We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Safe Location, Free Amenities, Good Value...but Noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Stevenson
Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Safe Location, Free Amenities, Good Value...but Noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is a budget hotel and so I expect to get what I pay for. When I'm traveling alone, I can get by with cold cereal and OJ for breakfast and little or no decor in the room. And actually, I appreciate having a refrigerator and microwave
in the room, which many upscale hotels don't have. Throw in free wifi, which this little motel also does, and now we're talking!
The downside: due to its proximity to the highway, it was very noisy early in the morning. The room was small and I wouldn't want to spend a lot of time in it. But for a late night stopover, considering the amenities and price, it was a good deal and in an attractive, safe location.

Room Tip: Get a room as far away from the highway as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoonshineOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKPatelVancouverWA, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such thorough and revealing feedback. We do apologize for the noise that you encountered during your stay. We appreciate that you have taken the time to give tips for future guests who can benefit from such advice. We want you to know that your feedback and description of your experience at our hotel is of utmost importance to us. We hope that everything turned out all right and we are looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    21
    15
    10
See reviews for
14
20
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Federal Way, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Rodeway Inn Stevenson, Wa is a simple, no frills motel. It is an EXTRAORDINARY clean room. Amenities include a microwave and a small refrigerator, once again very clean. The owner greeted me with a wonderful smile and noticed I was walking with a limp (I have rheumatoid arthritis in my hip) and was most concerned that the only room left was up a flight of 5 stairs. "will this be good with you, will you be able to go up the stair? I will help you". Now that is true concern for your guests. Once again, for $44/night this motel is not luxury, simple down home clean, friendly and with owners that are just about the kindest I've seen.

Room Tip: All rooms are great as I have stayed here several times. There is a train that passes by several ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank redone5288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKPatelVancouverWA, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
It is great to hear from you and I am so glad that you enjoyed our staff courtesy and have taken the time to recognize the hospitality and care that we aim to provide for each and every guest. It means a lot to hear from guests who are satisfied with all of our services and amenities. It is very rewarding to hear your perspective of our hotel and we appreciate that you have acknowledged our efforts to provide a clean, comfortable, and hospitable experience. Hearing about how our efforts to give you a pleasant and accommodating experience have been successful is very rewarding for every member of our staff and management team. We look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

this motel conveniently located right at the entrance of the town, if you drive towards Portland. There is a grocery store within 5 min to walk with an info center on the way, same right side of the sidewalk.
There is a Big T’s Diner almost across the motel with a very friendly staff, gigantic portions of good meal. I had breakfast there.

The big BUT to stay in this motel is a train, running day and night 2 streets away. Ear plugs will help though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k0za
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, WI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

This was a desperation booking from the road. Had a magazine for the area that had an ad for the Rodeway Inn. We figured it couldn't be too bad since it was a Choice Hotel. Not true!!
I always check Trip Advisor before booking a hotel. We did not have a chance to check since we were driving from Mount St. Helens area. The night manager was nice, but it took him a while to find the reservation we made on the phone, When we got to the room, there were outside "porch" type lights that had attracted every bug from the river area you could imagine. I was trying to open, throw things into the room and quickly shut the door with each load from the car. I was not successful in keeping them out. Mostly gnats, but some unidentified bugs also got in. We did NOT find bed bugs, so that was a relief. Once we got done loading in, I tried to take advantage of the FREE WI-FI that was on a big banner on the front of the "inn". It didn't work. BIG Surprise!! I was too tired to call to complain. When I went to check out, I told the guy at the desk ( who looked like he just rolled out of bed ) about the issue. As others have mentioned, there was a language barrier. He looked at me like I was speaking gibberish. It took me three tries to get him to understand, He said "oh". No apologies. Will not EVER stay here again. I could deal with the room issues if, at least, the desk staff were more accommodating. My Dad said the breakfast was just OK and the coffee in the room for the coffee maker was awful.

Room Tip: Don't know if there is a good room. We had 115 and the biggest issue was the bugs outside the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Swingsongbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Need I say more? I work out of town every week, for the last 6 years. And I have NEVER had a bed bug problem until I stayed at the rodeway inn in Stevenson. I will be making efforts to get this dive taken off our corporate lodging list. If it looks bad-------it is bad

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travisbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre, Montana
Level Contributor
146 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed at Rodeway Inn because it was getting late in the day and not much else for lodging going east up the river. The Manager was of forien decent and had a lanugage barrier problem so it seemed. No special discounts of any kind flat rate of 65.00 plus tax for 2- people. The room was ok could have been a little cleaner, it had sugar ants that I noticed down by one of the night stands by the door. Room was a kitchen-ette that was well used. Airconditioner/heater made a loud noise while running. There was a stale oder in the room, which helped when you opened windows..Breakfast was not much , cereal and white toast,limited fruit. Manager was not helpful on recommending local restraunts to dine at, asked about popular eatery called the CXXX bar /grill and just got a blank look. Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't know if there is a better room or not?? from what I saw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasA79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
279 reviews
277 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

this motel has problems as others have noted. the walls are VERY thin, which can be a nuisance when you hear the neighbor's tv and conversations. i had a rather isolated room in the back ,so i was not facing the highway or railroad, which could also be noisy.
the room had a microwave, fridge, tv with 20 channels. it was superficially clean but desparately needed a deep cleaning and painting. the porch outside had peeling paint and was filthy. hot water pressure was very low. only received one shampoo packet for a 3 night stay.
problem is, there aren't any nearby budget motels unless you cross the river and stay in cascade locks, oregon.
there is a computer in the lobby for public use and breakfast was decent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whomever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stevenson
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
18.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
15.8 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
15.7 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Hood River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
16.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 40 NE Second St, Stevenson, WA 98648-6354 (Formerly Econo Lodge )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Stevenson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Stevenson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Stevenson
Stevenson Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing