We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, short on cleaning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Walla Walla, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel, short on cleaning”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We have always enjoyed the Davenport and decided to splurge on a pre-Christmas trip. We stayed in a suite with a fireplace and a downtown view. The carpet was soiled and the bathroom and shower had a lot of long, black hair from a former visitor. I will have to rethink staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeDirector, Manager at The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your experience. We must apologize for the lack of cleanliness that you encountered. Please know that this is not typical of the service that we offer, nor is it up to our standards. Feedback like this assists us in ensuring similar instances do not reoccur. We do hope that if presented with the opportunity to return, you would consider staying with us again in the near future. Again, thank you for feedback, it is surely appreciated.

Kind Regards ~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,244
    327
    104
    42
    32
See reviews for
352
650
83
430
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moses Lake
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I needed a break from the farm and all the fog we have had this winter. Decided to take a short trip with my elderly mother to a show in Spokane. Loved the Towers with a great location and a shuttle to our event. Staff was helpful and accommodating to make the stay memorable and easy for my mother. Wonderful beds and great night sleep in a spotlessly clean room. Central location nice for shopping and dining to many great locations. I will be going again when I get that closed in feeling.

Room Tip: Might check out the Davenport hotel first for rooms they were full when I went.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed in the historic Davenport last weekend and had a fantastic time. We had booked a one night package which gave us a 75 dollar dining credit. Since I am eight months pregnant, my husband and I were looking for a relaxing, romantic place to get-away before the baby comes. When we arrived we were offered an upgrade to a Penthouse room which had a jetted tub and a fireplace for a small increase in price. We took it and were delighted with our room as it exceeded our expectations. The hotel is beautiful and we were treated very well by the hotel staff. We took advantage of the valet parking with our package and I highly recommend doing that, especially as the weekend gets very busy there and there are a lot of events taking place. One way that we felt we received excellent service was they stored our luggage for a few hours for us after our check-out time, as I was scheduled for a treatment in the spa. It was great not to worry about that at all, since we had traveled in from out of state. We dined in the hotel and had a fantastic dinner and breakfast at the Palm Court Grill! We would love to go back and try the other restaurants. The Peacock Room looked like a lot of fun. My husband and I would definitely go back and would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zooboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

They don't make them like this anymore. We usually stay in the historic Davenport (in contrast to the new Tower). It has grandeur and elegance of the bygone era of its origin. The restoration of the hotel is impeccable with numerous modern touches (doorbells, no less). The staff is professional and amazingly attentive to detail. Special attention to service - like town car service to restaurants. If you want a coffee maker in your room, stay at a Hampton.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed at The Davenport in the tower building (across from the historic location, 3 of the 4 corners are owned by The Davenport, 2 have hotel buildings and the third a self park facility) for 2 nights in mid January 2014 (MLK Jr. weekend). Loved the design of the property and rooms, which feel spacious (we had a standard room on the 16th floor, #1672) without being pretentious or over the top. Rooms are nicely furnished with flat screen TVs, high end bath products and linens, and very comfortable beds (I prefer a soft mattress, these might be a bit soft if you prefer a firmer surface). Attentive staff, excellent bar downstairs (The Safari Room, the tower has a tasteful African safari theme throughout the property). We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, rooms face either north towards downtown mall area or south to the South Hill...
See more room tips
Green Features: The property is LEED Gold certified. I liked that the bath products are in larger dispensers so that you can avoid all the waste from the tiny single use products commonly seen in most hotels in the USA.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulalip, WA (USA)
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Normally a shuttle ride from the airport is in a van. Oh no, not at the Davenport. I was greeted at the airport with Dav 1, which is a Mercedes sedan (not sure the exact year, but guessing 2010-2013 ish). I honestly had to make sure I wasn't dreaming. My first thought was "If this is the shuttle, what does the hotel look like!?"
I stayed in the Old Tower, which I Loved!!! The history in that place is amazing. I couldn't stop looking at all the pictures and reading all the history. Talk about taking you back in time. It was beautiful!! All the architecture was stunning!
Not only was the building beautiful, the service was just as grand. All staff were very professional and courteous.

Would not mind going back and staying again...... Till next time Spokane

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinNDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
412 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the davenport during business meeting. The hotel is historic but not dated. The rooms are very large with comfortable beds. The bath is modern with large tub abd separate shower. Building interior has ornate archietectural detail. Down side - proximity to rail (loud), and food cost

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjdif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.4 mi away
The Davenport Grand, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Tower, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Spokane
Hampton Inn Spokane
#2 of 46 in Spokane
787 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection

Property: The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
Address: 10 S Post St, Spokane, WA 99201-3902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Spokane
#1 Business Hotel in Spokane
#1 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#2 Family Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kirkland Cutter architecture, restored to original elegance with modern amenities and suburb service - Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Davenport Hotel And Tower
Davenport Hotel Spokane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing