We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, classy atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Downriver Grill

Downriver Grill
Ranked #36 of 880 Restaurants in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Local. Seasonal. Fresh. Located in the cherished Audubon neighborhood, we serve Modern American cuisine at it's best in Spokane, Washington.
Washington State
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food, classy atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have been here several times and never walked away disappointed. They have a wide variety of dishes to choose from, and their specials change regularly. Though parking can be a little tight, it's worth parking down the street and walking a block or two. A little noisy, so if you need a quiet spot, consider dining here before or after peak hours.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank chesterjibowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    42
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Food! Great Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were staying downtown for Bloomsday and wanted to get a away from the crowds and enjoy a local restaurant. We were able to get a last minute reservation at the Downriver and were so pleased with our choice. The menu has a nice selection (non-overwhelming) of sandwiches up to seafood and steaks. In our party, one person selected a wrap which he said was wonderful. One person had linguine, which looked fantastic! The kids menu was limited and my kiddo selected mac and cheese. I had the halibut with risotto and it was delightful. The service was great. We will go to the Downriver again next year during Bloomsday weekend.

Oh, one thing...looking on the map, it appears that it would take about 25 minutes from downtown to drive to Downriver. We clocked it at 9 minutes from the Red Lion. We would have waited much longer than that for a table downtown.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MT_Melody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“They never fail their customers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

DRG is now a Spokane landmark. This is a restaurant where all the locals go. It is in a sort of off the main drag neighborhood but still quite handy for the locals. Good and reasonable salads and fish and meat. My favorite is the chicken marsala. They have excellent coffee and the DRG Red wine is just so fine. Most anyone would be happy also with their great Cobb salad!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank docpolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
1 review
“Comforting Atmosphere...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

They have very good sandwiches and customer service. Great for business meeting with quiet and relaxed atmosphere. Highly Recommended!!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington state
Level Contributor
103 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

enjoyed a great meal with fries for appetizer, cranberry lemon drop to drink, signature salad, pork chop, with the best potatoes ever, and tiramisu for dessert. all perfect. my only tiny complaint was that when she boxed my leftovers to go so only put in the pork chop and not the sides. I was looking forward to the leftover potatoes all morning and so disappointed when they were not in the box :( service othewise was spot on.
I hope we find a chance to make it back soon.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank mommysunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downriver Grill also viewed

 

Been to Downriver Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing