We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stehekin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
North Cascades Lodge at Stehekin
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We spent 2 nights in a room that had a large balcony overlooking the lake.
Housekeeping was non-existent except that they did remove a beer bottle.
Fuzz, hair and stuff on the carpet that had been "missed" for a long time. Cobwebs in the windows, as well. This was new management and the lady in charge of housekeeping gave me her disclaimer about not servicing rooms.
The clock was broken and stuck on 4 AM but they never saw that until I left it on the floor with a note. They did take the bottle and in the afternoon, brought a new clock. That's it for room service. We thought the food was good for being so remote. We also took the bus on the first night to the Lodge. That was a great feed! Packed with people eating family style at huge tables. Lots of food and a bus ride back by the owner. That's entirely worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hikermum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    38
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
43
54
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Spent 3 nights Sept 2012. Unfortunately, Wenatchee was burning down! Our first day was clear but then the winds shifted for days 2 and 3. Great location right off the ferry. Access to bike rentals and plenty of hiking opportunities. Only one MAJOR problem- they did NOT make up our room either day! I went down to the desk the second evening just to get some coffee packets for next mornings breakfast. The third day I had to say something as we had no fresh towels and again no coffee! It was after Labor Day, so maybe everyone kicks back a bit. Still, just a tad too much avoidance of customer service for a lodge.
The food was ok considering you are in a beautiful location, where there is NO cell service! Awesome! Other than the lack of any housekeeping efforts, it was nice considering the first fires were sending smoke north towards Stehekin.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfield county
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The room had a spectacular view and we enjoyed sitting on our front deck with wine and beer purchased from the limited selection offered at the small store. The linens on the bed were upscale and inviting. The room is a bit stuffy as only the door to the deck opens, and not the big picture windows, and the room faces the sun. Might be oppressive in the height of the summer. A small sliding window in bathroom also opens but hardly enough to help. The rug needed cleaning but the room was spacious and paneled with light wood, had beamed ceiling and the overall effect was quite pleasant.

Room Tip: No pool or fitness center, can't clear the rating once touched on my iPad! The one cabin with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank e j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Not to be missed, this tiny village takes you back in time. We flew in by sea plane which was well worth the money, $89. Our accomodations were very comfortable and very clean and the food at the restaurant is reasonably priced. A perfect place to relax. We fished in the tiny creeks, saw bears feasting in the apple orchard and had the best time. We returned to Chelan by ferry.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claygourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Nice place. Room clean and comfy. Kitchen. We enjoy the ferry ride and we bring our own bikes and food. Restaurant is good but we prefer to cook our own food. Plenty of trails, hiking. Rainbow Falls are beautiful. Buckner Orchard should not be missed. Stehekin River and Lake Chelan should be explored. No TV, no phone, no traffic. A truly remote location that takes you to a simpler way of life. We are inspired and will be going back.

Room Tip: Rooms that have the kitchen and deck, facing the lake. Perfect !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
110 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

I had room 7. The description on the lodge web site did not do it justice. It was more like a little house than a room. It was a lovely big space with a separate bedroom and a loft bedroom. It had huge windows, great views - lake at the front, forest at the back, front and back doors - both with outside space.

The beds were new and great. The kitchen area looked new and was well stocked with pots, dishes etc. The stove looked a little older but it was fine. The only wrong note was the sofa - old and beat-up. A local told us that the sofas will be replaced soon.

I knew from reviews that the restaurant was very good. My husband had not read the reviews and very surprised at the quality of the food.

The location is unbeatable. It is on lake where we disembarked from the seaplane.

There is a rec house but we were not told about it when we checked it. The young people working registration did not seem very knowledgeable about the lodge.

Overall the lodge was very good and Stehekin was fabulous. We were sorry to leave and want to go back.

Room Tip: Loved room 7 - very big, with kitchen area, separate bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KerryBorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, NC
Level Contributor
291 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We booked two nights at the Lodge and it was one night too many. We have stayed in many National Park Lodges and this was not anywhere at the top of the list. We stayed in room number 10 which was rustic, as expected, but was dreary, not too clean, and poorly maintained. (The bathroom had a really nasty smell.) It did have a nice deck with a lake view that was beautiful. We enjoyed the food and service in the restaurant, in spite of the fact that they had a real problem processing credit cards for payment. We grew tired of the place quickly, but once you are there, you are pretty much stuck. We recommend booking one night and trying to extend if you want to stay longer. We were unable to get our stay shortened and our money back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCLoggerheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stehekin
24.7 mi away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
24.5 mi away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
23.8 mi away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
24.7 mi away
AbbyCreek Inn
AbbyCreek Inn
#6 of 8 in Winthrop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
21.8 mi away
Sun Mountain Lodge
Sun Mountain Lodge
#4 of 8 in Winthrop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Cascades Lodge at Stehekin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Cascades Lodge at Stehekin

Property: North Cascades Lodge at Stehekin
Address: P.O. Box 457, Stehekin, WA
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Stehekin
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Stehekin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This amazing Lodge overlooks pristine Lake Chelan in the North Cascades National Park in Washington state. Here, our first priority is to assist our guests in completely disconnecting and enjoy the beauty of the nature that surrounds. There are no telephones in your guestrooms, there is no internet access, and the only way to travel here is by water ferry, seaplane or by hike. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing