We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Old Lady”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle,Wa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Grand Old Lady”
Reviewed April 19, 2009

We have stayed at several of the afflueent chain hotels in Spokane, but none could compare with the grandeur and history that is The Davenport. This is a remakable place to stopover and visit.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexS-Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,224
    317
    104
    40
    32
See reviews for
348
633
82
425
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lewiston
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Davenport Towers Hotel. Let me tell you, they took care of us like no other hotel I have ever been to. I am so impressed with them. My car broke down in the valet. I notified valet that it had broke down, I gave them the information about what was wrong with it and they called a mechanic out (on a Sunday) and within 20 minutes my car was fixed. No joke, these guys mean business. I will always come back to the davenport!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yagermyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2009

Stayed here March 5-7. Front desk staff fabulous and patient. Great beds, spotless, wonderful history and story, overall great, would have given them an "excellent rating" except for the following:

Could have done without the nightly turn-down peanut brittle and used in-room coffee instead. It made me remember why I hate staying in LV--all hotels force you to dress, make yourself respectable, and travel to the public areas for one lousy cup of coffee. If the Davenport delivers free daily newspapers in the morning, an in-room cup of coffee would have been a nice pairing instead of requiring me, as a guest who expected to be comfortable, to spend over $2.00 for one cup of Starbuck's coffee.

Cautionary note: their hair dryer was VERY anemic.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AZnative58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2009

We were amazed to find that this beautiful hotel accepted dogs without any additional charges. We were traveling with a toddler, an infant, and 2 large dogs. The staff at the Davenport were friendly and very helpful (especially with the dogs), and our room was beautifully decorated and clean. The staff at the Davenport will even walk your dogs for you. It was such a pleasure to have our entire family welcomed at a hotel! We highly recommend the Davenport!
Oh yeah, although we didn't get to experience it ourselves, the bar seemed to be a happening place.

Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank canative101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
300 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2009

I marked it down a notch for cost and a few minor details. I got a special deal and got a little more than I expected for a hotel of this caliber, but paying full price I might not have been quite as happy even if it's probably comparable to similar hotel rates. Parking is costly as well. Dinner at Safari Grill in their tower: food was excellent- atmosphere and service good.

I let them know we were celebrating our 20th anniversary when I booked the reservation. They kindly upgraded our room and left 2 red roses on the bed! Much appreciated. Room was tastefully and well furnished, comfortable, bed/linens fabulous. Very clean. Roomy and great amenities. Beautiful building. Well kept. Excellent customer service. Starbucks in the lobby a plus. Good downtown location, but the downtown "noise" can be heard a little from inside. Really enjoyed the stay. Spa and restaurants and small specialty shops on site. Quality products and furnishings.

Long line for check in, and bill was incorrect at check out. They corrected it pleasantly and quickly when I pointed out the 2 discrepancies. Would stay another special occasion there.

  • Liked — Customer Service and quality of room and building furnishings and design
  • Disliked — regular price for room and parking fees
  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveldanse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2009

The Davenport is supposedly the premier hotel in Spokane. I've stayed at many 5 stars and this ain't one.

First off, there are two buildings, the older one and newer tower. Can be problematic if you are dropped off by the car service or taxi and then you have to walk across the street. Due to this, it took bell service 90 minutes to get my bags across the street to me.

I stayed in the new tower but some family were located in the older building so I was able to see a typical room. To put it bluntly, I'm glad I was in the new tower. The rooms are decorated in a older design and not the great art deco/antique-type style. It's more like old lady who has smoked for 50 years and really never did upgrades nor improvements.

The new tower is nice but DEFINITELY not in the league of Ritz or Four Seasons. Not even close.

Hotel staff seemed a bit annoyed to be bothered with requests and even questions (is this a generational thing?)

I hear the Lusso is new nice one in town. Maybe that will be better.

  • Liked — Nothing really stands out
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingbear23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2009

Last time I was in Spokane, I visited The Davenport for a self-guided tour and a drink in The Peacock Lounge. This time I had the pleasure of staying four nights at this truly beautiful hotel. (I stayed in the main hotel, not the newer Tower.)

Cleanliness, food, service - you name it, it's topnotch. Turn down service is standard; housekeeping is unintrusive. Front desk, bell staff and valet staff are friendly and make it a point to address you by name.

The Peacock lounge serves drinks, appetizers and a limited menu. The bartenders are courteous and know what they're doing.

Had breakfast in the Palm Court one morning. Delicious and priced right based on the surroundings, the service and the city.

Walked across the street to the Tower and its onsite Safari Room. Quite nice -- less ornate and "Old World" than the main hotel.

If you're unable to stay a night or two, be sure to stop by for a visit. This place is steeped in history and sports some remarkable decor.

  • Liked — Inconspicuous housekeeping
  • Disliked — limited brunch hours on Sunday
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KayakaWhack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Tower, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
The Davenport Grand, Autograph Collection
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Spokane
Hampton Inn Spokane
#3 of 46 in Spokane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection

Property: The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
Address: 10 S Post St, Spokane, WA 99201-3902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Spokane
#1 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#1 Business Hotel in Spokane
#2 Family Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kirkland Cutter architecture, restored to original elegance with modern amenities and suburb service - Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Davenport Hotel And Tower
Davenport Hotel Spokane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing