We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
washington
Level Contributor
325 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Confused”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Having requested a quiet room, I must admit the towers does not meet my expectation. We are on the 7th floor facing the railroad tracks, and in the last hour there have been four trains. Second disappointment is that there is not a simple coffee maker in the room. Would love a cup of tea without going to the lobby..Staff kept assuring us that we are in for a special visit. It is our anniversary and we have two more nites to go..train five is just passing..and it is a coal train, most of the other trains looked like oil cars. Tomorrow we will ask for another room..,Hoping there is a brighter side to this visit

Room Tip: request room away from railroad tracks, also streets near hotel have a huge population of homeless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ramonabare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeDirector, Manager at The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
We do appreciate your feedback concerning this stay. The trains unfortunately do run quite a bit. The next time you stay with us, we would be happy to place you in a room on the other side of the building ~ this should help tremendously. Furthermore, we hope the remainder of your visit was without incident and that you ended up enjoying your stay.

Kind Regards ~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,209
    315
    103
    40
    30
See reviews for
344
622
81
421
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Forks, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Hands down, this is our favourite hotel while visiting Spokane. We have stayed at the Davenport Historic Hotel 5 times, and once in the Tower, over the last 18 months. We LOVE this hotel. We have worked our way through several different room options, from the Deluxe King, the Parlour Suite and the Penthouse Suite. The beds are so comfortable - you can count on a good sleep here. The Italian Frette linens are top quality and the turn down service is accompanied with a Davenport Signature Soft Peanut Brittle treat.

The staff are professional and very accommodating. A special request to leave a gift in the parents' room for their 50th wedding anniversary was taken care of as requested. The Sunday Champagne Brunch is beyond amazing; a veritable treasure-trove of choices to meet anyone's food preferences. There a few more delicious eatery options, including an excellent room service menu for a late night snack or breakfast in bed. (our personal faves are the Cougar Gold Cheese Dip and the personal pizza!) The Davenport offers an excellent selection of packages to meet most visitor's needs, and if it's simply a night without extras, the room price is very fair for a top quality hotel. We totally recommend The Davenport. If you have the chance, to stay, I doubt you will be disappointed!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaC63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado (San Diego)
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Made a quick trip to Spokane to visit Gonzaga with my daughter and spent two nights in the original portion of the hotel. It was perfect...gorgeous furnishings, very clean and comfortable and they thought of every amenity. It was the sort of place that you'd pay four times the price for in Manhattan but the folks here are so much friendlier! We ate in the bar portion of their main restaurant; it was delicious and the service lovely. (It was Valentines Day and we forgot to consider this, hence our choices for dining were limited...) Not really a complaint but thought that the parking was rather expensive for the guests...but we can live with that. Our daughter will likely chose the Bulldogs and we've already booked move in weekend for August. Imagine that we'll make many trips back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoronadoGaggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

How wonderful get get away from the thrill or sadness, the excitement and stress, of a girls major national volleyball tournament and retreat into the Davenport - - - the restored original - - - an oasis of calm, staffed with young smiling people,offering gracious service, amid a luxurious, old world setting. Enjoy a evening cocktail in front of the huge fireplace in the multi-story central lounge, then indulge in a terrific dinner. And did you know that Crab Louis was invented here by Mr. Louis Davenport himself? Be sure to try it. The rooms are so well appointed with marvelously comfortable beds. Did not go across the street to the Davenport Tower, which is the "new" hotel, so I can not comment on it, but the original is a jewel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bainbridge
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

My wife and I had the good fortune of spending two nights in a penthouse suite at the davenport Hotel. The staff, from the parking valets to the lounge wait staff, are first class. We stayed in the old hotel and it has been restored to it's original grandeur. The Peacock room was very pleasant during happy hour followed by a fine dinner in the Palm Court restaurant. The room was spacious with a very comfortable king bed. The hotel is very close to the river and falls(3 blocks). Two blocks away is a river front shopping area with many upper end shops.There is no coffee in the room but a Starbucks in the lobby. This is a hotel that does it right!

Green Features: Do to the fact that the hotel is Leed certified the soaps, shampoos, etc are dispensed in bulk dispensers. They are however changing the dispensers to higher end.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tshaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

I stayed recently with my wife at the Davenport Hotel, logical choice since the conference was held right here at the hotel.
We were both impressed with the hotel and especially with the staff; service was great and the food in the hotel restaurant was also very good.
We would definitely stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Avoid hotel side that faces railroad tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harold60750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullman, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

I had the opportunity to stay at The Davenport Tower Hotel on Monday, March 23rd. I came across a 30% discount on one of the travel cites for a hotel and decided to go big for a change. I stayed in room 1471 or 1472 (I can't remember) but it was a south facing window in the corner of the hotel.

Honestly everything was great; staff, room, parking..ect. Being a 4 star hotel my critique will be a bit critical. Our room was good but the floors were carpet and very worn, and the light switch had cracks on the covering. Obviously very minor aesthetics but in the "nicest hotel in Spokane" you hope to have everything be spectacular. Maybe we just had the "discount room" but regardless these minor issues were not enough to take us out of the Davenport experience. the bar in the lobby was great. Our bartender was very professional and the entire staff was very accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Tower, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
The Davenport Grand, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Spokane
Hampton Inn Spokane
#1 of 46 in Spokane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center
0.0 mi away
The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection

Property: The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
Address: 10 S Post St, Spokane, WA 99201-3902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Spokane
#1 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#1 Business Hotel in Spokane
#2 Family Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kirkland Cutter architecture, restored to original elegance with modern amenities and suburb service - Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Davenport Hotel And Tower
Davenport Hotel Spokane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing