We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed in unprofessional front desk staff”
Review of Skamania Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Skamania Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Stevenson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 8, 2008

The Front Desk should revisit what good cusomter service means. We booked a room for the night to celebrate our birthdays and were aware the check in was 4:00. We arrived early with the hope that a room would be available prior to 4:00. We were told upon checking in with the front desk that a room was not available, but they would "expedite" with the cleaning staff , and to check back in 45 minutes. We did so, only to have a different person say they knew nothing about it and would call housekeeping to "expedite" cleaning a room. We were asked to check back again in 45 minutes, which we did. Once again, we arrived back at the front desk, and were told the room hadn't been cleaned yet and to check back again. We used the work out facility and waited until 4:35 , well past the "official check in time", to go back to the front desk. The room still was unavailable. We were told, after the receptionist phoned the housekeeper that "she was upset". Does the Housekeeping staff run this hotel? We were offered a price concession, which didn't change the fact the room still was unavailable. We were offered drink tickets, but since we had come from working out, we wanted a shower, not drinks. Management should impress upon staff that it is far better to be honest and upfront with guests than to keep making promises they were unable to deliver. Had we been told that there was not a chance of getting our room prior to 4:00 we would have made other plans on how to spend the afternoon. Telling us the housekeeping staff was "upset" was not our problem. To tell us that "we begin check-in at 4:00" when it was now 4:35 only caused the ill feelings to escalate. Why, after three trips to the front desk, hadn't someone offered us a different room? Only after we said we were leaving was this offered. Why did they let this escalate to this level before someone took responsibility to take care of us? We left and will not return. Hopefully in the future the staff will be honest with guests upfront, or if their attempts to take care of the guest are falling short ,step in and make it right so the guest doesn't feel "dismissed".

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Check in / front desk
1  Thank Dole98665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,430 - 2,436 of 2,494 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2008

While visiting family in Oregon, we had a chance to stay at the Skamania Lodge. I was a little nervous after reading some of the reviews on this site. The Skamania exceeded my expectations by far. The rooms were a little on the small side, but extremely clean and comfortable and had everything you would need. Loved the bed linens, feather pillows and flat screen t.v. We did have a Superior Riverview King room which was slightly bigger than a regular room (269 ft). It seems the rooms have recently been renovated and were very new, bright and clean looking. The people at the lodge were friendly and helpful. There was free coffee, hot chocolate and awesome hot apple cider available all day long. What we really loved about the lodge was the back area. We could have sat out back looking at the Columbia River Gorge for hours, but didn't have time. It was especially beautiful at sunset, although the sun doesn't go down until about 9pm on the west coast. They also have hiking trails with maps and free bike rentals with paved trails all near the lodge. The Cascades restaurant was reasonable priced and the food was good. The only suggestion I would make is don't spend too much more for the river view as the window is small and it is difficult to take advantage ot it. Most of the time we spent outdoors anyway. One night when driving back from dinner in Stevenson, we saw deer running next to us at the entrance to the Lodge. You won't be dissapointed. Keep your eye out for specials. They have been running a great deal for $119 for mid-week stays lately. Being from Florida, we really enjoyed the lodge, the Washington weather and beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Suzfriedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2008

Here for a couple nights at a medical meeting.

Rooms are OK but far overpriced. $250/night discounted rate.

Had problems with the room A/C which took a request for repair before 7 AM and another about 7 PM before it was finally fixed.

Most of the staff were very nice and helpful, with a couple exceptions.

Probably wouldn't have come had the meeting not been scheduled here and will definately not be coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rogerdaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2008

When we made the reservations, we asked about the quality of the "dog rooms" because we were travelling with our little dog. They assured us they were just as nice as the rest of the hotel, just closer to the woods for dog walking. Well, the room was severely damaged by previous occupants (canine and otherwise) and was infested with fleas. And, to top it off, we paid a very high daily surcharge for the privilege of staying in this dump. Never again.

Plus, the staff seemed inexperienced and the restaurants were uninspired. It's a long drive from Seattle to a mediocre resort.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Midgetina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2008

I stayed here for a conference and absolutely adored it. Too bad I didn't have my husband there with me, because this place is great for a romantic getaway.

It's a bit out of the way, and I didn't see anything nearby (it was especially neat at night, looking out my window and seeing pitch blackness all around except for a few lights and the clear stars!) The grounds are beautiful and the accomodations are nice and homey. The style is more "Native American chic" than modern, but it fits the space. The rooms are quiet and the beds are really comfortable.

The conference facilities are beautiful and modern, and the catering staff was really helpful. Food in the restuarants was good (and on the cheap side) and the wine list was excellent. Staff was great. I left my sunglass in the room and they were kind enough to mail them to me!

I was there for work so I was always busy, but I think that if I came back I would only stay a day or tow - with nothing around it might get boring on the property.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ktmae55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2008

This is actually one of our favorite places to stay, though if we had to pay for it we most likely wouldn't. We've always gone for business conferences and we LOVE the food. This last time the seafood buffet on Friday night seemed to lack something besides fishy foods, not enough "turf" served. The Sunday morning brunch is wonderful and everything you could possibly want is there.
They don't serve Coke, but will bring you a bottle if you hate Pepsi. The iced tea though is the finest I've ever had.
The bathrooms need fans and hand-held shower heads, but otherwise the bathroom was fine. The little extras are nice--even an emory board!
For the price though, the hotel doesn't really have a luxury feel, it's more rustic cabin style, which is not what I like for $300; but as I said, when we stay here, the company picks up the tab.
The view is phenomonal and well worth driving from Portland! The pool is great and we enjoyed the whole place to ourselves on one of our Sunday evening stays. We really don't have any complaints at all, but I do think the place is too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank wantitclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2008

Have stayed at Skamania lodge quite of few times over the years and I still enjoy it. Visited the lodge again this last week for a quick overnight stay and even with some unseasonably cold weather and spring snow showers we still enjoyed ourselves. The rooms are nice but not lavish, they have always needed a second easy chair and to my surprise the room had it this time. Maybe new management has heard this and learned something. I am not totally sure what it is that appeals to me about Skamania but the main lodge area (the Gorge Room) is relaxing, not pretentious, and the views through the ceiling to floor windows are truly soothing, just unbelievable at times with the sun, clouds, mountains and river illustrating nature at it’s finest. Even with the large conferences the location is normally very peaceful. Although if you’re traveling just for leisure and you go when a really large conference or conferences are their, you can easily feel like you need to put on your business attire and join everyone else when they break from their events. These large groups can be pretty imposing and can impact what you had hoped to be an intimate quiet stay. The golf course is also very nice and at times you will find yourself just enjoying all the beautiful nature around you. I have never paid over $200 for a room at Skamania and would be hard pressed to pay that in the future but at lower prices we keep returning.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank stynema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stevenson
17.2 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
17.1 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
780 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
19.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
19.2 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skamania Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skamania Lodge

Address: 1131 Skamania Lodge Dr, Stevenson, WA 98648-6186
Location: United States > Washington > Stevenson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Stevenson
Price Range: $208 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Skamania Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Skamania Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skamania Hotel Stevenson
Skamania Resort Stevenson
Skamania Lodge Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing