We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fails To Live Up To Potential” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Spokane Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Spokane Airport
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Fails To Live Up To Potential”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Traveling on Army business limits my choice of hotels, even when there is no difference in room rate. That's one reason I ended up staying the week here. The remote location is a little inconvenient, but Spokane isn't L.A., so no big deal. Let's start with the good points: Parking is free and plentiful; my room featured a very good shower, comfortable bed, and HDTV with a decent selection of channels.
Not so good points: Smokers tend to walk out of a side door and stop right outside my 1st floor window to light up. The heating/cooling unit sucks all those carcinogens into my room...I tried to mitigate the pollution by leaving the heat off, but the windows aren't sealed well, so the smoke filters in anyway. I spoke to the desk clerk, who made sympathetic utterances, but that was it. The smart move would have been to ask for a different room, but since I had already set up my "traveling office", I opted for laziness, so that's on me. Just avoid Room 132 if you are a non-smoker!
Another gripe I have is with the nickle-and-dime scams perpetrated in the hotel restaurant, Peppers. While the quality of the food is acceptable, the staff have apparently been schooled in slick ways to increase the unwary diner's bill. Example: when you are seated for breakfast, before getting a chance to open your menu, your server appears with carafes of coffee and orange juice in hand, asking smoothly, "Coffee and juice for you this morning?" Most new diners I observed (which included your truly on Day 1) answer, "Okay." Of course, when your check arrives, you discover that the glass of OJ cost you about three bucks.
Last night I had a prime rib dip sandwich, which the menu notes, "comes with your choice of a side (dish)". I looked at the available side dishes and saw "macaroni and cheese". Sounded better than fries or onion rings, so that was my choice. Bartender got a funny look on her face, and said, "There's an upcharge for that side." My instincts dulled from a day of matching wits with bad guys, I assumed the extra cost meant the mac n' cheese must be super awesome. Wrong answer, sportsfans! It was (I am not kidding here) a dish of lukewarm Kraft Mac n' Cheese, like what you buy for 29 cents a box when your bank balance is zeroed out at the end of the month. While I was still staring at my plate in disbelief and mild amusement, a newly-checked in guest bellied up to the bar, handed his free drink chit to the bartender, and asked for a couple of sodas. (For he and his wife) Bartender says, (loudly) "I'm sorry, but that's only good for one drink, the second's gonna cost ya." The guest replied, "But the desk clerk told us since wa paid for a double room, that chit was good for two drinks." Bartender summoned the night manager, who told the guest that the desk clerk had been incorrect. The guest told his wife that they were going to check out in the morning and find another hotel for the week. So, smooth business decision, Mr. Night Manager Guy!
I do need to mention that this hotel's other bartender, Travis, could give the rest of the staff lessons on great customer service skills. If you do happen to wind up at this Holiday Inn, you can trust Travis to not rip you off. (Hope this review doesn't get him fired!)

Bottom line: There are far better hotels in Spokane at the same room rate. If you have a choice, use it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FightingLeprechaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Spokane Airport, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear FightingLeprechaun,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am glad to see that you left some feed back on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. I would like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced because of your restaurant experience and the room conditions. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    70
    32
    8
    5
See reviews for
49
40
15
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The room was clean and quite, Easy access to the parking lot. Happy hour at the lobby was great. Room service for breakfast was fast, ggod food and a reasonable price. Very friendly staff at the front desk, bar and room service. Great shuttle service to the Casino. Easy to find and well worth the price. Would recommend to anyone going to the Casnio or the airport.

Room Tip: Quite on the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Easy access to airport, shuttle both downtown and airport ( 4 am!), helpful staff, very clean room. We had dinner and breakfast at the attached restaurant which was basic but fine. Would recommend to anyone looking for accommodation close to the airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bob1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Spokane Airport, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear bob1950,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, WA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a great option for hotels in the greater Spokane area. I've always stayed in downtown but wanted something less expensive. The hotel is in an small office park, ample parking and some green areas to walk the dog. The rooms were very clean, nicely decorated, quiet and good A/C. The staff was very helful and found me a room near an exit so I take the dog our without disturbing other patrons. The room service menu was decent and fast. All in all this is an affordable option in the Spokane area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bicostal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed here for the first time and I won't be staying here again for a few reasons. It's really not that bad, but not for me.

Pros:
1. Staff is SUPER friendly. Everyone from the front desk staff to the bartender are really nice and eager to help you. I checked in and was greated with a free drink (for being a rewards member), free wifi, and a great explanation of the layout of the hotel. I got my drink and dinner at Pepper's and the bartender and waitress were really sweet with great service.
2. The hotel is clean. I appreciate a nice-smelling and clean hotel.
3. Wifi is Free.
4. Cofee in the room.
5. Fitness room is 24 hours.
6. Indoor Pool
7. Blow Dryer works great
8. Great water pressure in the shower

Cons:
1. I have Sprint and I don't get reception here. I am here for work so it's important I can stay connected. The front desk staff said Sprint gets awful service out here.
2. Wifi is really slow at times.
3. I ate at Peppers (on site restaurant) for dinner and I ordered a side salad (Ranch was DELICIOUS) and macaroni and cheese... the mac and cheese was literally KRAFT out of the box. It wasn't bad, but you'd think it wouldn't be KRAFT.
4. The bed is really uncomfortabe
5. The bathtub is very small


Overall is wasn't bad. And there isn't anything that makes this a completely avoidable hotel, but I don't think I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

This holiday Inn is very nice and clean. The rooms were very modern and even had nice flat screen TV. The bed was firm and comfortable. Even the swimming pool and hot tub were nice. They even provide free shuttle to nearby casino. Only thing Holiday Inn could have provide with complementary breakfast would have been nice. They have a restaurant inside but little pricey for family. Overall very nice motel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greencop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband & I and our kids stayed here for one night in late July. It was a last minute choice to stay here and we were pleasantly suprised. From the moment I called the hotel to book, to the time that we checked out, we were provided with exceptionally friendly service from the young staff. The rooms were very clean and I liked the selection and quality of toiletries. The indoor pool area was basic but sufficient enough for the kids to cool off at the end of the day. The restaurant was quiet and clean with average food but again, amazingly attentive server from the young gentleman who was our waiter. Kids eat free with adults, so it was quite inexpensive. Would stay again if passing through.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spokane
2.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Spokane Airport
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Spokane Airport
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peppertree Airport Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ramada at Spokane Airport
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Spokane
Hampton Inn Spokane
#1 of 46 in Spokane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
3.8 mi away
Stratford Suites - Spokane
Stratford Suites - Spokane
#2 of 3 in Airway Heights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Spokane Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Spokane Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Spokane Airport
Address: 1616 S Windsor Rd, Spokane, WA 99224-9796
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#14 Family Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Spokane Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated full-service hotel, the Holiday Inn Spokane-Airport is complete with conference center, located in the fastest growing area of Spokane County, the West Plains. The Holiday Inn Hotel Spokane-Airport is conveniently located 3 minutes from the Spokane International Airport with easy access to/from Interstate 90 and Highway 2. Several National and Regional corporations are within minutes of our front door and the downtown financial center is only a 5 minute drive away. Business travelers will appreciate our free high speed wired or wireless Internet access, complete business center, on site restaurant/lounge, and close proximity to the Spokane Convention Center/Opera House and the Spokane area families will find us a great base to operate out of when enjoying the many nearby attractions such as the NW Museum of Arts and Culture, Riverfront Park and the Fairchild AFB Museum of Flight. If it is sporting events you are looking for, within minutes you can enjoy auto and motorcycle racing, university sports at Gonzaga University, Eastern Washington University and the Community Colleges of Spokane, choose from several outstanding golf courses, attend a semi professional hockey, soccer or baseball game. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Spokane Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Spokane Airport Hotel Spokane
Spokane Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing