We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay- No complaints here”
Review of Skamania Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Skamania Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Stevenson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Our company had a User's Conference here with about 30 or so customers and prospects. The location is stunning and the lodge was beautiful. The rooms were nice, the food was good, the outdoor spa was sooo relaxing. I really can't complain since I spent 1.5 days there instead of at work and had it all paid for! However, I would have to say that the lodge is pretty expensive.

The lobby has a huge fireplace as you walk in... it gives the whole place a really rustic feel. There is a good sized bonfire pit at the lodge so make sure to bring your own supplies for s'mores or else you'll have to buy them for $7 in the lobby ( I kid you not). The indoor pool is actually pretty big for an indoor-hotel pool.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey_Lea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,457)
There are newer reviews for Skamania Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,103 - 2,109 of 2,457 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

We went for a romantic getaway and found ourselves surrounded by a full house of business conference attendees. This translated into packed public areas both inside and out, a VERY noisy restaurant, and noisy wall and ceiling mates. We could not sleep with the window open because the outside areas were party down time until quite late. The wi-fi was totally over loaded so my husband had trouble doing the little work he needed to do to "check in". So before booking, ask if there will be a conference simultaneously as the entire staff seemed overwhelmed and not up to the great reviews I'd read.

Positive aspects: beautiful grounds, walking distance to town and the Columbia Gorge Interpretive Center (Well worth a trip), good wait staff (though they too seemed overwhelmed by volume of guests), delicious berry cobbler and breakfast.

Room Tip: Request a room far from the outside fire pit if you like solitude or to have your window open.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SistersTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband had a two day conference here for work purposes. I came along as we decided to make a mini-vacation of the trip to the west side of the state.

The lodge is beautiful and in a gorgeous location. We loved the huge fireplace in the lobby. There are hiking trails, tennis courts, golf and a great spa area. I had a massage from Cathy and she was excellent.

I found the staff to be helpful and friendly. Although it was late afternoon before the room was cleaned on both days but not really too big of a deal. What was disappointing however was the noise from the room above us on the second floor. It was terrible. The last night we were there the guests decided to have a party in their room. I thought they were going to come right through the ceiling. My husband called the front desk and they were very prompt in breaking up the "gathering" above us.

While our room was clean and comfortable (except for noise), I definitely would not stay here again unless we were on the top floor.

Room Tip: Definitely a top floor room
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nan_Sea777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was our fourth time and every time there have been issues of one sort or another. This time I booked a room for 3 adults and when checking into the room found a single king bed. When going to the front desk they said I should not have booked on line. I said, what?

Both nights we only had wash clothes and night sweets for two people despite the fact there was a rollaway in the room.

The dining room food and staff were excellent, however, I will not go back when you pay between 200 to 300 a night and have one of your guests sleeping in a rollaway.

Several years ago my company was considering using this facility for their annual meeting. I booked a weekend on my own to check it out. After experiencing first hand what our guests would experience we did not book at this place.

After several years I booked this weekend to see if anything had changed. It did, only for the worse. I would never be able to book a company event here.

With such a great location it is too bad that customer service is at the level it is.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noni H, Director of Rooms at Skamania Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Kathysmom,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience on Trip Advisor. I think it goes without saying that I was extremely disappointed to read that you have had not just one but several poor visits to Skamania. Please accept my sincerest apology for the not delivering the very best. I have already spoken with the front office staff regarding your stay and explained the importance of finding solutions that satisfy our guests and the impact of not doing just that, as you outlined in your comment. I completely understand your frustration and sympathize for the lack of comfort you experienced on the rollaway bed. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at nhughes@destinationhotels.com with any further comments. I truly appreciate you sharing your experience so that we can address our service opportunities and better serve our guests.

Sincerely,

Noni Hughes
Director of Rooms
Skamania Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I was fascinated by the Lodge from the moment I stepped in. It's definetely old style, it's exactly what you would exptect it to be. Functional but old time. Gives a strong sense of coziness, with big fireplaces, big windows, nice, heavy armchairs. The meeting rooms are spacious, actually it is a place that can host a huge number of people and events, leaving enough space for everybody. The experience of dining outside and then sitting around the fire was certainly worthwhile.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceciliaParma_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Having a room that overlooks Columbia river always helps, the room however...average. We asked for a complimentary upgrade and we ended up getting a room that had no fan in the bathroom. The walls are probably very thin since we could hear the other guests upstair, downstair, left and right. The room seemed to be clean but I cannot shake off that "Motel 6" feeling.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adriana r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Everything about Skamania Lodge is wonderful. While the price is not cheap, it is well worth it as it is luxurious lodge in a beautiful setting. The rooms are very nice and well equipped, but also homey while maintaining a lodge feel. The facilities are excellent and the views spectacular. And just when you think it can not get any better, the food at their restaurants is fantastic.
The staff also help make for a wonderful experience as they are all friendly, helpful and seem genuinely happy to be there.
This was a combo business and pleasure trip and the Skamania was perfect for both. You also can't go wrong visiting the Columbia River Gorge in Orgeon and Washington as it is a beautiful area with many things to do.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jginbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stevenson
17.2 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
17.1 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
770 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
19.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
19.2 mi away
Hood River Hotel
Hood River Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hood River
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skamania Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skamania Lodge

Address: 1131 Skamania Lodge Dr, Stevenson, WA 98648-6186
Location: United States > Washington > Stevenson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Stevenson
Price Range: $230 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Skamania Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Skamania Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skamania Hotel Stevenson
Skamania Resort Stevenson
Skamania Lodge Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing