We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Innovative menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Picabu Bistro

Picabu Bistro
Ranked #33 of 849 Restaurants in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
352 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Innovative menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Picabu Neighborhood Bistro is definitely a neighborhood type of restaurant, in a strip mall in a very nice neighborhood in Spokane. We were traveling through the city and had read recommendations about this small restaurant. The food was well prepared. We had the chicken and corn potstickers and the Rueben sandwich. The pot stickers were very good, soft and not rubbery, therefore fresh. The Rueben sandwich was on a roll that had the toughness of ends being used, did not have enough meat and was not toasted crisp. This might be the way they like their Rueben but does not fit the Rueben style of sandwich and should not be called that. It was good tasting but did not taste up to the Rueben name. Service was very good and the atmosphere was modern and inviting.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    35
    10
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Davenport
1 review
“Lee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

One of my favorite places for out of town guests for a nice inexpensive meal. Can be busy but usually don't have to wait very long

Helpful?
Thank N8866Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
695 reviews
324 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch or dinner and not a chain restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We came here only because of the "Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives" show with Guy Fieri. It was located next to Rosaurs grocery store. The restaurant location isn't the best, with very little natural lighting. The lunch cost was on the high end: one appetizer (angry shrimp), cactus burger, and the chicken corn cilantro potstickers. With tip and tax: $40+

With that said, we thought the food was very unique and delicious. The cactus burger was plenty big, came with clam chowder that was very good (full of clams). Just the right spicy sauce and nice angus beef burger.

Pot stickers were on the savory side. Didn't taste too much of the cilantro. Dipped in the soy sauce made up for the savory taste. Probably should eat this before the cactus burger. Good to see a neighborhood bistro make national recognition.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brown_Samantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Had to try it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We chose to eat here because we saw it on "Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives." The menu is limited but everything we had was delicious. The restaurant is small and cute, staff was friendly.
We started with the Southwest calamari. It was good but nothing special. I would probably skip it next time and try something else.
Then we had the fire pasta and marinated philly steak wrap. Both were yummy but the steak wrap was super yummy. Me and my husband ended up splitting our orders so I could have some of his wrap. The beef was some of the most tender I've ever had.
Unfortunately, we probably won't be back in Spokane for awhile but if we ever are we will eat here again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CSquared31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Picabu - I see you...sorry about the cliche”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I was there when they opened and have been a regular...then I left the area and it was hard to find my way back to them...recently I started trying to make my way back to them, only to find my available nights did not mesh with theirs. A good friend of mine and I wanted to have a quiet evening with good food and nice wine...OH WE WERE WRONG...How about excellent food and fantabulous wines? (I thank spell check that it now recognizes fantabulous as a word). We started with the Angry Prawns...which incidentally made us very happy...a sassy blend of creamy hot poured over the large prawns, with some toast points to sop up the left over sauce. My dinning partner had the Smashed Rueben, one of the original items on their menu. Personally I think it THE BEST REUBEN available in Spokane, and which I recommended to her. The good news she is still my closest friend. I have been absent from their tables for so long I had to have another 'almost' original menu item the Desert Lime Chicken. Ah, the memories...and just a little bit better than I remember. Next time I am there, I promise to try something new...but this time it was about old times, memories of old friends and introducing new friends to a out of the way artisan restaurant. A neighborhood secret that needs to be the go to place for a few more people. Did I mention the original art that they display. All local artists!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MajikWolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Picabu Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing