We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun and Delicious!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knight's Diner

Knight's Diner
Ranked #173 of 878 Restaurants in Spokane
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Waitstaff
Castlegar
2 reviews
“Fun and Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had breakfast at this sparkling-clean, picturesque, friendly diner, which I do believe is an authentic railroad car. Food was piping hot and delicious; service was quick and very friendly. Because it's all stools along a counter, you can watch your food being cooked! (but I'm not sure how well this set-up would work for babies or toddlers). Vicki, the owner, is awesome. We'll definitely return next time we visit Spokane.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Authentic diner!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Staff were very talkative and entertaining as well as good servers. Ordered the mini breakfast and an omelette. The dollar sized pancakes were very thin. Photos were encouraged. It was nice to see a real diner still in operation.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cariboocarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, uncomfortable seating, so-so prices.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

My fiance and I went during lunch time. The stools are right up to the counter, so close that a larger person would not have been able to sit there. And, although I have short legs, my knees were pressed to the partition beneath the counter. The owner and staff were quite friendly and it was amusing to listen to their banter amongst themselves.

The food was very good and the prices weren't terrible. But for the portions I thought they could be a bit better. The one thing that did shock me was the price of a shake $6.20 I found quite high, especially since it was a rather average size.

The ambiance is absolutely charming! The diner is in an old rail car. They've replaced the high small windows with stained glass and it has converted gas lights. The whole place takes one back in time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best breakfast ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is my first visit to knights, and I must say if you are in spokane you should not leave without visiting this place. The place is usually crowded... (for obvious reasons) but vicki and her crew do an amazing job..... highly recommended

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vidur_itm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food in a fantastic setting.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

The hashbrowns with gravy are particularly delicious. It can get a bit crowded but, to me, thats part of the experience. This place is a local favorite. Try their homemade sweet mustard on a german sausage or anything with huckleberries.

Helpful?
Thank GeorgeWood44
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Knight's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Knight's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing