We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent steaks, but pricey”

Spencer's for Steaks and Chops
Reserve with OpenTable
Spencer's for Steaks and Chops is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 912 Restaurants in Spokane
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Divison
Description: Greeted with dark mahogany paneling and crisp linens Spencer's has the easy going but elegant ambience of a private club with deep, comfortable booths lining the walls and soft lighting emanating from low-hung fixtures over the tables. Aged, hand-cut, and seared to perfection. Spencer's for Steaks and Chops of Spokane is the ultimate steakhouse restaurant. Spencer's uses the highest quality USDA Prime, locally sourced, aged 21 to 28 days, beef. Meats are prepared in a 1600 degree infrared broiler, ensuring juiciness, tenderness, and flavor. We also offer fresh seafood, including Parmesan crusted halibut, sashimi grade Ahi tuna, and cold-water Lobster tail. Our famous chops and innovative side dishes are prepared with an undeniably creative flair. Friendly conversation, handcrafted martinis, and fine wines are featured in our dining room and our full service lounge. Celebrate life with the perfect meal, prepared and served in style.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The food was great. However, don't get there too late. We felt decidedly rushed to finish -- not good at these prices.

Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carri D, Manager at Spencer's for Steaks and Chops, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Thank you so much for coming in. We are very glad you did, no matter what the time. I greatly appreciate you letting me know that you felt rushed. This is not a feeling I would ever want a guest of Spencer's to experience. I will be addressing this issue. We do hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 176 of 208 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

Steaks are the best in town and the location is great. Free valet parking for customers. Make reservations

Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carri D, Manager at Spencer's for Steaks and Chops, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are vey happy you came in. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This was our first trip to Spokane and we are glad we picked Spencer's. First we walked along the river and in the park which was beautiful. Spencer's is located in the Doubletree Hotel and parking is next door in the convention center garage. Be sure and have your parking ticket validated for free parking. It was a quiet Monday evening in the restaurant. We were meeting an old friend for dinner and our waitress was attentive but allowed us all the visiting time we needed. Two of us had the Spencer steak which I highly recommend with the peppercorn sauce. My husband had the elk chop which was also excellent. Even their bread pudding was very good and the portion was large enough for all 3 of us to share. It was a very enjoyable evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank FreedomBus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

We are so glad you came to Spokane and to Spencer's. It was certainly our pleasure having you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This isn't the best steakhouse in town, but it's decent. Good quality meat. Some of the side dishes are overdone and/or pedestrian. Not very inventive. Like most steakhouses, you have to purchase any side dish that you want. And they're huge, so plan on sharing. In a hotel along the Spokane River, so nice atmosphere and great location to take a nice walk after a big meal.

Thank Marianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carri D, Manager at Spencer's for Steaks and Chops, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Thank you for sharing your opinion. It was a pleasure to have you in for dinner. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Spencer's has great steaks. My only complaint was the booth full of very loud drunk women out celebrating together. The one gal had a very loud laugh and disrupted the entire dinning room. I could tell one of them was a regular customer by the way she interacted with the server. Even though they were obviously drunk when they got there he kept serving them and they got louder. I thought they should have been invited to sit in the bar or go to Applebees where noise in the norm.

Thank glennmccully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carri D, Manager at Spencer's for Steaks and Chops, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

We are very happy you came in and enjoyed a magnificent steak. We do hope to see you again in the future, hopefully on a more serene evening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spencer's for Steaks and Chops also viewed

 

Been to Spencer's for Steaks and Chops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing