We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very nice spot for quiet dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Downriver Grill

Downriver Grill
Ranked #43 of 855 Restaurants in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Local. Seasonal. Fresh. Located in the cherished Audubon neighborhood, we serve Modern American cuisine at it's best in Spokane, Washington.
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice spot for quiet dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Excellent service, nice size entrees, great specials, yummy desserts. Food is beautiful and delicious!
We decided to try this spot Friday after work. What a nice surprise.
Reasonable prices...

We will come back often.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Peri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    35
    12
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
104 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“YUH-UUUUUM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

You like salmon? Don't visit Spokane without trying it here! Oh my gosh! Great food all the way around, salads, breads, steak, seafood, desserts. Out of the way if you don't live in that part of town, but WELL WORTH the DRIVE.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Kari R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheney, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good Food with Average Service. The Bill was Big.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We had the chipotle burger and a French dip sandwich, both with crisscross fries on the side. Delicious food on both counts. Chocolate cake with ice cream for dessert was the perfect end to a tasty lunch.

The bill was over 35 bucks before tip and with only water for drinks. This joint isn't cheap. That being said, we will visit again since the fare was a cut above typical lunch counter grub.

Muzak ambience left a bit to be desired. Sarah McLaughlin was moaning the theme song for HSÛS, hence visions of abused pets were foisted into our Mind's eye.

Service was acceptable, even though at 3:30 pm during the week I would have thought the 8 employees on site could have been a bit more attentive. Besides the two of us there were never more than 3 or 4 other patrons in the place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlS455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mainlinegirl610
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A ver pleasant meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Went there for dinner with some friends while visiting Spokane. We had made reservations and were seated promptly. We had a very friendly server (I believe her name was Jamie) who was attentive without being hovering and who was very helpful with suggestions. She was great. The food was outstanding. We started with some Gorgonzola Fries which were wonderfully decadent. One friend had the salmon which she said might have been the best salmon she ever had. Another had delicious Mac and cheese that she loved. I tasted a bite of both and agreed with their assessment. The third friend had chicken quesadilla with black beans that were very good. I had a wonderful salad with grilled chicken, tomatoes and mozzarella. Yum. I am pleased to be able to highly recommend this place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mainlinegirl610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
175 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Awesome Food / Service Average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Downriver Grill has some of the best cuisine in Spokane. The food is to die for which sort of makes up for the service. We go in there three to four times a year and I cant really describe the service other than just adequate. If it wasn't for the food being spectacular good we would not go because it borders a on irritatingly slow.

Order off their ever changing fresh sheet. There entrees from that menu are to die for.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank b40dash8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downriver Grill also viewed

 

Been to Downriver Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing