We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 6, 2014

No bathtub. Dirty shower (other people's hair on walls and floor). This is the only hotel I have stayed in that doesn't have a coffee pot, or a microwave, or any other in room amenities. Additionally the hotel does not provide information on the kinds of shampoo conditioner and lotions that are available in the room and if you're sensitive that's really not okay. Although this information might be available in the binder, it really should be on the containers. I did ask the management to make sure the shower was cleaned, and it was cleaned. However, when the electricity in the bathroom area went out the management did not arrange for it to be fixed, which they said they would. That meant that I could not use the hairdryer or the lighted mirror in the bathroom area. The hotel also said they would provide a local newspaper, and even when they had them they did not provide them. There is of course a chance someone took them from the door, but since all the other rooms around us had them it seems unlikely. Everyone there was kind and nice, however that doesn't replace actual service.

One last thing. The tacky safari decor and large mirrors where headboards would be, tend to make the room look like a flophouse. If I were you I would look elsewhere for a room.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morningcoffeelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeDirector, Manager at The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We must apologize for falling short regarding your expectations. Please know that what you experienced is not typical. Also, we do appreciate the suggestions regarding the information for the shampoo, conditioner, and lotions. Perhaps, during your next visit, you may find our sister properties, The historic Davenport Hotel or Hotel Lusso, more to your liking. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, and we look forward to having you as a guest in the near future.

Kind Regards ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,781)
There are newer reviews for The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

811 - 817 of 1,781 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2014

Having requested a quiet room, I must admit the towers does not meet my expectation. We are on the 7th floor facing the railroad tracks, and in the last hour there have been four trains. Second disappointment is that there is not a simple coffee maker in the room. Would love a cup of tea without going to the lobby..Staff kept assuring us that we are in for a special visit. It is our anniversary and we have two more nites to go..train five is just passing..and it is a coal train, most of the other trains looked like oil cars. Tomorrow we will ask for another room..,Hoping there is a brighter side to this visit

Room Tip: request room away from railroad tracks, also streets near hotel have a huge population of homeless...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ramonabare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeDirector, Manager at The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

We do appreciate your feedback concerning this stay. The trains unfortunately do run quite a bit. The next time you stay with us, we would be happy to place you in a room on the other side of the building ~ this should help tremendously. Furthermore, we hope the remainder of your visit was without incident and that you ended up enjoying your stay.

Kind Regards ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Hands down, this is our favourite hotel while visiting Spokane. We have stayed at the Davenport Historic Hotel 5 times, and once in the Tower, over the last 18 months. We LOVE this hotel. We have worked our way through several different room options, from the Deluxe King, the Parlour Suite and the Penthouse Suite. The beds are so comfortable - you can count on a good sleep here. The Italian Frette linens are top quality and the turn down service is accompanied with a Davenport Signature Soft Peanut Brittle treat.

The staff are professional and very accommodating. A special request to leave a gift in the parents' room for their 50th wedding anniversary was taken care of as requested. The Sunday Champagne Brunch is beyond amazing; a veritable treasure-trove of choices to meet anyone's food preferences. There a few more delicious eatery options, including an excellent room service menu for a late night snack or breakfast in bed. (our personal faves are the Cougar Gold Cheese Dip and the personal pizza!) The Davenport offers an excellent selection of packages to meet most visitor's needs, and if it's simply a night without extras, the room price is very fair for a top quality hotel. We totally recommend The Davenport. If you have the chance, to stay, I doubt you will be disappointed!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RebeccaC63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Made a quick trip to Spokane to visit Gonzaga with my daughter and spent two nights in the original portion of the hotel. It was perfect...gorgeous furnishings, very clean and comfortable and they thought of every amenity. It was the sort of place that you'd pay four times the price for in Manhattan but the folks here are so much friendlier! We ate in the bar portion of their main restaurant; it was delicious and the service lovely. (It was Valentines Day and we forgot to consider this, hence our choices for dining were limited...) Not really a complaint but thought that the parking was rather expensive for the guests...but we can live with that. Our daughter will likely chose the Bulldogs and we've already booked move in weekend for August. Imagine that we'll make many trips back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoronadoGaggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

How wonderful get get away from the thrill or sadness, the excitement and stress, of a girls major national volleyball tournament and retreat into the Davenport - - - the restored original - - - an oasis of calm, staffed with young smiling people,offering gracious service, amid a luxurious, old world setting. Enjoy a evening cocktail in front of the huge fireplace in the multi-story central lounge, then indulge in a terrific dinner. And did you know that Crab Louis was invented here by Mr. Louis Davenport himself? Be sure to try it. The rooms are so well appointed with marvelously comfortable beds. Did not go across the street to the Davenport Tower, which is the "new" hotel, so I can not comment on it, but the original is a jewel!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My wife and I had the good fortune of spending two nights in a penthouse suite at the davenport Hotel. The staff, from the parking valets to the lounge wait staff, are first class. We stayed in the old hotel and it has been restored to it's original grandeur. The Peacock room was very pleasant during happy hour followed by a fine dinner in the Palm Court restaurant. The room was spacious with a very comfortable king bed. The hotel is very close to the river and falls(3 blocks). Two blocks away is a river front shopping area with many upper end shops.There is no coffee in the room but a Starbucks in the lobby. This is a hotel that does it right!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tshaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I stayed recently with my wife at the Davenport Hotel, logical choice since the conference was held right here at the hotel.
We were both impressed with the hotel and especially with the staff; service was great and the food in the hotel restaurant was also very good.
We would definitely stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Avoid hotel side that faces railroad tracks.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harold60750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.4 mi away
The Davenport Grand, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Tower, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Spokane
Hampton Inn Spokane
#2 of 46 in Spokane
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection

Address: 10 South Post Street, Spokane, WA 99201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Spokane
#1 Green Hotel in Spokane
#1 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#2 Family Hotel in Spokane
Price Range: $173 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection with its Kirkland Cutter architecture in the heart of downtown Spokane, Washington. Our brilliant hotel in Spokane has been restored to original elegance with modern amenities and superb service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Davenport Hotel And Tower
Davenport Hotel Spokane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing