We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mighty Columbia”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stevenson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Columbia Gorge Riverside Lodge
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Stevenson
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed at the Columbia Gorge Riverside Lodge a few times when we lived in Vancouver, WA. We loved it. The views from the decks of the Columbia River Gorge are stunning. The lodge is close to many outdoor activities - hiking, biking, sitting... We loved the kitchenette so that we could make tea/coffee when we wished to. Staff is great. A number of places to eat within close proximity. Sure, the trains add some ambiance, but it was amazing how quickly they became just part of the background - much like the tugboats pushing grain along the river.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 79 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

I was attending a wedding at nearby fancy Skamania Lodge, but wanted to stay in a smaller, river front hotel and this was an outstanding choice. I was in a 3-unit log cabin for two nights, with my Dad in the adjacent room. We both agreed everything was so clean, thoughtfully appointed. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the view of the river and the windsurfers was a highlight of our stay. The gardens, tended to by the owner, were beautiful. It was fun to walk just a few blocks into town and explore. We really could not have enjoyed our stay more and highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the river view units. If you are near the river part of the property, the trains are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eileeninoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

we enjoyed our stay in the log cabins. They were well outfitted for on the spot cooking and the cabin was clean. You are very close to the Columbia river and the greenery and gardens are beautiful. Along with this greenery comes rain so be prepared if you have outdoor plans. With proper attire, you can still enjoy the many hikes etc. in the area given what ever weather you are given. There are hot tubs on the deck with a view of the river. As others have stated, there is a train that comes by often. Since this is a railroad crossing, the train must sound it's horn. So, the supplied ear plugs are a must. I also used Tylenol PM to take the "edge" off and slept fine. My husband is a light sleeper and had a lot of problems sleeping with the adrenaline burst caused by the train horn. The owner Angus is friendly and helpful. The information in the rooms help for suggestion in and around the town. The price was good.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank woodfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed in one of the upper units with the indoor jacuzzi, which was awesome. Nice kitchen, comfy bed, beautiful view of the river. The two nights we stayed, however, there were multiple trains in the middle of the night; every 20 minutes or so from 2-4 am. If you are a light sleeper or have any trouble getting back to sleep, this place will not work for you. The earplugs help a bit, but the train crossing is less than 100 feet from your ears, so be prepared to hear something even with earplugs. That said, I thought it was a cool place, and the owners are really nice.

There are really lovely hikes in the vicinity and if you are a windsurfer, there is an adjacent park where people put in. Note: I like Walkingman beer, but the inside of the restaurant on a hot day smelled like a beer soaked locker room, so if you can't sit outside, I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandypdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Terrific value, wonderful view, very relaxing. Saw rainbows over the river from our hot tub on the covered porch! Bathrooms are miniscule but functional. Owners are upfront about train noise, but it didn't bother us, and ear plugs are on the night stand. Excellent info about local businesses provided in the rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmary86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

This lodge is an outstanding location, very clean and a great value for this area. We have stayed here multiple times and use it as a quick getaway from Portland, Oregon. Walkingman Brewery right across the tracks, Big River Grill and Joe's up on main St, the best hiking on the West coast, kayaking, windsurfing and kiteboarding out your front door, golf nearby...

The trains are very cool. The lodge is very much above board in letting guests know about the train noise.

Angus the owner is a terrific guy.

Room Tip: We have stayed in three different rooms and they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ding77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We find this place perfect for a weekend of beautiful hikes along the gorge. We go on a strenuous hike, then relax in the outdoor hot tub and watch the windsurfers, then walk a few blocks into Stevenson to sample the local restaurants for dinner. The rooms are cute and compact and the price is very reasonable. The little kitchen is great for making breakfast and a lunch to go.
Yes, you have to be tolerant of trains and not expect amenities like TV . You don't need it - just sit on the deck in the evening and watch the river. Enjoy the calm and quiet (between trains, of course!).
Stevenson provides free wi-fi but it is pretty slow.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CathyFromMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stevenson
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
16.0 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
15.9 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
18.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
1.2 mi away
Skamania Lodge
Skamania Lodge
#1 of 4 in Stevenson
2,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia Gorge Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Gorge Riverside Lodge

Address: 381, Stevenson, WA 98648
Location: United States > Washington > Stevenson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Stevenson
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Columbia Gorge Riverside Hotel Stevenson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing