We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautifully restored, historic boutique hotel in downtown Spokane” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Spokane
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautifully restored, historic boutique hotel in downtown Spokane”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

The title says it. If you like boutique old world hotels in center cities, this is the place for you. In addition to the ambience, the service is excellent. We had dinner in the hotel the first night by the fire place in the gracious lobby and it was a pleasure. The only caveat is that the drinks in the bar are pricey for the area. Parking is easy. You have a choice of valet parking or self parking. We opted for the former because it was nice to have your car upon request. The coffee shop in the lobby is also a nice touch if you don't feel like a full breakfast first thing in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MEBesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,181
    307
    101
    39
    30
See reviews for
335
602
81
413
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

So elegant! Just visited May 1st. Really first class service and beautiful amenities at every turn from the Palm Court Restaurant to the Spa. My friends and I so enjoyed ourselves we could have spent all of our time just at the hotel! Will stay here again any chance I have!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenacres, Washington
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I are from the area, but stayed downtown at the Tower one night after a concert. The hotel is absolutely stunning. Our room was large and fun - carrying the theme of the Safari Room into the hotel room. My husband loved the bed; a little too soft for me, but that's always an individual preference. We ate at the bar...not the most comfortable place to eat and not the best of service. We ordered a bottle of wine...the bartender poured the first glass only! Hmmm....We also ordered their crab Louie salad which was sensational! The decor and ambiance was wonderful. Had the service at the bar been that good, I would have ranked it excellent instead of very good. Front desk service checking in and out was very professional and warm.

Room Tip: We were on the 14th floor (actually the 13th since they skip #13), and the view was great. Did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Recently stayed for 2 days for a wedding.

The hotel is wonderfully restored and is in perfect condition. The room 815 in the old hotel faced the river, but no view. No noise either, though. Perfect condition. Huge bathroom and shower.

The staff was wonderful, very nice and attentive.

The Palm Court restaurant was very good and the Sunday Champagne brunch was excellent.

I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Spokane.

Room Tip: 815 had 2 queen beds, large bathroom with huge walk in shower. It was near the elevator, but no noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woodsy_al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

No coffee in the room. The front desk explains "this is 5 star service, you can call room service for the usual room service charges". This means you wake up, call for coffee, wait 30 minutes, get at least somewhat dressed to let the waiter in and pay over $11 for 2 cups of coffee. They also charge $20/night for parking. Equally nice hotels are within a mile. Certainly not worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2prickley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeDirector, Manager at The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We appreciate your feedback regarding our coffee service. Our hotel specializes in individualized service and strives to focus on the overall experience of the guest. In regards to the parking, unfortunately, there is high demand with a limited amount of available parking spots. As a result, like many other downtown hotels, we do charge for parking. If your travels bring you back to Spokane, we would suggest you try our sister property, Hotel Lusso. They have complimentary coffee and homemade coffee cake available in the lobby for breakfast. Street parking is also available in the evening, complimentary. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience, and we do look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards ~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Whether you choose the original historic building or the new tower, the Davenport is a spectacular hotel. Guests in the historic building will find a very calm and relaxing ambiance, and those in the Tower will find a more modern and energetic setting. I stayed in the historic building in a gorgeous room with a fireplace and small sitting area. The bed was fantastic and topped the "heavenly" bedding product offered by the major chains. Large bathroom with walk-in shower, jacuzzi tub, and separate dual-sink vanity area. Food was excellent both in the restaurants and room service. The hotel's car service to the airport was great (Mercedes S550) and a bargain. Excellent location. Hard to go wrong with the Davenport.

Green Features: Bath amenities use a dispenser system instead of all of the little plastic bottles. Yay!
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollowsquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpoint, Idaho
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

The love poured into this place is palpable. So much beauty and art The front desk could be more friendly. The valet was a great storyteller! Be sure to watch the video in your room about the history!

Room Tip: Upgrades are only $20 and worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidMabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spokane hotels
0.1 mi away
The Davenport Tower, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
The Davenport Grand, Autograph Collection
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Spokane
Hampton Inn Spokane
#1 of 46 in Spokane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Oxford Suites Downtown Spokane
0.0 mi away
The Davenport Lusso, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Spokane City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection

Property: The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection
Address: 10 S Post St, Spokane, WA 99201-3902
Location: United States > Washington > Spokane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Spokane
#1 Green Hotel in Spokane
#1 Romantic Hotel in Spokane
#2 Family Hotel in Spokane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kirkland Cutter architecture, restored to original elegance with modern amenities and suburb service - Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Historic Davenport, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Davenport Hotel And Tower
Davenport Hotel Spokane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing