We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get it together WM!”

Walking Man Brewing
Ranked #3 of 29 Restaurants in Stevenson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Pizza, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating
Description: Walking Man Brewing has been crafting award winning beer and delicious pub fare since 2000. Our 17-barrel system produces 1200 barrels per year, most of which is consumed here at our brewpub in Stevenson, Washington. We invite you to experience our outdoor beer garden on sunny days or cozy up inside the brewpub for a bite and a pint.
Husum
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Get it together WM!”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have been going to Walking Man for the past 3 years we have lived in the Gorge and in the beginning we loved it.

All I can say is they have gone down hill in a major way!!!! I was a server for 10 years and they do just about everything in the book wrong at Walking Man. The last 3 times we have been to the brewery (we keep thinking it will get better, not anymore!) we have been completely ignored or forgotten about. The last time we were not given menu's or acknowledged for at least 10 minutes with at least 2 servers walking by and helping all the tables around us. It is ridiculous, they recognize our faces, the servers do not care about the business or the customers so we got up and left. We will not spend our money on terrible service, sub par food and great beer (they were "out" of 2 regular beers, I would assume they just didn't want to change the keg at the end of the evening!).

We have had enough and the servers are the same as they were years ago for the most part. Time to clean house Walking Man if you want local repeat business!!! I also overheard neighboring tables asking if their pizza had been forgotten, don't add tables to your restaurant if your kitchen can't handle it, bad business!

So to sum it up, Walking Man doesn't care about their customers and as local people who have access to many of the tourist who come through the area asking where is a great place to eat, it WON'T be Walking Man anymore!! Go to Everybody's, the have GREAT service! I will pass my experience along to all of my friends in the Gorge, your great beer won't give you a good reputation in the end!!

YOUR SERVICE SUCKS!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    69
    16
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kobe, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best Beer for Miles”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

For those of us in the area, Walking Man is paradise for beer lovers. The food menu is limited and cuisine acceptable, but we don't go there for the food. So it's surprising to see WM rated as a pizzeria or some other type of eatery. It's about award winning craft brews that are made in small quantities and not sold widely in the Portland/Vancouver area. It's wise to avoid holidays and long weekends as the staff can be stretched by a crowd. If you want service+food and just acceptable microbrew, head for Hood River or Portland to corporate size craft breweries. But with a great beer in hand, why quibble about how long the fries or other finger foods take to appear from their miniature kitchen.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chuck K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, VA
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This brewery has won awards for virtually every one of its brews, and the Stevenson brewpub is a great place to eat. Two meals here, we sampled several options. Simple options, prepared very well. Recommended!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank DC-Foodee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Huge samplers and interesting food”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We were in the area to visit family and wanted to take my husband here since he brews his own beer and can never get enough of a good IPA - plus, you cannot get your hands on this in Texas. He ordered the tasters tray which had the largest per serving tasters we've ever seen. He hard time deciding between the brown and homoerectus as his favorites, but I can say that we did leave with a growler of each and return on 2 occassions over our days in the gorge to refill them. The food is not typical bar type so there are many interesting options to try while sampling the beer. We were lucky to have a beautiful day so we sat on the nice patio area outside. It is a little odd being so close to the train tracks when a train goes flying by, but given the towns proximity to the river, pretty much everything is near the tracks.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank texas_Tmitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalama Washington
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Horrible Service”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We went here on a recomendation, but when we arrived it was a very hot day and everyone was sitting outside, the inside was very, very small not much seeting. We found a small table inside across from the bar and sat down. Several workers passed us multiple times and the bartender was accross from us. We sat there for about 5 minutes no big deal it was busy and we are patient people. Several tables left as we were waiting and then several more from the bar left and we waited a little longer now about 10 minutes and not one worker who have now passed us multiple times ever even ecknowledged us. We sat for a few more minutes and decided enough was enough they oviously didn't want our business and left. We went to Big River Grill and had excellent service and fook.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank dtthomps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walking Man Brewing also viewed

 

Been to Walking Man Brewing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing