We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thoroughly average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Spokane Airport
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
82 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Thoroughly average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2010

Compared with the Staybridge Suites--another hotel in the Holiday Inn chain--this Holiday Inn was no great value. Yes, it was clean. Yes, the bed was comfy. Yes, the restaurant was fine. But for the same money or less with the Staybridge, you get a breakfast buffet and (if you like that sort of thing) a fast-food dinner. Both have a pool and weight room---but the Spokane Holiday Inn version's weight room was miniscule, with a few aerobic machines and all of one--count it--weight machine. You have to blare the TV in the fitness room because you can't turn down the Musak (a clerk explain it goes throughout the public areas). The hotel tries to promote its green-ness---but inexplicably still uses incandescent lights for the bedroom lamps. (Do they think incandescent appeals to a better clientele? Not. It's that better clientele that are using and noticing the use of compact flurorescents.) The maintenance room on the first floor spewed the smell of solvents---paint or lacquer---throughout half of the first floor hallway and into the stairwell. The room thermostats couldn't be turned down below 70 because, a clerk said, they didn't want to risk pipes freezing. "Open the window" to balance the temperatures at night, the clerk suggested. There is a single public computer (for printing our airplane seat assignments and checking email, etc. if you don't have a laptop) that is behind a locked door in the same room as the tourist brochures. And, hello, do you think you can spend $10 to get a mouse with a scroll wheel in this day and age?

All in all, thoroughly average. Yes, I'd stay here again if I had no choice, but you're not getting a good deal for the money. Unless you absolutely need room service, go to a Staybridge or SpringHill Suites.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank don666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    72
    33
    8
    5
See reviews for
53
42
16
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2010

The Good Points:
Prompt pick up by shuttle after calling from airport.
Upgraded room was provided with free drinks coupon.
Courteous & pleasant staff.

The Poor Points:
Room key did not work 1st time and after going down to reception once - maintenance finally called.
Restaurant closed at lunch now - inconvenient.
Evening room service was not reachable - went to voice mail - had to order through reception when they couldn't get me through.

Overall the hotel is OK but could be much better - cutting the costs (such as the restaurant lunchtime closing) does not improve the customer experience. Better to invest to make it better.

Hotel is suited to those who only need a place to sleep. Not suited to business needs overall.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnotherBusinessGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2009

I booked this hotel for a group of office workers traveling for business. We usually stay at another hotel nearby, but after having a conversation with the manager at the Holiday Inn, I decided to reserve the rooms here. Boy, was that a good move. I asked the employees for their feedback, and it was all totally positive. They said it was a great place to stay, clean, friendly and the restaurant got great reviews as well. Needless to say, I will be reserving rooms in the future for our employees at this hotel.

Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Beachie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2009

I've stayed at this property twice. The first time, I wasn't really impressed. But they have made some renovations so now I'm putting this property in my top 3 choices when I have to travel to Spokane (about 3 - 4 times per year). It takes less than 10 minutes to drive to the hotel from the airport, BUT THERE IS NO AIRPORT NOISE...so don't count this hotel out. The workout room is tiny, but has the typical treadmill and free weight machine. Indoor pool. Peppers is the onsite restaurant. Food was pretty good and the prices very reasonable. The hotel always is pretty full when I go. So they have to keep housekeeping on their toes. Free parking. One thing I really like is the hotel is on the main highway into downtown. I've only been there twice, but found so many things and never got lost - great Thai Restaurant (Linnie Thai on 3rd Ave), supermarkets, casino, walmart, Riverfront Park, good shopping options.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cptravelmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton City, WA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2009

Stayed at this Holiday Inn property in Spokane only because it was site of a business conference. Usually in Spokane I'll stay at the Holiday Inn Express near downtown Spokane on Division, or at the Holiday Inn Express out in the valley area a few miles east of downtown. The location of this one is fine if all you need is a location close to the airport, but other than that there's not much else around here. You need a ride or a car to get anywhere else.
The one previous review that was written this past March was right on when the reviewer reported having a very cold room. I arrived in my room yesterday evening when the outside temp was probably around 35 F. When I entered the room the room temp was probably around 55 F. I immediately tried to crank up the heater, but the heater is controlled by a digital thermostat, which is set to allow a maximum temp of only 80F. Thus, it took the heater around three hours to warm up the room to an acceptable level.
When I left the room this morning for an all-day conference, I left the thermostat set at 80 to try to keep the room somewhat warm. I was staying in the room a second night, and its been my experience that housekeepers usually will leave things like temperature settings alone for the same guest. In this case I was wrong, because when I got back to the room this evening, the thermostat had been re-set to the "off" position, with the result that the room was again frigid.
I can understand that energy cost is a major part of a hotel's expense; but clearly management here has instructed their housekeepers to ALWAYS turn off heaters. This, to me, is a sign that the management of this place is really cheap, and don't really care too much about guest comfort. I could understand turning off heat in unoccupied rooms, but my room was clearly going to be occupied by the same person another night..
In response to the review from last March, management indicated that they were working on the heating systems. Clearly, they have failed to do so.
The room was nice (other than being frigid), and the overall hotel was nice. But putting a limit on the thermostat and having the heat-turn-off policy really irritates me; and leads me to resolve to never stay at this particular establishment again if I can avoid it.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigjimc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberley, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2009

Went back - because of great location; everything was "purrfect". . .

Staff very friendly + driving through. . . . no need for shuttle - still unsure as to long delay and wait for airport pick-up first time through

Suffice it to say - I am glad I went back and would stay again.

Live and learn..

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eastpouce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2009

My background: I average 150 nights a year in hotels for business. Platinum with Holiday Inn, Marriott, Diamond with Hilton, and Gold with Sheraton.

This hotel is convenient to the Spokane\GEG airport. It appears to be relatively new and well maintained from the exterior. The lobby is well maintained and reinforced their good maintenance/housekeeping.

The front desk staff were very friendly, and promptly and accurately checked me in, including providing my "local priority club" gift of a free drink coupon. My room was immaculate (always remember to tip your housekeeper!). The bedding and pillows were comfortable. The room has a microwave and a dorm fridge - which is always a nice feature. The air filter (yes, I always check it upon checkin) appeared to have been recently cleaned. Internet was good. Fitness Center was adequate and open 24 hours. Parking lot appears safe. There was some road noise, but it wasn't a bother and I'm sure I could have changed rooms. The quiet rooms (according to the fire plan) would be odd number rooms x01-x25 (201-225 odd, or 301-325 odd, 401-425 odd). If you are a day sleeper, the noise may bother you. The planes don't fly at night, but you can hear them warming up early in the AM.

The restaurant, "Peppers", has a fair menu but I was looking for something different and wanted to eat out of the hotel. I was disappointed by the local restaurant selection, but this is not a reflection on the property, just the airport location.

Cleanliness: 5/5
Location: 3/5
Staff: 5/5
Internet: 4/5 (1.54Mpbs down/768KBps up)
Comfort: 5/5
Security: 4/5 (I felt safe, parking lot is well lighted)
Restaurant: unknown
Air Filter Cleanliness check: 4/5

To touch on some other reviews:
*Holiday Inn is not a brand you want to consider for SUITES. Intercontinental's suite brands are Staybridge and Candlewood. There are also some Holiday Inns that have suites, but this will be in the naming: I.E. "Holiday Inn Hotel & SUITES" and "Holiday Inn Express Hotel & SUITES." This is not a "Suite" hotel.
* Airport noise: not a misperception, but if you can't live with airplane noise, please don't select a hotel near an airport.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePlatinumOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneangel, Front Desk Manager at Holiday Inn Spokane Airport, responded to this review, March 6, 2009
I would like to thank you for your response. Iam very glad to hear your stay was acceptable. I will forward your response on the restaurant to the chef as well. We hope you choose to stay with us in the future. Again thank you for taking the time to respond.
Front Desk Manager, Collette Fryer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Spokane
Hampton Inn Spokane
#1 of 46 in Spokane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Spokane Airport
2.2 mi away
Ramada at Spokane Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Spokane Airport
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peppertree Airport Inn
3.4 mi away
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Spokane Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Spokane Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Spokane Airport
Address: 1616 S Windsor Rd, Spokane, WA 99224-9796
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#14 Family Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Spokane Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated full-service hotel, the Holiday Inn Spokane-Airport is complete with conference center, located in the fastest growing area of Spokane County, the West Plains. The Holiday Inn Hotel Spokane-Airport is conveniently located 3 minutes from the Spokane International Airport with easy access to/from Interstate 90 and Highway 2. Several National and Regional corporations are within minutes of our front door and the downtown financial center is only a 5 minute drive away. Business travelers will appreciate our free high speed wired or wireless Internet access, complete business center, on site restaurant/lounge, and close proximity to the Spokane Convention Center/Opera House and the Spokane area families will find us a great base to operate out of when enjoying the many nearby attractions such as the NW Museum of Arts and Culture, Riverfront Park and the Fairchild AFB Museum of Flight. If it is sporting events you are looking for, within minutes you can enjoy auto and motorcycle racing, university sports at Gonzaga University, Eastern Washington University and the Community Colleges of Spokane, choose from several outstanding golf courses, attend a semi professional hockey, soccer or baseball game. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Spokane Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Spokane Airport Hotel Spokane
Spokane Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing