We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy with a gorgeous view”
Review of Skamania Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Skamania Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Stevenson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We went last weekend for a mini romantic getaway and had a lovely time. We got an upgrade to a view room which had a nice seating area and a fireplace.

The Friday night buffet was full of very good seafood and totally worth it (my boyfriend, a thin man, had three heaping platefuls). If you don't like fish, it's not for you, although the prime rib was tasty too.

The common areas are great. The firepit is a nice communal space to warm up outside on a cold winter night. The outdoor hot tub is fabulous, as is the indoor pool, but kids slapping their kickboards on the pool's surface can take you out of a relaxing reverie pretty quick. The lobby is gorgeous, and the new art is a little weird, but I kind of like it. However, I'm with the other reviewers on missing the rocking chairs -- they were a lot comfier than the architecturally designed stuff in there now. It's still a nice place, though.

There is great hiking nearby and it is close to Portland. They often have great deals, so check their website and/or Groupon. As long as you don't sit in your room the whole time, the resort fee is worth it.

Room Tip: The view is one of the best in the gorge, so get a view room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mandypdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkamaniaLodge, General Manager at Skamania Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear mandypdx,

Thanks for the nice response. It's always great to hear from happy guests. Chef James Boheim and his team are always striving to make our Friday Night Gorge Harvest Buffet even more memorable and your thoughts are truly appreciated. We are happy that you enjoyed the pool- it is a popular gathering spot for our younger guests and doesn't always coincide with a romantic escape. But, it sounds like that wasn't the case for you and your boyfriend. We hope to welcome you back many times in the coming years- and perhaps host your wedding one day...

Sincerely,
Scott Spann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,545)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,157 - 2,163 of 2,545 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

From the moment we entered the grand lobby and was met with a warm, welcoming smile by Katie at the Front Desk, we knew this was going to be a great getaway. We checked in on Valentine's Day 2013 for a two night stay. Our 4th floor room knocked our socks off. The cozy fireplace added to the ambiance, and the view of the Columbia River was stunning. The bedding, bed, towels and toiletries were all top-notch. We enjoyed swimming in the large, very clean, indoor pool that is open from 6 am to 10 pm. There are multiple hottubs, both indoors and out. The large,outdoor hottub was our favorite, thanks to it's unique shape and the babbling waterfeature next to the hottub.
On our second day, after a busy day of exploring nearby countrysides and wineries, we returned back to the Lodge to find our room had not yet been cleaned. The housekeeper down the hall called and found out that a worker on another floor had been assigned to clean our room and she had not yet made it to our floor. Yet, when the housekeeper (Lisa) found out about the delay of our housekeeper she immediately said SHE would clean our room so we wouldn't have to wait for the assigned housekeeper to come to our floor. Now that is what I call teamwork....all working to keep guests happy.
Sitting in handmade wooden rocking chairs in front of the huge, wood-burning fireplace and listening to the popping of the fire while sipping hot chocolate from the lobby beverage bar is just one of the many pleasant memories that I will cherish from this memorable trip. I would highly recommend the Skamania Lodge to anyone who wants to feel special, anytime of the year.

Room Tip: 4th floor, river view room very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendyjane8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkamaniaLodge, General Manager at Skamania Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear wendyjane8,

WOW!!! Thanks for "knocking our socks off" with such a positive post. Our Lodge is designed to replicate the Grand Lodges of the National Park System. The stunning view and large fireplace are staples of the grand lodges throughout America- Skamania included. And, we agree, our 175-acre resort is a perfect oasis to renew your relationship. Lisa and Katie, two of our associates noted above, are great. Each of our more than 300 associates strive daily to make each guest stay enjoyable and fondly remembered for years to come. We hope to welcome you back soon...

Sincerely,
Scott Spann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The beautiful fir woodwork gives it a feeling of a 1950's National Park lodge but it's actually much newer. My room was excellent with an extremely comfortable bed, heating/cooling system that really worked and complete quiet at night. However, there's nothing but a golf course and wooded trails in the immediate vicinity so without a vehicle, I felt a little isolated. Buffet lunches and banquet dinner were excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat_Cariboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We bought a Groupon for a 2 nights stay in a Superior Forest View room for $188, and were excited about heading to this much talked about Lodge for a weekend away. When we called to book our room we were told they no longer had a King room available, so our choice was to pay an additional $30 per night to upgrade to a room with a couch, fireplace (sitting area), or have a room with 2 double beds. We opted for the additional fees. Here are the Pros and Cons of our stay.

Pro -- We were greeted in the foyer by several friendly people ~ Sommelier offering wine samples, the man washing windows, and the lady behind the counter. Check in was effortless, lady behind the counter was extremely friendly and welcoming.

Con -- We arrived at our room -- no couch as promised, no sitting room. A queen size bed, one chair with a fireplace at the foot of the bed.

Pro -- Went back down to the lobby where we were greeted by a manager asking if he could assist us. I explained that we were expecting a sitting area per our reservation phone conversation, and I had paid via the phone the additional fee (after checking my bank account when I got home, they had taken the deposit on my card, but never followed through with the transaction). He said he would be happy to upgrade us for free to a river view room, with the sitting area we had been expecting. He went out of his way to ensure that our visit would be above and beyond our expectations. The room, #323 on the 3rd floor had an amazing view of the river, was extremely clean and beyond our expectations.

Con-- Room #323, has an adjoining door to the next door suite. This may be the reason that the noise level coming from that room was SO LOUD. From loud adult conversation, to shrieking kids the next two evenings, we heard more than we had hoped to from that room.

Pro -- The River Rock restauant had GREAT food, GREAT service and did not disappoint.

Con -- We left our room Saturday morning at 9:15am to spend the day in Hood River and exploring the other cities close by. We returned at 3:45pm to find the maid never came to our room. Disappointed. She did arrive around 4:15 as we were showering and getting ready for the evening to see if we needed anything. Due to the inconvenience we passed up her offer to come in.

Pro -- We enjoyed the outdoor firepit and had the opportunity to meet several of the guests. We loved the sauna, spa, and outdoor hot tub. We enjoyed the wine tasting and the beverages provided -- tea, coffee, hot cocoa, apple cider. We enjoyed the entertainment on Friday night.

Overall, we would recommend visiting the Skamania Lodge and surrounding sights. If it wasn't for the "cons" listed above, we would have given the lodge an excellent rating.

Room Tip: I can't say enough about the River View rooms. When reserving I'd ask for one on the upper f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinbybus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We enjoyed a few days away from Portland at the Lodge. Even though the weather wasn't terrific, it's a nice place to be. Upon arrival, upgraded our room (king with river view) to one that included a couch and a gas fireplace. The couch wasn't too comfortable to sit on as it was a sleeper couch, but definitely manageable and having the fireplace was terrific.

Skamania is set up so that even though they were quite busy, it appeared so quiet! Nice to sit around the fireplace area in the main lodge with coffee/glass of wine to read or visit. We were lucky enough to have the swimming pool and spa to ourselves for a while in the evening! The exercise room is large and well-equipped. The food in the restaurant is wonderful, but spendy. All the staff we encountered were terrific and responsive to all our questions and requests.

Only issue we had was our bed. Wasn't comfortable and we could really feel each other moving around during the night. Wish we had said something after the first night because I have no doubt the hotel staff would have checked it out and made it right. We told them on checkout and they were kind enough to refund our upgrade fee.

Made a short day trip through Stevenson, over to Hood River for lunch, to Cascade Locks, (stopped by the Soderberg Gallery - amazing!! Some of her bronze statues can be found down by the marina - worth checking out!), back over the bridge and stopped at the Columbia Gorge Interpretive Center before heading back to the Lodge. What a lovely, relaxing way to spend the day! Great places to hike, but weather wasn't terrific.

Would definitely recommend this for a quiet get-away.

Room Tip: River view is a must. Gas fireplace is really nice! Given our experience with the king bed, we woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingOreg0nians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkamaniaLodge, General Manager at Skamania Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear TravelingOreg0nians,

WOW!!! You certainly had a busy getaway. Thank you for visiting with us. Skamania Lodge has 66 guestrooms and suites with working gas fireplaces. The glow of fire certainly helps warm a cold winter’s night doesn’t it… Our Cascadian-style lodge is one of the largest in the Pacific Northwest and it’s nice that many of our most sought after amenities are all under one roof. Skamania’s 254-guestroom lodge houses our spa, fitness center, pool, two restaurants, modern conference center and more- which is very much appreciated on one of the many rainy days we can have out this way. Our guests often comment that they run out of time before running out of new and exciting things to do. So, hopefully on your next visit you can stay longer. Be well and thank you again for the feedback.

Sincerely,
Scott Spann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights just before New Years eve 2013.
I have mixed feelings because I've stayed here before in the past and had a better experience.
We upgraded to a better room once we arrived. We got a room with a mini fridge, view, and fireplace. The room was around 250.00 a night (this hotel does have resort fees and taxes that may not have been in your original quote). I was disappointed to see the room wasn't as nice as I thought it would be for that price. The curfew on the pool was too early for a Saturday night 10:00 p.m. When we got back to our room we decided we might hit the bar, so we called the front desk to ask if it was still open, they said yes.
It was about 11:00 p.m. So we went to the bar and they told us they had just closed... and they were rude when we mentioned we just called and were told they were open.
The Sunday buffet was good... spendy. But it's quite a "big" buffet. If you are looking for a place to eat in Stevenson, we really enjoyed Big "T"'s diner. Big portions and good too. It's the blue diner at the east end of Stevenson on the main road. The market in Stevenson is a good place to stop too. Skamania Lodge is located in a beautiful place. The front desk staff were nice and the ambiance around the fire place is enjoyable. We were fortunate enough one night to enjoy wine tasting and piano music. That was very nice.

Room Tip: The view room we upgrade to, was very similar to the forest room. We paid 80.00 a night more for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RalphB11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkamaniaLodge, General Manager at Skamania Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear RalphB11,

We appreciate the information that you shared above. Feedback such as this is critically important for Skamania Lodge. Please know that we have reviewed the information provided and promise to take your recommendations into consideration. Additionally, we promise to share your comments with our associates in an effort to continually improve performance. Our goal each day is simple- perfection. When we fall short of this goal, we hope to learn and improve. We do hope to welcome you, your family and friends back to Skamania Lodge once again. We consider ourselves incredibly fortunate to be awarded the honor of serving you and take this responsibility very serious. Best wishes for a great 2013.

Sincerely,
Scott Spann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I was here for a conference and loved the lodge! The rooms were spacious enough that 3 of us sharing were not tripping over each other all the time. The beds were comfy, the view lovely and the staff was very friendly. We rose early and spent time using the exercise facility, the pool and the jacuzzi. Great way to wake up in the morning. The fireplace downstairs is a great place to hang out by and having tea/coffee readily available for all guests was a lovely touch and very appreciated.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s_ingsK1Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stevenson
17.2 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
17.1 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel
Columbia Gorge Hotel
#5 of 8 in Hood River
793 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
19.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
6 mi away
Carson Hot Springs Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skamania Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skamania Lodge

Address: 1131 Skamania Lodge Dr, Stevenson, WA 98648-6186
Location: United States > Washington > Stevenson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Stevenson
Price Range: $193 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Skamania Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and TripOnline SA so you can book your Skamania Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skamania Hotel Stevenson
Skamania Resort Stevenson
Skamania Lodge Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing