We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanksgiving Delightgs” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skamania Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Skamania Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Stevenson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Philomath, Oregon
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving Delightgs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

With none of our adult children nearby this Thanksgiving, we booked two nights at Skamania Lodge as a holiday escape. The Thanksgiving Day buffet was splendid, far more food than we could eat, but all that we did eat was wonderful. The weather was quite favorable for a November day--clear, partly sunny, and chilly. We were grateful for the exercise room and the swimming pool to work off excess calories before eating--and after eating. The one problem was the non-stop fan in the heating/AC unit. Even when we turned off the heat, a fan continued to run. The problem was solvable only when we pulled the plug.

Room Tip: We would recommend a room with a fireplace on the fourth floor. With a fireplace one can pull the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtFromPhilomath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,056
    603
    329
    110
    53
See reviews for
476
1,011
37
391
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed over Thanksgiving and enjoyed every minute of the experience. We've been here several times and the food is consistently outstanding, amazing really. Buffet offers a selection that is more than humanly possible to consume, and fresh, and delicious. Lounging around the massive fireplace, soaking up the majestic view of the mighty Columbia River Gorge, or toasting S'mores in the firepit...you can't beat this place for peace, beauty and food! Highly recommend. Tip- Relax in the 2nd floor library stocked with books, magazines, and boardgames.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelpdxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

My husband and I returned for our second stay at the Skamania Lodge in November 2012. We had a good experience there 4 years ago, and again this time too! This full-service property is beautiful and the staff was quite friendly and helpful. They've remodeled the main lobby area recently with more modern furniture, etc. I know other reviewers have complained about the remodel and that the seating is not as comfortable, etc. but I felt the lobby area was still just as cozy and welcoming as it was before. It was actually a little crowded the first night when we arrived, but it was a holiday weekend, and it cleared out later in the evening. I like that they have self-serve coffee/tea/cocoa/cider in the lobby all day/evening. Also it was beautifully decorated for Christmas!

One of the things I love most about the Skamania Lodge is that it's very dog friendly. They provide a nice doggie welcome bag of goodies upon arrival, there's a patio door in the dog friendly rooms that goes directly outside (convenient!), and the staff wanted to pet our dog and offered him treats every time they saw him. We were told he could go pretty much anywhere in the lodge except into the restaurants (as long as he was leashed and well-behaved, of course). It was nice to be able to take him into the lobby, gift shop, out on the back lawn, etc. with us.

Our room was quite nice - spacious and very comfortable, with all the amenities we could want. I did find two power outlets that didn't seem to be working on our room, however.

We had the Friday night buffet in the Cascade Room our first night. It was a huge buffet and everything was fresh and delicious. It was a little bit expensive, though. We also had breakfast from room service one morning. The food was good and service was quick. Also, since we opted out of having our room cleaned during our stay, we received a $5 restaurant credit from their "green" program, which was nice.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay, and plan to return in the future!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sazoo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noni H, Director of Rooms at Skamania Lodge, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear sazoo111,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor! It was so good to read you enjoyed you’re time here and got to relax in the Gorge Room with your dog. Our staff absolutely loves animals and it’s always fun to see them interact with our four legged guests.

I’m so sorry that the outlets were not working properly in your guest room, if you get a chance and wouldn’t mind emailing me the room number you were in I can get that corrected right away, nhughes@destinationhotels.com.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to post on Trip Advisor and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Skamania Lodge!

Sincerely,
Noni Hughes
Director of Rooms
Skamania Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Felt like you were in the woods at a very nice lodge. All decorated for Christmas was a nice surprise. Staff was very nice, friendly and attentive. The Thankssgiving buffet was fabulous. Didn't seem crowed until the Friday after Thanksgiving which was nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carterjv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noni H, Director of Rooms at Skamania Lodge, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear carterjv,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor! I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed all the holiday decorations. Our local florist does a fabulous job and the tree couldn’t be better this year! Thank you for spending Thanksgiving with the Skamania family, we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Noni Hughes
Director or Rooms
Skamania Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
236 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We did not stay here, but did stop for an evening bite. We were in awe of the lovely classic lodge design, but were a little dismayed by the lack of seating......the lobby seating area is cramped, and the bar area is small, so presumably if you're staying here, your only other option is to stay in your room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Valley, Idaho
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Skamania Lodge is patterned after the clasic National Park Lodges: fireplace with fire, bit timbered ceiling, leather furniture in the large lounge, view to die for, bar with fireplace and lovely dining room. The best part is that they have dog accomodations with one door entering a lodge hallway and another opening to the great outdoors. Dog gifts include bowl, biscuits and leash as well as dog poop bags. There are hiking trails adjacent to the golf course for early morning romps and late arrivals. The location on the Columbia Gorge offers unlimited adventure and museum exploration plus shopping in nearby towns.

Room Tip: Dog accomodations are limited to one wing but pups can go anywhere food is not served as long as on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan35614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, WA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Second time staying at skamania lodge. Great location. Beautiful hotel if you love the feel of the north west. The Columbia gorge is so unique. My only negative comment would be this. It was my anniversary and the only restaurant was not quite intimate enough for us. It would be nice if they ad one more choice for dinning.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stevenson
17.2 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Hood River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
17.2 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
19.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
17.0 mi away
Westcliff Lodge
Westcliff Lodge
#5 of 8 in Hood River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skamania Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skamania Lodge

Property: Skamania Lodge
Address: 1131 Skamania Lodge Dr, Stevenson, WA 98648-6186
Location: United States > Washington > Stevenson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Stevenson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Skamania Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Skamania Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skamania Hotel Stevenson
Skamania Resort Stevenson
Skamania Lodge Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing