We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Beautiful rooms and wonderful service. We recently stayed here on our recent cross country trip from Seattle to Boston. They have 2 properties; the old hotel and the new tower. Both are great but the old hotel has a wonderful atmosphere. The bathrooms are fantastic and enormous. Their service desk and room services are super fast. If I have plans to be in this area again I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ShoeGalM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,128
    296
    96
    38
    30
See reviews for
324
571
81
391
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

After our previous two disappointing nights in Polson the Davenport was a delight. Everything about the hotel is top class, staff, rooms and the restaurant. The only criticism is that there is no coffee/tea making facility in the room. I had to get dressed and go downstairs for an early morning cup of tea to take back to the room for my wife and I; being from England we need our morning tea. A small quibble compared with all the pluses of the hotel; we wonder how it survives in what appears to be not the most prosperous town in Washington state.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank segara87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deurne
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very nice hotel, in the middle of the city centre. The hotel is suffused with a nineteenth century atmosphere. Room was excellent. Great to stay in such a authentic place in a city that is really cheerful!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed 2 nights one week apart at The Davenport Hotel in Spokane. The hotel is old and historic and beautiful. The first night we stayed on the 4th floor and thought the room was wonderful. The second night, one week later, we stayed in a 14th floor room that was better, that was huge and had a fireplace too. With the 2013 Break Away and Stay rate we also received free valet parking and a $75.00 dining credit. The restaurant is wonderful and has a great selection. But if you don't want to eat in the hotel, there are many fine restaurants within 2 blocks. Don't miss the photos and memorabilia on the mezzanine level that overlooks the lobby area, it is a rich history lesson about the local area. The Peacock bar is also a great meeting place and very lively. The hotel is only 8 miles away from the Spokane International Airport. They also own the Davenport Tower hotel across the street and another hotel across the other street.

Room Tip: Most any room will be wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobseelos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Davenport (the original, main hotel, not the Tower) in mid-June 2013 while visiting other family and enjoyed our stay. My wife and I stayed in a penthouse king suite on the 14th floor, and my mother and teenaged daughter and son stayed in a king room on the 10th floor with a sleeper sofa. Given the type of relatively upscale hotel that the Davenport reputedly was, I thought our package, which included valet parking and a substantial daily dining credit, was reasonably priced. Our rooms were clean, reasonably spacious, well-appointed, and comfortable. Everything in the hotel appeared to be well maintained. Good WiFi service, decent TV service. All of the hotel's staff were very pleasant and helpful. The hotel's main restaurant provided average food and service and was not worth the price for dinner, but the Sunday brunch was good (and popular). My wife and daughter enjoyed the spa, and my son got the best haircut treatment of his life for a very reasonable price there, too. We enjoyed the hotel's proximity to the Riverfront mall and park as well as some other good restaurants we tried (one of the best Italian meals of our lives at The Italian Kitchen, a five-block walk, and good food and excellent service at The Satellite Diner, about a three- or four-block walk). All in all, I would stay there again if I could get a comparable package.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank afrinl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, France
Level Contributor
128 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed in the tower as all of the rooms in the historic hotel were booked. The safari decor is striking and very surprising in the hotel lobby. Rooms are big, clean and boast most amenities that one would expect. Dinner in the historic Davenport was a delight, absolutely delicious. Service came with a smile, valet, check-in and restaurant staff were very courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frenchie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We recently stayed in the Davenport Tower property while visiting Spokane. Our on-line reservation had been made at the Hotel Lusso - a sister property - but when we checked in to the Lusso we were dismayed to find the hotel quite dated and the fitness room not much more than a closet with three cardio machines in it. We were encouraged to visit the Tower property and much preferred the modern building and amenities there. The staff readily changed our reservation and we had a wonderful stay. The room was clean and quiet, the bed comfortable and we liked the dispense-type shampoo, soap, etc. The staff was friendly and the hotel was centrally located. Starbucks in the lobby made our morning coffee easy to get, parking in the next door structure was $15/day (we chose to self park), the hotel restaurant was good. We will stay there again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank eandj84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Tower, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Spokane
Hampton Inn Spokane
#2 of 46 in Spokane
4.5 of 5 stars 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Davenport Grand, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center
0.0 mi away
The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection

Property: The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
Address: 10 S Post St, Spokane, WA 99201-3902
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Spokane
#1 Green Hotel in Spokane
#1 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#2 Family Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kirkland Cutter architecture, restored to original elegance with modern amenities and suburb service - Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Davenport Hotel And Tower
Davenport Hotel Spokane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing