See more room tips
Green Features: If you decide not to have maid service, the hotel will give you a certificate for $5 per day to use in the gift shop, restaurant, etc. I was impressed that the restaurant gave me a cardboard carry-out container rather than styrofoam.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thevandys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skamania, General Manager at Skamania Lodge, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for sharing your kind note regarding your recent stay. Our Housekeeping Team strives to create an incredibly welcoming environment and sincerely appreciates your remarks above. While we can’t take credit for the views, we are happy to learn that our cuisine complimented the grandeur of The Gorge. Our entire team hopes to have the good fortune of welcoming you and your family back soon.

Kind Regards,

Ken Daugherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed at the lodge three nights to babysit our infant grandson while our daughter attended a conference there. We asked for rooms close together and they were able to give us rooms with a connecting door between them. The room was very comfortable, and they provided her with a refrigerator and high chair as well as a crib. Front desk staff were extremely nice, and one of the spa staff provided us with a baby diaper so we could take our grandson swimming. The food in the restaurant was good, and there are good beer selections. The Columbia Gorge Interpretive Center is also most interesting and worth visiting.

Green Features: I'm pleased they give you the option not to change sheets and towels. They also were giving a $10 restaurant coupon if you wanted no service to your room on a particular day.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFOvisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skamania, General Manager at Skamania Lodge, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for your recent visit. We are delighted that your stay was both professionally and personally rewarding. We hope that Skamania Lodge will be a regular tradition for your daughter. Best wishes for a wonderful Spring season.

Kind Regards,

Ken Daugherty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
337 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Didn't spend a night here but my friends wanted me to discover this place so it was just a stop after long hiking for a lunch ..Very relaxing place .. Very nice atmosphere .. Just want say it's a beautiful place

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

We spent one night at the Skemania lodge and definitely recommend it. We arrived on a sunday in time for their wonderful brunch! I've heard that Friday night's buffet is also great... maybe next time we'll be there for that. Brunch included a little bit of everything and highlighted northwest fish... smoked salmon etc. Completely yummy.

Rooms are fairly typical - and fine but nothing special. We opted (foolishly for a king/view) although since it was winter and rained/snowed/foggy the whole time we were there we couldn't see anything.I could imagine how nice it would be in good weather though.

Since we couldn't get out much, we booked a couple of spa treatments... very nice. ladies sauna was out of order when we were there, however. Disappointed. :(

Very accommodating staff. Would definitely stay here again. We were told that the hotel will be undergoing a major remodel in the next year... would like to see it after...

If the weather is bad, 4 wheel drive is highly recommended!

Room Tip: view would be nice in spring/summer or fall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed here for the first time in January for my birthday weekend using a "Groupon" and was very happily surprised to have been upgraded to the Columbia Suite! The room was gorgeous, the hotel was amazing, food was outstanding and service was absolutely great. I look forward to going again in the spring! Keep offering those Groupons please!

PS: I have no business criticizing ANYTHING since we got the free upgrade, but as a couple, I would not spend the extra money to get the suite next time. It was two adjoining rooms, the first with the king bed, fireplace, table and chairs, TV and bathroom. Gorgeous and decorated fabulously. Just beautiful. The second room was so very plain and boring that we hardly used it. The two rooms just didn't have the same feel. Would be great for children as it had a sofa bed and another TV with a desk and chair, but the fridge was right next to the door and the microwave was far away on an end table. No real decorating and an awkward layout of things. Just blah. Making the second room mirror the first would really enhance the perceived value of the suite, in my humble opinion :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nursebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stevenson
17.1 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Hood River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
17.2 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
19.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
6.0 mi away
Carson Hot Springs Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skamania Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skamania Lodge

Property: Skamania Lodge
Address: 1131 Skamania Lodge Dr, Stevenson, WA 98648-6186
Location: United States > Washington > Stevenson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Stevenson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Skamania Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Skamania Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skamania Hotel Stevenson
Skamania Resort Stevenson
Skamania Lodge Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing