We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hometown Chowdown”

Swinging Doors Tavern
Ranked #190 of 887 Restaurants in Spokane
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Spokane,Washington
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hometown Chowdown”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

If you are hungry, and in Spokane Washington, this is the place to eat! Yes, it is a tavern. The breakfast is served all day, the portions are generous. The drinks are done well, and the atmosphere is friendly. Lots of TV's for the sports. I took my grandmother there for the Fish and Chips for lunch. So good! Such a great memory! Never had a bad meal

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sonshinegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    18
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere good food”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

This is my favorite place to eat. The food is always well prepared and service is efficient. Whether you go alone or with friends there's always something of interest to see. They have added new menu items that are delicious. I eat there often.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank smokilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Much improved in two years”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

My husband and I help two women who are roommates with special projects such as heavy lifting, etc. To thank us, our friends invited us to dinner at Swinging Doors. After the dining fiasco in May 2012, we almost didn’t accept their thank you gift. The first time we actually ate an entre at Swinging Doors was summer 2013 and the food was good, not great. Thankfully, the horrid smell was gone and they had adequate number of wait staff.
The next time, the same two ladies invited us for a benefit for a mental health organization. The timing was approximately St. Patty’s Day 2014. The Shadle High School bagpipers and dancers played. It was a blast! The Irish stew was delicious and homemade. My husband loved his corned beef Reuben.
Usually, when I amend a review, it’s because a restaurant has gone downhill. Thankfully, the Swinging Doors is much improved!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington, United States
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A consistently great sports bar.”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Even though prices have gone up noticeably, this is still the 'go to' place for plenty of tasty food with tons of sports action. Come here during 'off' hours when there are no big games or during peak dinner time to get super-fast service. But if crazy, loud, fun crowds are your thing while watching the Seahawks, Zags or Cougs then this would also be the place to be, just don't expect the quickest service ever. My favorite here is the meatloaf sandwich with hot sourdough and pepperjack cheese...yummy!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Solid bar and grill Sportsbar”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Great bloody Mary's and Breakfast. Nice sports bar if your into that but we usually just go for the food. Large portions and really good Fried Chicken and Chicken Fried Steak. They also offer a Free Steak Dinner on your birthday which is pretty excellent.

Helpful?
Thank TravisRomine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swinging Doors Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Swinging Doors Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing