We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I consider this my home away from home. I travel a lot and there is no better value than The Davenport Hotel. Stay in the old side hotel and enjoy the restored beauty. The rooms are terrific and the beds outstanding. I love this place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,804)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

928 - 934 of 1,804 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had a quick trip to Spokane and are so happy to have stayed in the Davenport Tower. What a beautiful facility. It's so nice to have a Starbucks right in the lobby as well as an upbeat bar and restaurant. We will definitely stay at this hotel on our next trip to Spokane.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craftychick063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here after a terrible experience at a hotel in BC, and the Davenport restored our faith in hotels. From the valets on arrival, the service was impeccable. We stayed in a suite, and the only complaint was no coffee/tea maker - there is a Starbucks in the lobby, but who wants to go down there late at night (not even sure if it was open then?). The rest of the suite was what we expected, comfortable bed, nice sitting room, clean bathroom, good connection internet.
We ate dinner at both the restaurant in the main hotel, and also at the safari themed Tower. Both meals were excellent with good food, and service at reasonable price. The self-guide tour of the hotel was a nice touch.
The hotel is a couple of blocks from a shopping mall and the riverside park. There are lots of restaurants for breakfast and lunch, we enjoyed Madeleine's Cafe & Patisserie for a touch of Paris.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Two2bThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

At first glance, this hotel is beautiful and historic. After staying there, I was not impressed. They are so proud of there food and drinks and their menu prices reflect it. The room rates were decent (don't know if it was because we had wedding rates). The Davenport and their Hotel Lusso across the street smelled like old people. They were very unaccommodating, if not just outright rude, when we gave them any type of request. We did not have any outrageous requests. Their staff just did not seem to care or have the cognitive ability to do simple tasks. Never thought I would say this, but I would stay at the Holiday Inn up north a few miles (looks like a little castle) if I were to return to Spokane.

They appear to be very cheap since their toiletries are all in gym style dispensers.

The one thing is that the beds were awesome!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeDirector, Manager at The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for the kind comments regarding our building. Also, we appreciate hearing the feedback regarding our staff. Please know that this is not typical of the service that we offer ~ this information will surely be shared with the managers in those areas. We do hope that you will consider us in the future should you choose to return to Spokane. If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay more enjoyable, please reach out to us directly, and we would be happy to assist you.

Kind Regards ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Grand old hotel beautifully restored with all the modern conveniences. Our "penthouse" room was comfortable and elegant. The food and service in the restaurant were excellent.

A couple of minor complaints: They provide no bar soap, only liquid. The large walk-in marble shower has only a "rain" shower head, which is not very good for actually bathing and rinsing; a hand-held shower and a grab-bar would make it so much better. And the artificially over-softened water doesn't help.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The room was excellent with a large comfortable bed, spacious shower and seating area. The service from the front desk to housekeeping was all superb. The decor was unique in a safari theme and come equipped with their pralines. Definitely recommended.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank ROATravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I have been to many historic hotel across the United States. NONE compare to the quality and service of the Davenport Hotel and Tower. I live just outside Bellingham, WA and drive to Spokane four to five times a year to stay in Luxury. I was just in a suite at the Fairmont Olympic in Seattle and the hotel and renovation is nothing compared to the Davenport. I hope people realize how good of deal the hotel is. If the hotel was in New York it would be $1,500 a night for a deluxe room. Who cares if there is not a coffee pot in your room. Go stay at the Holiday Inn if that is what you are worried about. If you want class and elegance then the Davenport is your place=)

Room Tip: parking garage is very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a64f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.4 mi away
The Davenport Grand, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Tower, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Spokane Airport
0.7 mi away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
0.9 mi away
Red Lion River Inn
Red Lion River Inn
#23 of 46 in Spokane
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection

Address: 10 S Post St, Spokane, WA 99201-3902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#1 Green Hotel in Spokane
#1 Business Hotel in Spokane
#2 Family Hotel in Spokane
Price Range: $152 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection with its Kirkland Cutter architecture in the heart of downtown Spokane, Washington. Our brilliant hotel in Spokane has been restored to original elegance with modern amenities and superb service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Davenport Hotel And Tower
Davenport Hotel Spokane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing